We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Media, Marrakech”
Review of Riad Charlott'

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Charlott'
Ranked #143 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Media, Marrakech”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

we booked a week long holiday in marrakech, and wanted to experience the life of Medina. this hotel is even though bit hard to find it first, its a gem. situated in middle of Medina, with short distance to spice square and the big square.

The staff were very nice and helpful. the rooms are spacious and clean. not to mention a full wifi coverage.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    37
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
56
230
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were looking for a great first time experience of Marocco for my GF's birthday, and we got more than we ever wished for. A very clean and well styled Riad, great value for money if looking for a quiet retreat from the hustle, bustle and smells of Marrakech. The Riad is located a few streets away from a couple of small market squares and very near to a Mosque, although this can make it tricky to find until you find you bearings which doesn't take too long, also using Google Maps on a phone with GPS really helps, I use a Nokia Lumia Windows Phone as you can download and use the maps with GPS without the need for using data. The fact the Riad is 5mins away from the Souks makes it a peaceful haven close enough to the centre for a pit stop, only 10mins walk from the main square Jemaa El Fna. We arranged a transfer from the Airport direct with Khalid for 200DH, which also covers Ahmed who works at the Riad to meet you at the taxi drop off and help with any bags. The food was good and plentiful, served at whatever time you choose which is useful. They equipped us with maps, and upgraded our room free as it was available and as a gift for my girlfriends birthday, a kind gesture. The room had aircon, was spacious and traditionally styled, wifi access, flatscreen TV, very comfy bed and a well sized bathroom. Safes are available downstairs if you need to leave anything valuable. The roof terrace is very nice and the Riad is quite tall so you get a good 360 degree view of the roof tops and horizon, the sun sets very near to a Mosque in the distance. Being able to speak some French is useful as their English was limited, except for Khalid who's English was good. They cant do enough for you, Ahmed offers full concierge service if you ever need anything, and Khalid will also go above and beyond to help you. I picked up a bug on our last night and in the morning when he found out he nipped off to pharmacy to get me some medication, he didn't even accept any payment as my health was the priority, another very kind gesture. We arranged a 2 day mini bus excursion to the Sahara through Khalid and the driver forgot to pick us up so he pulled some strings and had us upgraded to a private 4x4 and driver instead which was great. If that wasn't enough he also arranged for a cake to be given to her by the Berbers after our meal in the Sahara desert, it made it a very special trip for us. I honestly cant recommend this Riad enough, the place is immaculate and the service rivals that of a 5* resort.

Room Tip: Spend a bit extra and get a TV and larger bathroom... we found it nicer to chill out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

If you have decided to stay in the medina (charm and location more important than convenience) this riad should be considered. It is very well situated. It has been tastefully renovated, is comfortable and the plumbing works. The reason why I am giving it only 3 stars is that it is very casually managed; the staff, the manager and the owner are all very friendly and eager to please but are not very efficient.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oldboots123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, AR
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

First of all, and most important, LET THEM COME GET YOU AND TAKE YOU THERE. Otherwise, you will NEVER find it. Promise. The streets in the Medina are crazy and you WILL get lost, unless you know your bearings.
Second, the hotel is overall very good and clean. Khalid and his staff are very helpful, friendly and accommodating. Khalid's English is a little off, but we managed.
Our room (a suite) was decorated very nicely with a beautiful, large chandelier and a flat screen TV. The bed and sleep quality were also very, very good. Although the WiFi was very spotty at times.
However, my main issues were with the bathroom. The mirror is large enough. It goes from one end of the bathroom to the other. Although it is way too high to see yourself if you're 5'5" or under. There IS an ottoman in the bathroom, which I assume is to stand on, and I DID use it for that purpose. Second, the lighting was awful. There are 2 dimly lit sconces on either side of the mirror and that's it. If you're tall (or don't mind standing on an ottoman to see), and if lighting does not matter to you, then you'll find that this is a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy-BO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my partner and his family for a few days recently in Riad Charlott'. We had an airport transfer booked which made things easy in terms of getting there - the sign our driver held up at the airport didn't say our names, simply the name of the riad, so make sure all members of your party know the name of the accommodation if you are arriving separately. Also, be sure to get dihrams out of an atm at the airport on the way in, as you will need to tip any porters you use once the taxi drops you off (owing to the narrow streets, cars can't make it the whole way to the riad. Its only a 5 minute walk though so if you've only got light luggage you may not need to use a porter).
Once there, Khalid made us feel very welcome, providing us with refreshments and making sure we knew our way around the winding streets. The riad itself is beautiful, with lovely rooms and a fantastic roof terrace. Breakfast is delicious, with a selection of pastries and breads, coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice (it would be nice if some fruit were part of it though!). Definitely recommend this place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Couple of friends visiting Morocco and Marrakech specifically for the first time. Availed of the Taxi pick up as arriving late in the evening and would definitely recommend this unless you want an adventure and time wasted getting there. Room was well furnished, if a little dark but that appears to be the general style. Lovely simple breakfast to set you off on your day and nice refreshing mint tea in the afternoon/ evening. Very good attentive staff checking regularly that all okay which we appreciated as well as Khalid taking us to the central Medina area on our fist day so that we got our bearings. Ahmed was a gentleman, bringing us to/ from the taxi to the airport and made us feel most welcome.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Riad to anyone considering a visit. Finally to mention, the tranquillity of the location, no noise from motorbikes as the Riad is off from one of the main pedestrian walkways so you will sleep well and even the call to prayer we found to be done in a chilled out vibe.

Room Tip: I would suggest to ask Khalid or the owner directly for a room that will best suit you as they are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I came here for 4 days for a brief holiday, Khalid and the rest of the staff made our stay at Riad Charlott as comfortable as can be, they helped us with everything we wanted and more. I would highly recommend staying here. Fantastic location too, not too close to the craziness of the main square, but just a short wall from anything in the old town. Enjoy your stay

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank goodfoodlover8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#179 of 500 in Marrakech
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dollar Des Sables
Riad Dollar Des Sables
#210 of 500 in Marrakech
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#134 of 500 in Marrakech
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#115 of 500 in Marrakech
488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#208 of 500 in Marrakech
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Soukaina
Dar Soukaina
#199 of 500 in Marrakech
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Charlott'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charlott'

Property: Riad Charlott'
Address: Derb Sidi Ahmed Bennacer | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#82 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#163 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A riad magnificent allying Moresque architecture and contemporary decoration, 5 vast rooms in the sophisticated decoration, one of the most beautiful brings down of the medina of Marrakesh offering a wonderfull view on the city and the Atlas. Swimming pool-Jacuzzi, hammam and massage room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Charlott' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Charlott` Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing