We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Riad in Marrakech”
Review of Riad Smara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Smara
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect Riad in Marrakech”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for two nights at the end of November. We both absolutely loved the Riad and the very helpful manager, Ibrahim.

As previous reviewers have noted it is a little hard to find but once we did (with a little help from an insane taxi driver and some opportunistic local youths) it was well worth it. Our room was comfortable, bathroom was roomy, the pancakes and orange juice at breakfast were out of this world and the centre courtyard was just about the calmest place in Marrakech. It was a beautiful place to retreat to at the end of a busy day/night.

The only negative I can think of is that we were woken at 5 each morning by the call to prayer, it was deafenly loud and seemed to go on for about a million years. I assume this is a problem common to many of the Riads in this part of Marrakech though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    31
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
68
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pula, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013

As we arrived we paid immediately - the breakfast was included in the price. Before our flight to Morocco we have already booked some one-day trips, for every day we stayed. So , even though we did already paid for breakfast She (the owner) did not gave it to us (we had to leave before breakfast every morning (before 8am) because of our trips). Her explanation was that they do not serve bf before 8.30am. So we had to buy our own bf the day before. Also we asked if she could put our drinks in the fridge overnight and she refused. She was extremely rude and agressive. We tried to speak to her in english, german and italian, but she spoke only french and answered to us in french. When we said that we speak 3 foreign languages but we don't understand french she said to us that Morocco is French!, and there, the only language she speaks is french.
To this converation with the owner , Ibrahim was present and he translated. It's not about the money it's matter of principle and the owner behaviour in relation with her guests. I really don't know how could they receive the tripadvisor 2013 award for the best riad

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baraca848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Breakfast is pretty common; dinner is very good - traditional tajine; rooms (we have visited 4 out of 6 because we had a small problem with the reservation) are very nice traditional decorated; but the "cherry on top" is Ibrahim - the manager of the riad, if you have the time and curiosity to "discover" him you will get a lot of usefull information.
Very nice quiet place with a nice terrace and a small pool, ideal place to regain your peace after a few hours in the souks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlad_B_RO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our morocco adventure. A little hard to find but so worth it when you do. Beautiful room with air con and the bathroom was amazing! Enormous bath. Pool was perfect for a dip before and after the hustle bustle of marrakech. We had breakfast and lunch here and the tagine was by far the best we have tried so far. Run by a lovely and very helpful french couple who were very patient with our limited french.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yekaterinburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Beautiful quiet hotel - riad in oriental style, in the center of the old city, with little pool and gorgeous terrace. Very nice bed&breakfast , with good service and great design. The owner is very polite guy who will suggest you places to see and restourants to eat out. They also offer hamam (banya) but it s quite small and doesn't worth it

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 night in april2013, very relaxing with a small little splash pool to cool off after the madness that is marrakesh. The brekfast was good and though we didnt eat there the food looked good. Nice rooms and a nice bathroom. I would recommend.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob1974_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Riad Smara was a super find. It is hidden away just far enough from the centre of the choas. A five minute walk to the centre of the medina along interesting and narrow streets. A very beautiful and elegant place, the perfect hiding place. The rooms are simple and comfortable and the pool and roof terrace everything you could ask for. The staff were great and so helpful and welcoming. I travelled here alone and loved every minute of my stay. This place comes highly reccomended!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are lovely and more quiet than the ones on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#45 of 499 in Marrakech
1,233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#14 of 499 in Marrakech
866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Villa El Arsa
Riad Villa El Arsa
#3 of 284 in Marrakech
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Pachavana
Riad Pachavana
#4 of 284 in Marrakech
403 reviews
5.4 mi away
Manzil la Tortue
Manzil la Tortue
#2 of 284 in Marrakech
342 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Papillon
Riad Papillon
#24 of 284 in Marrakech
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Smara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Smara

Property: Riad Smara
Address: 2,derb Ferrane Arset Houta, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 284 Speciality Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Smara 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Riad Smara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing