We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“execellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
Ranked #374 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“execellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

very nice hotel beautifull pool very comfy beds with nice decoration nice breakfast but food not aLL THAT
very quiet hotel good night sleep and spa hamame is open

Room Tip: pool view had beautifull look very nice at night time with all the lights it gives a roamance feelin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank challou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    237
    191
    86
    83
See reviews for
150
274
29
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Stayed for a week during January, so experienced hotel at its quietest.

The hotel itself is very nice, good styling, comfy beds, good size pool (but not heated so very cold). Staff are courteous and do try to go the extra mile to make sure that guests are satisfied - even down to having a dedicated guy to go round the pool laying towels on the sunbeds. The location is slightly off, the area is nice enough with good views, but not too much to do in the area. There is a free bus into town, but this doesn't really run enough and is generally full.

Food - breakfast is exceptional, must try the pancakes and the orange juice (which is as fresh as it gets). Very continental though so don't expect a fry up! Dinner comes in two forms, buffet when the hotel is busy and set menu when quiet. The buffet is adequate but nothing special. Set menus are an option of 1 thing, you can make requests, but the food is very good on this. Drinks slightly overpriced compared to the rest of Marrakech, but as expected for a hotel. There was an enforced gratuity charge at the end of the week, around £3 per meal, which I think is quite cheeky (no option not to give means it's essentially a hidden cost of staying in the hotel). Never had problems with getting ill from the food.

Cleanliness in the hotel is good, everything was scrubbed during our week's stay.

Rooms are a bit of an issue with soundproofing, can hear every word several rooms down and through the entire corridor, did cause a few hours sleeplessness each night listening to other guests.

Didn't try the spa, not well advertised there. There was a music bar advertised as being open every night, but this was permanently shut. Hotel also has free wifi and a couple of computers, but internet is painfully slow.

Overall - a good hotel, reasonably priced, but I do think that there's probably better places in Marrakech to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alex_44_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Went as a group of 8 and stayed at Zalagh Kasbah for 1 week. Hotel was very clean and decor tasteful. It was a quiet time for the hotel, so no struggle to get sunbeds around the pool. The outdoor pool was absolutely freezing cold. Food was very monotonous with very little variety. We had the same vegetable soup 4 days in a row. Vegetarian options are very limited. Also variety of salads and desserts tended to be the same each day. Overall we had a fun time though relaxing by the pool and a few days of sightseeing. Shuttle service to town was ok, though sometimes it does get busy and you may not get a ride. Location of the hotel near the shopping mall with some restaurants and Carrefour supermarket was handy.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms have a nicer view than those on the other side, where you get a distant view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is a lovely, modern hotel with all the amenities and a Tripadvisor recommendation plaque. Our experiences were not quite to this level.

We arrived early as part of a package tour, and went for dinner. Rolls were served, but no butter. Four requests in English and French still did not get butter, which was visible next to the basket of rolls, and which had been served to at least one other client. One excuse was that the waiter would have to go and ask the chef to see if he could serve us the butter! When the Salade Nicoise was still not served after 40 minutes, we left. The restaurant and hotel managers pleaded with us to return, and, reluctantly, we did. The Salade Nicoise was served with no anchovies, the hard-boiled egg warm (an afterthought, we later discovered from other clients) and no dressing. We later received the oil and vinegar and plates of anchovies. Other patrons looked on in envy, as they did not get any salad dressing.

We left on our tour, with instructions that we would like to have rooms facing the pool rather than the empty lot next door when we returned in 8 days time for a two day tour extension. This was acknowledged by the desk clerk and faithfully promised. No way. We spent one night facing the lot and then changed rooms the next day after much haggling. Some of our party did not have heat in their rooms on both our initial stay and our return.

The buffets we were served provided massive quantities of very good salads, but the hot food was mediocre and the soups uniformly tasteless. The desserts, other than the fruit, were cardboard covered with artificial cream.

It looks lovely, and the rooms are OK, if needing some serious cleaning of the floors and carpets. However, the service, the food, and the attitude towards customers, all need considerable work before I would judge this hotel worthy of any Trapadvisor accreditation.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrequentTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

A lovely hotel and very friendly staff.We went in the week before Christmas and the hotel was quiet.
Unfortunately, the food was very bad indeed. Poor quality,poor choice and usually cold.The restaurant itself would be fine in the very hot weather but it was very cold and uninviting.Not a nice environment.
I would only stay again bed and breakfast as the food in Marrakesh was excellent .Lots of good restaurants serving good food at reasonable prices.
The Powell's

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

I stayed here two nights with a group of friends and loved this hotel. It was large with lots of amenities including a spa that my friends had very fun adventures in! The hotel is not right in Marrakech, but that was no problem as they had a courtesy shuttle bus and taxis are cheap. This hotel had great rooms, a nice pool, and free wifi...I loved it :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CyberAynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
490 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

At this point in time, the name Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa is misleading as the hotel seems to have been opened before being completed and there is NO SPA or any related services. If you take out the '...and spa' part of the name and base this review on the hotel, it is exceptional. Definitely the most upscale of the hotels included on our tour of Morocco. You are wowed from the moment you enter the lobby with its airy open spaces and beautiful decor. We instantly breathed a sigh of relief that we did not have to stay in another Ibis style hotel. Our rooms were spacious with beautiful decor, a generous bathroom and a balcony overlooking the pool area complete with a small table and two chairs. The front desk staff are typically reserved - after several night's stay in different Moroccan hotels, I'm led to believe that they are trained to never smile and to work efficiently without a lot of interpersonal communication. They get their job done and that's it. As in most Moroccan hotels, you get one key card. This was a big problem as my roommate decided to spend hours shopping in the souk while I went back to the hotel to relax. Guess who had the key card? When I inquired about an additional key card, I was briskly told that due to several tourist families who obtained multiple key cards for each member and then pocketed them as they headed home, the hotel did not have any additional key cards. Quite the lecture for a simple inquiry. However, an atypically smiling bellboy escorted me to my room with a master key card. This seemed a simple solution until he opened my door and the room was pitch black. I asked how I was going to turn on the lights without a card and he held up a finger and trotted down the hall and returned a few moments later with a folded piece of cardstock which he slipped into the card slot on the wall. Voila! There was light. I learned something new - you don't need a key card to activate the lights. I thought that was a terrific solution until I realized I was stuck in my room until my roommate returned. Thankfully, it wasn't a bad place to be stuck. I sat on my balcony, watched the activity at the pool and read a book. Lovely! Of all the hotels we stayed at, this one had the most exceptional food offerings. We were thankful that it was toward the end of our trip because had it been at the beginning, we would've been even more disappointed with the other hotel restaurants. They had a huge selection of fresh salads and main dishes and lovely breads and desserts. Breakfast had fresh grilled msammen (flat bread) with thick delicious honey. And some poor kitchen worker must've stayed up all night picking apart pomegranates to create the huge bowl full of fruit that we greedily dished out in the morning. Clementines, fresh tomatoes and cucumbers. All wonderful. After an evening out, a group of us relaxed in the bar with a delicious house red and Flag beers. Internet access was quick and easily accessed anywhere in the lobby and bar area though there is a special area with filmy curtains and a view of the pool with comfortable couches and chairs to sit as well. The gift shop was the best we've seen on this trip and actually had prices fairly competitive with what you manage to bargain down to in the souk. There is also a gentleman there who makes lovely pendants that he will personalize for you at a very reasonable price. The hotel is a bit on the outskirts of Morocco with an incredibly beautiful view of the snow-capped High Atlas Mountains. Getting into town is easy. The hotel has a shuttle but it does not run often and holds only 9 people. When we wanted to go to town at 5pm we were told a shuttle had already left at 4:30 and the next would not leave until 7pm. Bummer. And the following day, our tour bus dropped us in town and directed us to where the shuttle would pick up at 4pm and 5pm only. At 4pm, there were 25 people waiting for the shuttle!!! They took the first load and promised to return in 14 minutes for another load but that was it meaning there were several people who would need to take a taxi back. If you don't want to be restricted to the shuttle, walk 10 minutes toward town to the Carrefour shopping mall where there is a huge taxi stand. Beware - the taxi drivers all stand in a bunch and include the legal and the not so legal drivers. If you are directed toward a vehicle without a taxi sign - DO NOT ENTER. Petit taxis which hold 2-3 people have meters - make sure they use them or negotiate a fee prior to getting in. Grand taxis have no meters and hold as many people as the driver is allowed to take. Some may only take three. Others will cram entire families including aunts, uncles, grandparents and the occasional chicken in. We got five people into ours for 25 (about 63 cents each USD) Dirham for a trip to Jemaa El Fna. The return trip was double that due to the hour and we asked to be taken all the way to the hotel. Prices increase in the evenings but it still amounted to about $1.20 each which is rather amazing. Most of the drivers do not speak English so bone up on enough French or Arabic to negotiate your taxi fee. Take a business card from the hotel to show the driver and tell him it's near the BIG Carrefour or you will end up on the opposite side of town near the little Carrefour as some of our friends did. When the spa finally opens, this will be more than an exceptional hotel for your trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jewelsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#250 of 494 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#400 of 494 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rawabi Marrakech & Spa
Hotel Rawabi Marrakech & Spa
#321 of 494 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
#174 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#425 of 494 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
2.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
#387 of 494 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa

Property: Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
Address: Avenue Mohammed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40020, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#184 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#205 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zalagh Kasbah Hotel & Spa is conveniently situated near the Agdal gardens, only 10 minutes from the famous square Jemaa-el-Fna and the international Airport Menara. All 344 rooms, comprising 17 suites and 7 duplex, are spacious with balcony or terrace. Amenities include 2 swimming pools (one reserved for children), the Spa with heated pool, the international Restaurant Agdal, the Moroccan Restaurant "Berbere Cafe", the Snack Le Patio by the pool, the LobbyBar, a Moroccan lounge and for the evenings the cosy KasBar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing