We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for non Moroccan tourists!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
Ranked #457 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and if I had a longer trip, I would have moved.

On arrival there was only 1 towel in the room for 2 people, the tv did not work and the phone did not work either. The air conditioning was terrible, it never cooled in the day and at night it became too cool.

I stayed half board and the food was terrible. For breakfast the only thing I could eat was scrambled eggs and tomatoes. There was no hot food besides the eggs, sometimes there would be a lady making a type of pastry bread. The other food available was SPAM (can you believe it?!?!) and lots of breads/pastries.

For dinner people were pushy and did not know how to queue. We only ate at the hotel for dinner once and that day I had chicken, roast potatoes and cucumber (I had to scrape off the yoghurt they had smothered them with) which was a little better.

Other problems are that guests will move your items if you leave them on the sunbeds around the pool.

You also will get stopped if you bring in your own water into the hotel!! The hotel is very expensive for drinks so we stopped at a supermarket to buy some as it was very hot. One guest we knew had to pay £4 to keep their own water! I avoided this by keeping our water in the baggage room and then sneaking it to my room later. I'd never experience anything like this before!

You could not even use the hotels indoor pool without paying, nor the jacuzzi or steam room. This was always empty as I guess nobody wants to pay for a service that is normally included.

Overall, I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the pool then at least you will have something to look at
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Stina_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

I stayed with a friend and we had a lovely time. I was a bit worried before I went because of the negative reviews but for a cheap holiday it is more than good enough. Beds were made and towels changed every day, room was clean, staff were really friendly and helpful, the shuttle into town was reliable and a great addition, the food was fine and we were upgraded to half board for no extra cost. Really can't find fault, especially at that price!
If you do stay here make sure you go for dinner at al-Fassia down the road as it is lovely, and ride camels at Maroc Loisirs - that was one of my highlights and the hotel were happy to book in on our behalf. You can read more about the camel ride here: http://stepawayfromthesunbed.tumblr.com/post/26780565545/marrakesh-morocco-camel-toes

Enjoy your stay and don't be put off by any bad reviews like I was! It is a really lovely place and marrakech is a fab city.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ciaobellaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed at the Zalagh Kasbah for 3 nights as part of a Wowcher deal to Marrakech. We were 4 single girls on a city / pampering break and the hotel was ideal for what we needed.

The hotel was only 15 minutes from the airport. It is in a part of town that is being developed so was a little further out then I would have liked to have been from the Medina. You couldn't walk in (would have taken 30-45 mins) but there was a free shuttle bus to the medina (these could have been more frequent though).

As for the hotel itself, it is marketed as a 4 star but I would say it is more a 3 star. It was clean, quiet, tidy and modern but quite basic too. The pool was lovely as was the spa area too.

The room was on a half board basis and breakfast was generous each morning. We only had dinner at the hotel once and it wasn't that great (most people ate out) but surprising lunch was very good.

Service at the hotel could have been better, Waiters weren't very attentive and the reception staff quiet often ignored us when we stood at the desk, even if there wasn't anyone else to serve. That said we did have a leaking air conditioning unit in our room on the first night and when we called to complain and get it fixed, they upgraded us to a poolside room for the next 2 nights.

If you are looking for something simple and clean and don't want much else from your hotel that somewhere to put your head down and lie by the pool then this is your place. However I would fork out the extra money and stay somewhere a bit closer to town in the future with nice restaurants or at least restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Those closer to reception seem to have all the facilities. Further away rooms didn't have mini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tiffanypurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel bed and breakfast.Beautiful rooms the beds are fantastically comfy. Buffet style continental breakfast which was more than adequate. The staff are helpful and friendly cannot really find anything bad to say about it. The pool is amazing, would definately go again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mamasheils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I went here on the 18th june for 3 nights when arriving the hotel was lovley took a while to check us inbut we got a free moroccoan style tea and was showed to our room it was a big enough room veery modern but the pillows and bins hadnt been changed the amid come in to clean while we was in our room apart from that we couldnt fault it,the cocktails and beer was over priced compared to the supermarkets but thats like any hotel.The food was okay for breakfast and lunch but at dinner we struggled and 1 night the food was inedible,theres the option for room service also but we didnt try that.The al a carte resturant was nice but worked out about £15pp without drinks.There is a small shopping centre and supermarklet near by which was so cheap and easy to walk too and safe.We went into marrakech which was a bit shocking and we kept getting hassled it was an experience though.We would definatley go back especially to this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor for a better view and more safety as our patio door didnt lock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank danielle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This hotel is recieving an average only because of the Duty Manager's attitude and customer service on our last day; overall hotel, very nice and clean, good location as outside of busy town, easy access to town and a shopping plaza with a Carrefour within a 5 min walk. The staff were always busy, always cleaning, pretty much immaculate.

Room- would have liked tea and coffee facilities in the room, but really no deal breaker.
Food- breakfast very nice and light, lots of fresh fruit, lovely pastries, freshly cooked pancakes and some eggs. Lunch at Berber Cafe- absolutely delicious, fantastic Tagine chicken with prunes and raisins, really delicious. Dinner- buffet average to good- maybe 2-3 meat options with some vegetable options, and always a selection of salads and fruits again.
Facilities- pool was fabulous, hotel very quiet so never felt crowded, 2 or 3 places to eat, and 2 or 3 bars. Frustration that staff at bars were inconsistent ie sometimes would bring you food outside (always tip, it helps), sometimes you had to get yourself, and sometimes they would not let you take outside at all. No hard rules, depended on which way the wind was blowing!!!

Attention to Detail...poor!!!!!!
The restaurant staff locked us out on the terrace one night so we could not get back in to the main restaurant room, and had also barricaded the side door so the other route was also closed...lack of attention, and potentially a dangerous situation if there had been an emergency! They had not come out to see us after serving the first drink, so I assume that they forgot we were there.

On another occasion, the bar member brought out mint tea in a teapot and neglected to tell us that we could not touch the teapot. I am no idiot, I expect it to be hot, but I burnt myself and dropped the pot, then had to wrap my pashmina around the handle to pour any out. A simple remedy; if it is that dangerously hot, either don't put it on the table for the customer to pour, or wrap the handle!!!

The spa- should have been a lovely experience, and my partner booked a Hammam as a treat for both of us, but the member of staff allowed a man, another guest, to open the door to our room where I was sat up naked...this is completely unacceptable, and then she tried to laugh it off. The receptionist/manager defended the situation by saying that the member of staff then shut the door, but that was just too late as he was already looking in. Highly unprofessional.

Whilst we were there, I asked if we could convert our half-board from 3 x dinner, to 2 x dinner and 1 x lunch. I called down to the desk for this, asked the receptionist if he spoke English, he said yes, and so I asked the above question which was met with a yes, Madam. I also asked for a late check-out, was this possible and again, had a yes, Madam. Iasked what the fee was until approx 4pm, and was told it was free. Strange, so I asked again, and was told that there would be no charge. I assumed this was due to the hotel being so quiet and having a captive audience for longer.
On check-out day we went to reception to check the late check out, and were told we could not have a late check out. We questioned this and were told again, no. Upon challenging, we offered to pay and were still told no, then finally relented and we paid (please bear in mind the hotel is ony at approx 50% capacity). We did expect to have to pay for this, just felt very frustrated at the communication, or lack of.
At check out, we were charged for the lunch that we were told we could exchange for dinner. My partner and I questioned this, and again were told that there would be a charge. The Duty Manager (Yessid?), was rude and obnoxious, told me that I should have asked first, I repeatedly said that I had called down, his best answer was that his staff did not understand and that the staff member was wrong. Absoultely useless, refused to take responsibility for this, could not make a decision, and was very rude. No customer service at all, no understanding of customer goodwill or keeping the customer happy. He was very ignorant and kept talking over me, ignoring my complaint.

Tips- visit the Souks, use a guide, for the 100DHS you will probably pay, it is worth it for your first visit, after that you will have your bearings.
-visit the old square at night, it is the most amazing place, and enjoy the banter from the boys trying to get you to sit at their table, stop for mint tea at a stall if not dining and watch the mad world going by
-have a freshly squeezed orange juice from the the old square, fabulous and only 4DHS, which is around 25p!!!

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are nice, it is quiet location so you should not be bothered by any noise anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ewa_suzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Arrived back yesterday and would go back any day.The staff were all friendly especially little Mohammed the porter.who had the most beautiful smile that would brighten anyone's day up.I would go back here as only 10 mins from supermarket and there is a free courtesy bus they lay on which takes you into the old city which is a must for any visitors.The rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed daily.Also you had free towels by the pool and free safety deposits in your room.Thank you from 4 very happy mates who had a blast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sarabest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.3 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#212 of 500 in Marrakech
180 reviews
4.5 mi away
Imperial Plaza Hotel
Imperial Plaza Hotel
#475 of 500 in Marrakech
405 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rawabi Marrakech & Spa
Hotel Rawabi Marrakech & Spa
#295 of 500 in Marrakech
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
#190 of 500 in Marrakech
480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#225 of 500 in Marrakech
793 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#208 of 500 in Marrakech
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa

Address: Avenue Mohammed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40020, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#200 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#223 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £30 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zalagh Kasbah Hotel & Spa is conveniently situated near the Agdal gardens, only 10 minutes from the famous square Jemaa-el-Fna and the international Airport Menara. All 344 rooms, comprising 17 suites and 7 duplex, are spacious with balcony or terrace. Amenities include 2 swimming pools (one reserved for children), the Spa with heated pool, the international Restaurant Agdal, the Moroccan Restaurant "Berbere Cafe", the Snack Le Patio by the pool, the LobbyBar, a Moroccan lounge and for the evenings the cosy KasBar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing