We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
Ranked #467 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a group of friends in March 2013. The hotel is nice and you get exactly what you pay for. It has all the basics you could need, the rooms are clean and bathrooms have hot water and are cleaned daily. The rooms are spacious enough and we had a pool room view which was lovely. The pool was too cold for us to use in March but it was lovely weather to soak up the sun. The hotel does have a spa attached to it, but you have to pay to use it. It’s very pricey but it does add a little taste of luxury to your visit if you use the heated pool and Jacuzzi. I would strongly advise against getting any kind of treatment at this spa, we paid to have a hamman and it was a little short of a shower in a warm cubicle. We went for a proper Hamman at a proper Moroccan spa and it was well worth every Dirham, the hotel reception can offer you some options but you won’t be disappointed going to the Mythic Oriental Spa located in the heart of the souks. When changing money if you can, change the majority of your money on arrival at the airport. It’s definitely the best rate but it only makes a few pounds difference if you want to change money up as you need it at the hotel every day. We stayed half board; breakfast was nice they have a great selection of food to every ones taste. We only had lunch once, and I would recommend you don’t opt for this as it’s usually the same set menu every day and you can tell it’s been sitting out for a few hours. Overall, the hotel it’s nice and you won’t be disappointed if you don’t expect too much, it has everything you need to enjoy the city and sun.

Room Tip: Ask for Pool View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smarti_arti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

The rooms are basic and clean and are of good size.The staff were very helpful and nothing was a problem,they tried to speak and understand english.Marrakech itself was a let down a lot of the culture was missing all they wanted was money for everything ,even in the large square in the centre it was all hastle trying to drag you into the Souks,all selling the same things we were both dissapointed and we expected more ,we went with to high expectations

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happyhs411948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The accommodation was fine but if have half board treat it as a freebie and use when necessary.
The food varied a lot ,salads were good but not always sure what was vegetarian. When they were not busy the staff were accommodating.
Located handy for airport. Main criticism beds were rock hard and we both had to resort to lying on folded duvets as woke up with very painful backs.
The Free city trip was interesting but be warned if you have mobility issues it involved a lot of walking. We went on a trip into the Atlas mountains which was beautiful and had a very pleasant lunch by a river.

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking the pool and ask if any of the beds are softer than others. Email to request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Overall an average hotel. Spa has nice facilities, however hammam is disappointing and would recommend going elsewhere for a authentic hammam.
Communication was difficult with the staff when asked to ring up a few local spas to book in with little knowledge on good recommendations.
The pool area is clean and couldn't ask more for a relaxing few hours by the pool.
Be warned bringing food from outside the hotel is a no no.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nisha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

By hubby and I stayed here in December 2012 for four nights. The hotel itself is quite however we were woken up every morning before 8am to the sound of the cleaners banging around and shouting to each other in the hallways. Also, there's no carpet in the hall ways so the cleaners make a lot of noise wheeling around their cleaning trollies which was very annoying. The hotel was fine especially for what we paid for it but the service was by far the worst we've ever experienced. We were not too worried when we discovered that most of the staff spoke little or no English but it was the way that dealt with the English in particular that really annoyed us. At times we were ignored at the reception desk for a few minutes whilst the staff stood around chatting and then a French speaking tourist would approach the counter and then they would be served first. Very annoying!!

The staff working on the reception at the spa were also very rude and laughed in my face when I attempted to book a treatment whilst speaking English. Again, they couldn't speak English so I gave up in the end!

Location is good although we'd try and stay closer to the medina if we went again. This hotel is fine if it's cheap but if you are looking for luxury this isn't it!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Courteous and friendly and very helpful staff. Clean and well tended room and buffet breakfast, occasional buffet lunch and buffet evening meals were absolutely fine. Good choice of cuisine, excellent lamb and chicken dishes, fresh orange juice to die for and wonderful salad bar.

Sad that boiling water for their Liptons tea bags couldn't be achieved but hey, the only gripe, and the coffee's always on the menu at breakfast anyway.

Free wifi in our room ( and all rooms probably ! ) and a free internet point in the main lobby area on their computer too.

Good weather helped but go careful as you immerse yourself in the ever so inviting outside pool, it's wonderful but oh so damnably cold, takes your breath away ( which you never recover from ) believe me, the coldest pool I've ever experienced, probably coz of the high'ish altitude I guess ! But so well tended by a happy and attentive poolside guy who really takes his job seriously and moves sunbeds and shades around to help you keep cool or hot as you wish.

Didn't use the indoor pool or the free hamman but did take advantage of the hotel's shuttle bus service into the city centre where the souk experiences are challenging. Night time at the main city square is an experience where you can eat alfresco at market stalls stools set up for the evenings alone ........... and their food was no where near as good as the hotel's which quite surpassed my expectations.

Well done Zalagh, I'd certainly return........... I'd been meaning to travel to Marrakech for about 30 years, having travelled the world over ( on holidays ) ......... not sure there's much to attract me back personally but if I was to return I would certainly stay at the Zalagh again.

Well done you guys.

Room Tip: we had a 2nd floor room overlooking the pool and gardens and that was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGLB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Great trip: flights fine [Easyjet]; transfers excellent [Atlas Riders]; hotel good in parts [Zalagh Kasbar]. Hotel looks good from the outside and lives up to that on the inside. It is spotlessly clean inside and the pool/garden areas are equally well-maintained, the staff are friendly and hard-working. The bar and lounge[s] are a welcome retreat and the shuttle bus is a real Godsend. Safes are free but aircon not active until April [the start of their summer]
So why not 5*?
Essentially the food is a big let-down. The range is limited [in comparison with other hotels we have stayed at recently]. More importantly the dining room is woefully unorganised rather than being disorganised. The lighting is too low, the food is warm, not hot, soups are bland, salads uninteresting and both the main courses and desserts too limited in choice. It's all rather unappetising. Meat dishes are either from low cost cuts or improperly cooked and tepid. Fish dishes are always battered. Croquettes were soft rather than firm and crispy, pasta offerings have watery, tasteless sauces - and no, they aren't all available every night. Dishes [and plates, too!] are regularly unavailable and slow at being replenished; the water for tea is lukewarm; even the coffee ran out and was not refilled for an age. The food is simply uninspiring and never an occasion to look forward to: you eat because you must. I recommend B&B and eat out which we eventuually did. On this basis the hotel might warrant a 5* rating.
The day trip with Atlas Riders to the High Atlas, arranged by Ahmed, was wonderful and can be fully recommended. Marrakech can be sampled as a taster for a few days but you will miss so much. Better plan a return or go for a longer break in the first place. Morrocans have an easy manner; not once did we experience any rudeness, intimidation or agression quite the reverse. Plenty of hassle and bargaining in the markets but that's what you come here for, surely. Even in the midst of bargaining there's that easy smile and a twinkling eye. Safe, secure, interesting, different, enchanting - and hot!
The small taxis are plentiful and cheap 50-60 Dirhams from Jemaa El Fna. This is the centre of everything and an experience not to be missed. Le Grand Balcon Glacier provides a terrific view as does Le Restaurant & Cafe de France. A coffee and lounge in the sun well worth the meagre cost. Eat in the square at night for a wonderful, cheap and unforgettable experience. The souks are magical; guides are not essential but don't panic if you can't easily find an exit, there are many to choose from and you won't get lost. The Kasbar is well worth the stroll from the square: different and less touristy. Visit the Saadian tombs and the Bahai whilst here. A trip to Nouveau Ville is an interesting diversion - it's amazing how two so very different places can co-exist so closely together.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 3rd floor facing West for an uninterrupted view of the High Atlas mountains - a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCheshireCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.5 mi away
Imperial Plaza Hotel
Imperial Plaza Hotel
#476 of 502 in Marrakech
400 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#209 of 502 in Marrakech
680 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#204 of 502 in Marrakech
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#208 of 502 in Marrakech
774 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Farah Marrakech
Hotel Farah Marrakech
#437 of 502 in Marrakech
996 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#457 of 502 in Marrakech
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa

Address: Avenue Mohammed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40020, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#202 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#230 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £33 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zalagh Kasbah Hotel & Spa is conveniently situated near the Agdal gardens, only 10 minutes from the famous square Jemaa-el-Fna and the international Airport Menara. All 344 rooms, comprising 17 suites and 7 duplex, are spacious with balcony or terrace. Amenities include 2 swimming pools (one reserved for children), the Spa with heated pool, the international Restaurant Agdal, the Moroccan Restaurant "Berbere Cafe", the Snack Le Patio by the pool, the LobbyBar, a Moroccan lounge and for the evenings the cosy KasBar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Splitty, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing