We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like a nice-looking car with a faulty engine and no seatbelts.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
Ranked #398 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“It's like a nice-looking car with a faulty engine and no seatbelts.”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

It's a really nice-looking hotel. The lobby is huge and nicely decorated. It has a big pool which im sure you'll enjoy during the summer. Love the live music at the piano bar as well. The breakfast buffet is a bit disappointing though. Our call time was 7 amd we got there at 730am, but there hardly any meat left. Oh well...

Our room was spacious, clean, and with a balcony with a nice view. And the hotel's only about 500meters from Almazar, a really nice shopping mall.

The shortcomings of the hotel are:
1. There's no wifi. There is at the lobby, but good luck trying to connect to it. I believe there's only a limited number that can connect to it at a given time so if it's full you wont be able to get in. I tried for 20 minutes with no success. In your room, there's absolutely no wifi. I don't get how a hotel as classy as this does not have free wifi in the rooms. It's like selling you a great car, like a Porsche, with no seat belts. Free wifi should be standard in every decent hotel.
2. The aircon doesn't work (only the heater does). So we had to open the balcony for the cool air to make it comfortable. This is just unacceptable.
3. The shower, after you've balanced the temperature, cold water just suddenly comes out. It was quite irritating.

I hope the hotel management could look into this and address the issues right away so that future guests wont be inconvenienced by it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erickson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    251
    200
    95
    94
See reviews for
165
286
34
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I am staying in this hotel tonight,and tomorrow at the end of a tour.On the walk to my room (which felt like forever) I noted my room number 1046 never came up on any of the signs.On reaching my room I realised why..it was still being built and was a construction site. The toilet is connected to the hot water and doesn't flush,there is no hot water in the bath/shower,there are what look like live wires sticking out the wall in the bathroom,no safe,no phone,I had to ask for towels. The receptions only excuse is that they are over booked this evening!!!!!So you put guests in a construction site???I am sure there are other hotels in Marrakech where you could stay and at least get a warm shower! #dontstayhere!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rondlooper-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Monterrey, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed at the hotel in December 2013, I can say I was expecting more from them. People at the front desk was friendly, but the room was awful. There was no trash can, bathroom had a leak, the shower curtain smelled awful and was so dirty, there were some red stains. I asked for a room change, which they did, but the other room was practically the same, the only difference was that there was no leak anymore, the rest, no change.

Food is bad, honestly. Breakfast was included in the room rate, but I prefer to eat outside. If you want a good advice, don’t eat there. I was expecting to find a better food quality in the evening, but it didn’t happened.

To make things worse, a perfume was stolen from the room. Weird thing since we only had one key and I was all the time with my roommate, who is family. People at the front desk said it has never happened before (BS). Obviously, I didn’t get it back.

My advice: look for other option.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisaCav77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Hotel reception staff out to rip you off to line their pockets, manager unhelp and ignorant no customer service training , obviously. Breakfast great if you like egg and bird dropping with ants on toast,,,YUK .al carte restaurant poor, description of food on menu didn't reflect want you got! English understood when they wanted your cash but not when it counted! Over all VERY DISAPPOINTING more of 2 star yet rooms good and clean. I am used to countries of this culture ie -Egypt, Tunisia and have found this hotel to be failing and probably not as good as other hotels with less stars, probably is suffering from poor and inadequate management.

Room Tip: spa ok but expensive , heated pool nice but 60 dirhams £4.50-5.00 for 30 mins even for small childre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicky5552013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

had a lovely 5 night stay at this hotel, staff were freindly there was a bit of a language barrier but we were the ones in a foreign country, room was lovely and clean throughout the stay, food was good and the staff went out of their way to accommodate my needs as i am a fussy eater, really dont know what all the negative comments were about we will be going back to this hotel in the future. the shuttle bus to the medina was very helpful and ran all times of day and night

Room Tip: pool view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allison196731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I had been warned that hotel standards in Morocco were "ify" and TA reviews support this. However, if you are travelling, do the honourable thing and go with the local culture. As in Germany, hotel towels are "well worn". The hotel was a good introduction to Moroccan breakfast and the pancakes (Filo Pastry), hand aerated, are superb. The mint tea is also super and there is adequate protein and fruit to start your day.
Moroccan hotels have good beds and bedding and the rooms are good. One has to accept a little dust settling in near desert conditions.
Again the culture, where they speak Berber, Tuareg, Arabic and French putting English a little down the list. It may be best that some guests at reception are recognised and left to the attention of a reception staff better able to speak the language required. This is not sullen but sensible.

Room Tip: Pool view rather than wasteland view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Had two nights here as part of a Morocco tour, one at the beginning and two at the end.

I notice a number of comments about reception, luckily we didn’t have any dealing with them as our tour rep did all that.

We had two separate rooms. The first seemed smaller that the second, the air conditioning didn’t seem to work properly and the room became very stuffy. Second room the weather had turned and I wanted it to heat the room but it seemed to be blowing out as much cold air as warm.

The first room wasn’t very clean and the shaver socket on the hair dryer fitting didn’t work. The bath had two holes in it, one quite large, both filled but looked horrible. Beds were clean with nice soft duvets.

The second room was larger and was somewhat cleaner although it still had bits which weren’t ours on bedroom and bathroom floors. The bath was intact but the towel rail fell down as it didn’t have enough screws to fit it properly
.
The restaurant is difficult to locate being half way down the pool in the basement. Breakfast and dinner buffets were OK, when our full tour party had dinner on the last evening it was a bit chaotic round the buffets. Food purchased is expensive, we had a couple of ice cream lollies from the gift shop, each cost just 40Dn.

The location isn't wonderful for the town centre, there is a shuttle bus and taxis usually hover at the front. Nearby is a shopping mall with some restaurants and a Carrefour.

We didn’t try the pool or spa. Wi-Fi was available supposedly in the reception are but didn’t work for us. There is one computer you can use.

One very very stupid design fault, the only way to get to the lifts is down a slope or stairs. Not too funny when pulling a case down but even worse when pulling them up. I watched the porters struggling with a loaded trolley of cases. Given that the site is flat who on earth thought that one up?

The hotel is lower standard than a slick business hotel yet not a character hotel either. Not sure I’d use it as base if only staying in Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.7 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#436 of 499 in Marrakech
1,065 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#406 of 499 in Marrakech
684 reviews
4.5 mi away
Imperial Plaza Hotel
Imperial Plaza Hotel
#420 of 499 in Marrakech
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#141 of 499 in Marrakech
999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
#182 of 499 in Marrakech
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#195 of 499 in Marrakech
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa

Property: Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
Address: Avenue Mohammed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40020, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#191 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#214 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zalagh Kasbah Hotel & Spa is conveniently situated near the Agdal gardens, only 10 minutes from the famous square Jemaa-el-Fna and the international Airport Menara. All 344 rooms, comprising 17 suites and 7 duplex, are spacious with balcony or terrace. Amenities include 2 swimming pools (one reserved for children), the Spa with heated pool, the international Restaurant Agdal, the Moroccan Restaurant "Berbere Cafe", the Snack Le Patio by the pool, the LobbyBar, a Moroccan lounge and for the evenings the cosy KasBar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing