We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (978)
Filter reviews
978 results
Traveller rating
147
283
242
136
170
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
283
242
136
170
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle buspool viewpancakesminutes walk awaylarge hotelbottled waterpool staffthe main squaremain restaurantorange juicehotel is beautifulatlas mountainstaxishagglejamssoukscamel
Filter
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 978 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is a huge hotel that has it all. The rooms are great, all with balconies. great amenities and a shuttle bus to the famous Marrakech Markets. There is also a health centre, restaurants and bars available. There is no wifi available in the rooms but the reception area is fabulous and offers a comfortable place to contact friends and family. I travelled with a group so my experience may be different to people who area travelling solo..........

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool. We had a room overlooking the carpark which was disappointing. The air con doesn't seem to work very well but that may not be the same in every room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Traveling as two women we were told lots of horror stories about going to Marrakech on our own.

We however had an amazing holiday, met some amazing locals and spent the majority of our holiday within the medina. Unfortunately the same cannot be said about the hotel!

The positives are that it's a lovely hotel, the grounds are nice, pool area is stunning, rooms are spacious and have lovely views of the pool. No complaints with any of that, apart from no English channels on tv however we were out all day and all night, so not a big issue for us.

We ate breakfast in the hotel most mornings. It's pretty standard continental breakfast, same every morning but food is ok, not amazing, not the worst but just 'ok'. The made to order omelettes are worth queuing for though.
We ate in the evening there once, the night we arrived and thought we were in for a week of horrendous food after it! It was shocking, so glad we only booked b&b! Very poor example of true moroccan food, as we found out, plus we both had upset stomachs that night and next day.

The staff are something else though, very rude, unwelcoming and unapproachable. They appeared fine with everyone who was non british, so can only assume that was the issue?
The young barman however was polite and welcoming on the occasions he served us, as was the maid who cleaned our room.

We made full use of the free shuttle when we could, which was good but get there early, 15 mins at least, else you won't get a seat! Same for return journey! It takes about 10 mins to get from hotel to the medina, so not too bad at all. There is a supermarket within a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel which was handy, as we went there to get snacks for our room and water (2 dirhams in supermarket, 25 dirhams in the hotel) so worth the walk! The meal cost us 450 dirhams in the hotel and it was awful, eating in the medina cost us 200 dirham for loads of tasty fresh food and that was including drinks, so hotel was quite expensive.

I will definitely revisit marrakech but I will not stay in this hotel again due to the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherrybaby_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Another review states "It's like a nice-looking car with a faulty engine and no seatbelts.” That couldnt be closer to the truth. We stayed here as part of a tour, on first glance the hotel looks really nice; 5 star even. The reception is open plan and nice, although the wifii doesnt work anywhere in the hotel properly. The pool area follows this and rooms over look it. On closer inspection we were lost for words.

First off, the reception staff and very rude, unhelpful and unfriendly. If you are on a tour, ask your tour guide to speak to them in French or Arabic. We were given the wrong room at first, little bit annoyed as this hotel is a maze. I'm not joking, it is a maze of hall ways and turns. It's all been planned and constructed at difference times. It took about a good 10-15 minutes to find this room. Back to reception, they gave us another room. However, it seemed only to be half finished - there were no draws in the bedside draws. Even though we are a couple we were given two twin beds. We complained about this and were told rudely that the hotel was over booked and that there was nothing they could do.

We were luck other friends on the tour had rooms with wires sticking out, showers that didnt work. Toilets that flushed hot water, or didnt work at all. Walls half finished / falling down. No mini fridges. It seems our tour got the short end of the stick as all the other tour companies staying there looked 50+.

Also, the hotel is not close to town at all. Taxi's charge ALOT and you wont find one that will turn the meter on. Your looking at 100 DH to get to town and probably more to get to the airport.

The breakfast is average and although they make hot pancakes there was only one poor lady making them one at a time so unless you want to wait forever its a bit of a waste of time. Also, she doesnt start until after 730 so dont bother coming early to get in first.

The gift shop is a rip off, dont bother with it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NZKirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here at the end of a tour, around 90% of the 38 people in our group had problems with their rooms and the hotel staff. The hotel had over booked so the majority of our group were assigned rooms in a wing of the hotel that was under construction and perhaps not normally used. All rooms were found in an unfinished & unclean state, without lights, safes, towels, hairdryers, hotel information & dirty sheets, doors without locks. Some were without hot water and others without water at all. The rooms were not sign posted, it took too long to find our way, our room was in the far corner of the hotel in cold unlit unfinished corridor without working lifts.

I went to the front desk 4 times and called reception 6 times to ask for towels & a hairdryer, it took 8 hours before we were delivered two towels, it wasn't until the second day we received hand towels, bath matts and our beds were remade with clean sheets. I was never brought a hairdryer although I was told I would get one by reception many times, I had to go to the in hotel salon to dry my hair. I felt embarrassed complaining about these things that should be standard in a 4 star hotel when some of our group were not even assigned a room and forced to share rooms with other guests!

Our free airport shuttle never came after 30mins waiting we were forced to pay over priced taxis to make our flight. The free shuttle to the medina only goes on the hour and is difficult to find if coming back from the Medina so we used taxis to get between the hotel and sights. We did not find a single taxi that agreed to use their meter even when taken from the hotel, the taxi prices were 10 times what our guide had told us.

This '4 star' hotel had a nice looking pool but the room condition and standard of service makes the hotel underserving of a single star in my opinion.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London2010_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

It's a really nice-looking hotel. The lobby is huge and nicely decorated. It has a big pool which im sure you'll enjoy during the summer. Love the live music at the piano bar as well. The breakfast buffet is a bit disappointing though. Our call time was 7 amd we got there at 730am, but there hardly any meat left. Oh well...

Our room was spacious, clean, and with a balcony with a nice view. And the hotel's only about 500meters from Almazar, a really nice shopping mall.

The shortcomings of the hotel are:
1. There's no wifi. There is at the lobby, but good luck trying to connect to it. I believe there's only a limited number that can connect to it at a given time so if it's full you wont be able to get in. I tried for 20 minutes with no success. In your room, there's absolutely no wifi. I don't get how a hotel as classy as this does not have free wifi in the rooms. It's like selling you a great car, like a Porsche, with no seat belts. Free wifi should be standard in every decent hotel.
2. The aircon doesn't work (only the heater does). So we had to open the balcony for the cool air to make it comfortable. This is just unacceptable.
3. The shower, after you've balanced the temperature, cold water just suddenly comes out. It was quite irritating.

I hope the hotel management could look into this and address the issues right away so that future guests wont be inconvenienced by it.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erickson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews