We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Zen House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Zen House
Ranked #235 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“Friendly atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a great stay at Riad Zen House, the room was lovely with a huge bathroom, the breakfast was lovely, the service was great and the people there were very friendly. The roof terrace was nice and relaxing, especially on sunny days! :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlake23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    19
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
42
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Just back from a great holiday in Marrakech made all the better by the great welcome provided at Riad Zen House. Carla, Miloud and the entire staff were so welcoming we immediately felt at home.
The Riad is located just inside the walls of the old city in an area that felt safe. Easy to find and easy to navigate to the main attractions from. The Riad itself is beautiful with stunning rooms (we stayed in the red suite but saw each room as was not busy!) eating areas and sun terrace.
Carla went out of her way to welcome us, explain the local ways and maps, and explain the tours available by Miloud.
We didn't feel pressurised at all but we did do a few trips and found them to be good value.
Food was amazing at the Riad : recommend eating in at least once. Breakfasts gorgeous.

Simply a fabulous stay : we will be returning and would recommend to anyone.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank N4YHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Extremely welcoming and friendly atmosphere. The Riad offers all the amenities that are usually needed to feel good.That feeling of relaxation that we have back home after a hard day can be obtained in the same sense at the Riad Zen House. Of course, much due to Carla,Miloud and the rest of the staff who made us feel at home.Although we have already been in Marrakesh, Carla and Miloud could add more sites to visit because they were always available for us to provide all the information that was needed.All furnished with lovely Moroccan textiles and furniture.For anyone visiting Marrakesh, the Riad is very well located with services nearby like taxis, restaurants and tourist sites to visit.For sure we will be staying here again .... .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParenteAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed in the Kahlife Suite at the Riad Zen House for ten days at the beginning of November 2012 and it made our first visit to Morocco an unforgettable experience. The serene and beautiful Riad Zen House is hidden behind a large wooden door amongst the small alleyways of the Medina and it gave us a truly authentic experience. Carla and Miloud made our stay even more memorable as they were very knowledgeable about Marrakech and the surrounding areas and their lovely staff were extremely attentive. The trips organised by the Riad were excellent and thoroughly recommended. We discussed the evening's menu with Carla each day and she provided a wide range of excellent authentice cuisine and was more than happy to advise us on all the options available. We would thoroughly recommend a guide for the first couple of days which really helped acclimatise us to the hustle and bustle of the souks (yes you will get lost !!) and the main square which were easily accessible by foot from the Riad. Bring lots of money if you do plan to visit all the beautiful silver and textile shops you will need it! A trip that we will not forget in a hurry and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kahlife Suite which was very large with a huge bathroom. The only small downside o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hooleywooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Zen House Riad is conveniently situated close to Bab Yacout entrance to the Medina with taxis nearby, but it is also easy to walk, via the many narrow streets, to the Souks etc. - an experience not to be missed!! Zen House is very comfortable and the staff are extremely helpful and knowlegeable, nothing is too much trouble and their spoken English is also excellent. This is the very best way to have a really authentic experience of Marrakech and by staying in a riad you get a true feeling of Morroco and the peace and calm of your residence after the frantic excitement of Jemaa El Fna (the main Square both day and night) and the many Souks. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Red Room but each one is similar in size but all have their own unique design
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grinshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
285 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

Good points: Breakfast on the roof was wonderful. Lounging on the roof terrace under the umbrellas. Sitting on the balconies using our computers. Very friendly staff that went out of their way to meet all our requests. The ambiance was fun. It was easy to meet and visit with the other guests. The location was very quiet -- easy to sleep. Close to Grand Taxi stand just outside the wall for fast access to the medina and main square

Disappoointments: The place needs a tune up and face lift and a spiffing up. The room was cleaned every day but custions were faded, carpets were wearing, etc. We were happy we stayed in the Red room. All the guests wanted that room. No one wanted to stay in the most expensive room because it was very dark, no windows and on the first floor next to the reception. Not easy to find your way through the old walled city to the main souks and square.

Room Tip: The Red Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank springstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

My husband and I were fortunate enough to stay in the Zen House last month... What an amazing property... We had an easy transfer from the airport to the Riad, truly top notch accomadations, clean, beautifully decorated room, with great ambiance.... We were able to stay in several different rooms, due to the lack of occupancy, which I know had to do with the uphevel within N. Africa (NOT Morocco). However, throughout our time in Marrakech, I never felt any threat of danger or violence or political turmoil... We are Americans and felt EXTREMELY safe and secure within Marrakech and especially the Riad Zen House... They spoke excellent English and were great hosts during our visit.. Breakfast was wonderful and beatifully laid out each morning... My fondest memory was of listening to the call to prayer and the children laughing in the Medina outside our Riad while watching the colors fade at sunset, all the while sipping wine on top of the roof top patio... A perfect moment in time, truly poetry in motion...

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HaitiTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Claire Fontaine
Riad Claire Fontaine
#173 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Sadaka
Riad Sadaka
#195 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Charai
Riad Charai
#217 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#76 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Anyssates
Riad Anyssates
#137 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#96 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zen House

Property: Riad Zen House
Address: 320, Arset Ben Brahim, Arset Ihiri | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Zen House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Home Away from Home, Riad Zen House is ideally located in the center of Marrakech, inside the fortified walls tucked away in a quiet neighborhood between the Jemma el Fna Square and the Majorelle Gardens in the new city. It is a haven of peace. Carla, Miloud and their team will accompany you throughout your trip making it a memorable one, including organizing the outings you wish to take with our private minibus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Zen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing