We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Authentic Experiance”
Review of Riad Bahia Salam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Bahia Salam
Ranked #135 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Amazing Authentic Experiance”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

From the moment we arrived to the moment we were waved off, the staff at Riad Bahia Salam exceeded any expectations we had for our stay. We recieved a lovely warm reception of mint tea and patisseries and were blown away by the amazing tradional decor of this lovely Riad. Our rooms were absolutely lovely and were cleaned every morning. The roof top terrace was an amazing place to sun bath, swim and have dinner lunch or breakfast, or simply just to relax. All the staff were very helpful, informative, friendly and most spoke Arabic, French and English quite well. We really could not have asked for more even the location was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    137
    40
    5
    5
See reviews for
54
178
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

As our first lodging in Morocco we were comfortable and happy with this Riad. We stayed 2 nights. Beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The location was within walking distance to the market, Jemaa el Fna. It was on a main street but there wasn't street noise in our room due to the windows facing into the beautiful center. The roof-top balcony was wonderful to hang out and view the city and street below. Breakfast is included. It was basic fruit, bread, coffee, and orange juice but tasty. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room underneath the restaurant so it was noisy with dishes, walking, music until 10 pm but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 409funtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were with our friends and stayed here for a 4 night Break. We all had a great time. The Staff (including the Sasha Distel look-a-like) were very friendly and helpful. Beds were a little hard, but saying that, rooms were lovely. Breakfast could of had more choices. Excellent location.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 113 and our friends in 111.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandStv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

English storms finally got to us, we just had to escape for a few days, so booked a last minute Easyjet cheapie to Marrakech to grab some February sun, warmth and culture shock. Second visit to Marrakech and enjoyed it even more than the first 4 yrs ago, everyone is incredibly friendly, the sights extraordinary and you really, really know you've left Europe without at any time feeling insecure once you realise that the constant sales pitches and haggling are just a big game to them and they won't take offence if you just walk on.

The boutique Hotels outside the walled City are first class and good value and one of the few places you can get a drink if that's important to you but for the real Moroccan experience you have to stay close to the centre and the action of the souks, kasbahs, medina and the big square. The evening restaurants there are superb, esp the open air ones; we thought stall 15 was best. Cheek by jowl with other travellers you soon make new friends. Forget western timescales, once wandering about in the miles of enclosed souks you WILL get lost but you will stumble upon so much it doesn't matter.Don't miss the Majorelles Gardens.

On our third day we took up someone's recommendation and booked Akhmed and his Mercedes taxi to take us up into the Atlas mountains. A brilliant day, Akhmed took us into traditional Berber homes, unchanged in design since Biblical times probably and found a guide to take us scrambling up to spectacular waterfalls and river torrents. His mobile no is 06 61 18 13 98 and his taxi no is 446.

Back to the Riad. After a long day travelling from Cornwall we were warmly welcomed on the sunlit roof terrace with mint tea and then looked after very well throughout. The room was large and comfortable with TV and air con, the bathroom clean, breakfast either in the restaurant or on the roof terrace delicious, particularly the freshly squeezed orange juice and the local yoghurt and the building with its winding tiled stairs and open courtyards charming.Especially good was the large candlelit scented basement spa. We had our first Hammam ritual massage, an hour of bliss involving a sauna, body wax application, body exfoliation scrub, jacuzzi and massage. Felt a million dollars and 10 years younger afterwards and had to go back for another one the following day! Just what's needed after hours walking around souks.

All prices wonderfully cheap by Western standards. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Riad Bahia Salam is amazing! we stayed here with a university art trip for a week and they made us feel so comfortable and safe! coming to Marrakech for the first time was a bit of a culture shock but the location of the riad and the staff made us feel safe and excited to explore the beautiful city. The riad is so beautiful and well maintained its quite hard to believe that the staff are even more of a reason to go there. Each morning we were greeted and approached by everyone in such a friendly enthusiastic manner! The reception staff were all very helpful and lovely! Every time we saw them we would stop for a quick chat and ask them little tips for our day. Salaheddine Elatmani in particular was very friendly, cheeky and loved talking to us. Each morning we would walk past and let him know where we were exploring in Marrakech, he was very helpful giving us directions, tips on where the best places were and teaching us helpful arabic words.
We really couldnt have asked for a better place to stay in Marrakech!!!! and if i am ever to return to Morocco Riad Bahia Salam will be the first place i will be going and hopefully staying too!

جميل جميل جميل

Thank you so much Riad Bahia Salam!!!!

-Student from Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent, literally paradise!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrylEira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I wasn't sure if I wanted to try a Riad, not being sure what a Riad actually is, and almost went with the "safer" option of staying in a hotel, but I am glad I didn't stay in a hotel because my partner and I would not have had this lovely marrakech experience. At first look, the room was dark, but that's what a Riad is all about, keeping cool In the heat of Morrocco. The bed was very comfortable, the bathing and toilet good, and everything very clean. The maid did an outstanding job, thank you! The people in the Riad, very nice and entertaining, especially Barak and Azizze! The breakfast was OK, but a bit of fresh fruit would have made it better! But there was fresh orange juice!
The Riad is central to the main square, so you can just pop out and have your cheap ($12.00 for two) meal at night under the tent and In the midst of the Medina and all the action, it's what everyone does. There is a small pool, and 3 sun loungers (we grabbed two of the loungers) .. This could be improved on by adding a couple extra loungers for us holiday makers who are sun deprived.
One last thing. Moroccan people are hard working and trying to make a living, they are not harmful, nasty thieves! We walked in the souk and felt comfortable. I felt offended on behalf of Morroccans when I see those tourists acting as if they are in mortal danger by pulling their backpacks (worn in the front) firmly to them. We had absolutely no issue from any local person. It's true we were continually asked for money by the beggars, but please know that there is. No government support for those mothers with babies and a little £|€|$ kindness goes a long way.
We had the best hammam for €25 euro just down the street by the bahia palace at hammam zaihia(?) .. Can't remember the name, but it began with a Z and if you can find the bahia Palace then it's 50 feet away!
Very quiet for sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritalme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I recently stayed here in Riad Bahia Salam as part of a university group and what an amazing place to stay, I couldn't have asked for more! The people were so friendly, so happy! Always willing to help. It was very clean, the rooms were outstanding! Every morning they would clean our rooms and display the duvet, towels in a heart shape, that made me smile! Little thoughtful things made it so lovely! I would definitely stay there again! The breakfast was beautiful, everything about it was beautiful! On our last day, they surprised us all with music, dancers, fruit cocktails and sweets on their roof! We all danced together and had the most amazing time! I'm still smiling, they made the trip an experience to remember.

Room Tip: All the rooms were beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahmorris614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Tahili & Spa
Riad Tahili & Spa
#133 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#223 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#84 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Beldia
Riad Dar Beldia
#115 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad El Walaa and spa
Riad El Walaa and spa
#112 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#9 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bahia Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bahia Salam

Property: Riad Bahia Salam
Address: 61 Avenue Hommane El Fatouaki | Arest Lamaach, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Bahia Salam 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Bahia Salam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bahia Salam Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing