We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay in Marrakech”
Review of Riad Bamboo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Bamboo
Ranked #173 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Our stay in Marrakech”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

When we booked this place it was recommended that we arrange for a hotel pick up since this place is not easy to find.

We did this well in advance and asked the hotel to arrange for this.

When we arrived at the meeting point there was no one to meet us and we had to get a taxi to this place. Although the taxi driver was good enough to drop us there he did overcharge us and since it was dark we were not in a position to negotiate.

We had asked the driver to get us a "Carusso" who knew where the Riad was. Well one thing led to another. We did finally arrive at the place but at the door the two people demanded a lot more money and the Manager at the riad instead of looking after us just stood there and wanted us to pay these people the exhorbitant rates. At the end I just pulled out a piece of paper that recommended the rates and told them either they accept the money or just leave us alone. What an introduction to Marrakech. The owner could have easily directed us across the square and given us landmarks to look out for and we would have found our way instead of all this hullaballo.

Next we were offered some tea and the usual check in was conducted. The out cam a map and the Manager actually tried to justify why these people were asking for such high rates. The manager gave more credence to these hawkers than us.

Well we got to our room. It was not really ready for us.

I am sure they knew we were arriving but it seems a bit dusty and freezing cold although they had a radiator in the room.

When we asked about the Hammam we were told that there is the 1001 mights or The Rose. No mention was made of the in-house treatments therefore we assumed that the Hammam pool and all the spa treatments seems to be available at peak times only.

We had booked a double room and were given a twin room where the two beds were joined together with one large fitted sheet. Every time you slept in the bed you ended up sleeping in a well of some sort.

The breakfast is an overload on sugar. there is no protein at all or fresh fruits.
If there was a diabetic staying at this place or someone who was trying to control their sugar -
(Most people are these days.) intake then is was advisable not to have any breakfast at this place. Marrakech is renowned for fresh fruits of the season. There is so much interesting food available for breakfast which if some effort had been put , would prove so much more fruitful.
All the experts tell us that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. It seems this information has not yet reached this place.

The drains in the bathroom need some real attention.

Whilst having a shower the water starts to back up in the shower tray. The water in the sink stays forever. It never completely drains away.

The owner was not helpful in guiding us. the manager was just there and never tried to volunteer to help us at all.

We found out from other guests that you pay maximum 30 dirhams for a cab.

Overall our experience says that this place is not maintained to the high standard as it says on Trip advisor. Please travel with a travel iron and a travel kettle if you are going to such a place. At least you can make yourself a hot drink just to keep warm.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank namkcos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadbamboo, Propriétaire at Riad Bamboo, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
We think it is clearly a mistake recipient because:
- We organize all transfers for our guests
- Our rooms have reversible air conditionning system
- We provide our guests with iron board, hair dryer and other services
- We serve fresh juices and fruit salads to our guests
- Finally, we can not how we can offer the services of hammam in town because we have our own hammmam and our massage girl
The Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    66
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
32
179
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very pleasant place to stay. Felt very homey. Excellent service from Simon. Not very luxurious, but comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms. Very clean and quiet, and in the middle of everything. Very efficient aircondition. My son enloyed the very cold water in the plungepool after a hard day of shopping. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a separate bathroom/shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NetteNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My 5th visit to Marrakech and this is by far the best place I've stayed. Location is brilliant, close to the square (2 minutes walk away) in the heart of the Medina but equally very easy to find and safe. Everything in Riad Bamboo was spotless and bedding and towels were changed daily without request. Everything in the room worked and was quality with some lovely touches that made it all feel very special. Staff couldn't be more helpful and offered help and advice throughout without being overpowering and 'in-your-face'. Breakfast was excellent and served when we wanted it. I look forward to returning there very soon and have no hesitation in recommending it to good friends and family.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Rubis Suite that had everything that you could want - Air Conditioning, beautiful en-s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JKSavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Amongst the hustle and bustle of the Medina this is a gem of tranquility and worth spending more than one night, we spent three. Very friendly and helpful staff. Ask if you need a guide or advice on purchasing things in the Medina.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruxelles
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We made the tour of the imperial cities and, with a break in between due to a tour to the desert, we spent three nights in Riad Bamboo, sleeping in two different rooms. Both were great, welcoming was warm, friendly and helpful. We stayed at various riad in Morocco but Riad Bamboo really represents the proper riad experience, with familiar and easy going atmosphere. Breakfast was very high quality, dinner could be improved. We would go back and recommend the riad to anyone. Thank you Sonia, Simon and all the staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giukosky1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't fault the Riad or its staff. Sonia welcomed us and provided us with maps, recommendations and advice for our few days in Marrakech, the staff were brilliant and couldn't have done more to help us from organising pool days at out of town hotels, to early breakfasts on the day of our departure. We stayed in the smallest room on the ground floor and its was perfect, only occasionally was there noise from other guests sitting outside our window but I suppose that this is one of the downsides to being in a Riad. Given how close it is to the main square in Marrakech, there was no noise from outside at all!
The roof terrace was great for sunbathing and the plunge pool very much needed at times!
Breakfasts were great and the meal that we had in the Riad was the best food that we had in Marrakesh! Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just got back from our stay at Riad Bamboo (6th/13th Jul 2013) and we must say it has been simply amazing!The propriety is 2min waliking distance from Djeema El Fna but as you walk in it seems to be miles and miles away from everything!The Riad itself is very tastefully furnished,especially the quiet patio with its tiny swimming pool which is just what you need to find after an entire day of souks wandering!Our room was spacious and so charming,in perfect Berber style (fyi AC is in each room and works perfectly)
Breakfast is served in the patio or on the rooftop terrace at you choice. Every morning some good homemade food and a fresh orange juice...Yummi!!!
Sonia,Simon and Ibrahim are simply brilliant. They gave us some good advices which just made our stay perfect. We want to truly thank you all for the outmost assistance and help you gave us...we appreciated it so much!Last but least one comment on the city...you will just fall in love with her!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trillina-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#156 of 499 in Marrakech
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#107 of 499 in Marrakech
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#121 of 499 in Marrakech
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Oasissime
Riad Oasissime
#251 of 499 in Marrakech
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Puchka
Riad Puchka
#56 of 499 in Marrakech
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#74 of 499 in Marrakech
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bamboo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bamboo

Property: Riad Bamboo
Address: Rue Dabachi Derb Hejra No46 | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#95 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#120 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Bamboo 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the detour of the derb Hejra , Riad Bamboo is ideally located into the heart of the medina, street Dabachi really nearby of the famous place Djema El Fna.Sonia & Frédéric as well as their team will be very pleased to welcome you for a deserved moment of zen attitude after the turmoil of the souks.Bamboo gets 5 lovely rooms with charming and traditional decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Bamboo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bamboo Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing