We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar El Baroud

Dar El Baroud
Ranked #559 of 860 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The setting is pretty sophisticated with some live music adding to the pleasant ambience but that's where the positives end. The food is very average and ultimately this place is insanely expensive compared with everywhere else in Marrakech. Presumably anyone that recommends it to the tourists gets a financial kickback, which is why the concierges and taxi drivers are so super-keen to suggest it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tmwdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    19
    14
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Authentic Tourist Trap?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We wanted to get away from our all fab inclusive hotel Riu so we asked our friendly resort taxi driver to suggest something "local" and "Moroccan". He proceeded to take us to what was probably his Dads restaurant where the food prices had seemingly been doubled just in time for our visit. To be fair, the tasty cuisine and descriptive decor was impressively authentic. (I think?) Overpriced food for sure, but the drinks were cheap. Can't really complain as we didn't exactly plan our evening very well, Trip Advisor was sadly an afterthought!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamesellispt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent food and surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

the concierge at la Mamounia advised us against any restaurant ...other than this one it was really good , my daughter said the best meal she has ever had Service is always slow but this was worth the wait . lots of choice and they threw in extras , live music made the atmosphere

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HandJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tourist trap but food and setting is ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Like many of the other reviewers this restaurant was booked for us by our hotel concierge. It was our first night in Marrakech and we weren't feeling all that adventurous after a day travelling. The restaurant is set in a 'typical' Moroccan Riad style, and is actually quite lovely. We were given a set menu that was around 500 MAD (Dirhams), so about £45 each!! We weren't all that hungry and asked if there were any other options; we were reluctantly given a different menu. We had a selection of salads to start, and then lamb couscous and chicken tagine for main course. The food was fresh and tasty, and the service attentive. So why only 3 stars? It just felt massively contrived and over-priced. I know you can do a lot better for that sort of money in Marrakech.

Helpful?
1 Thank FunLover82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

Fellow guests at our Riad mentioned this restaurant to us and said that it was authentic and delicious. They were correct on both counts! We enjoyed the ambiance, service and guitar player and thought that the food was wonderful. I am surprised to see negative reviews...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ctalbot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dar El Baroud also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar El Baroud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing