We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and attractive but service could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Crystal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dar Crystal
Ranked #107 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Comfortable and attractive but service could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

This a very attractive riad in the jewish section of the Medina in Marrakech. There is a lovely courtyard and balconies where it's very comfortable to relax when it's hot (although it's open so not so good when it rains, as it did on our final day). It's quite close to the Bahia palace although not such a great location if you want to go to the souks or the northern part of the Medina, as it's quite a long walk back. (However if you can manage to find your way to a street with cars you can get a taxi.)
We had the room on the top terrace level which was very pleasant and had plenty of space and had a good air-conditioner. The bathroom was also very pretty and atmospheric, however the water was erratic, getting stronger and weaker minute by minute, and it only had one of those annoying hand-held showers and you ended up spraying water all over the floor.
My experience with the staff was not quite so great, people were friendly and helpful but a bit vague, and the night manager in particular. So for example we asked for more hot water at breakfast and it just didn't turn up until we went and got it, another time we asked for tea in our room and the water was tepid, and on the final day we asked if we could have breakfast at 7 as we had to leave at 8, but it didn't happen and then at 8 the guy was asking us why we weren't eating our breakfast when the taxi driver was waiting. (Maybe he just didn't understand my french, but everyone else in Morocco seemed to!) Also we dined in the first night and my chicken was so tough it was inedible.
We felt quite comfortable here and it is attractive but they could improve a bit on the service.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper it is probably better not to be on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLT725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    79
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
74
110
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Partner and I stayed February 2013. At first you think 'where am I going!' down dark alleyways, but then you come to a door, go through and inside is a tranquil and welcoming place. It was about 25 degrees when we went, and I imagine that in the summer this is a welcome retreat.

We were offered herbal tea on arrival and also offered a suite, and it was nicely furnished. There was LG digital air-conditioning if you needed it which I imagine would be good in the summer, but it was a nice temperature day and night anyway.

We were made to feel at home rightaway. Can't comment on the dinner menu as we were only there three nights, and ate out. Breakfast was coffee, yoghurt, flatbreads and pancakes with jam and was nice.

Dar Crystal is in a great position for Kosybar, Tanjia and the Palais Bahia which are all worth a visit. You do have to walk along some dark streets lit by only a couple of lamps and occasional passing bikes and cars for about 200m, we never felt intimidated but I might if I was a lone traveller. In the day the same streets were very busy. It is about a 15 minute walk from Djemaa el Fna.

The map you are given on arrival is excellent.

We had the Hammam in an evening which we pre-ordered that morning. Thoroughly scrubbed but invigorating! There is a nice rooftop terrace. At night the interior - low slung cushions, plants, nice tables and plunge pool - is lit up by many little lamps and looks very special.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DCC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Dar Crystal totally amazed me from the moment we arrived. Staff was really nice and helpful, breakfast was excellent, I had the chance to try the dinner menu 2 times, which tasted really good.
When we finished our Moroccan round trip we had the rooftop suite for 2 nights, which was amazing, we could see the sunrise and the sunset from our own private little terrace.
Location was also really convenient, really close to the El Bahia and El Badi Palaces and the Dar Si Said museum, Jemaa el Fnaa was like a maximum 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RitaBarany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

I was only here for two nights but I loved it. So quiet and peaceful - I was able to do yoga and meditation to the sunset on the roof.

Very close to the town too.

Maybe in the hotter months or a longer stay I would recommend somewhere with a swimming pool to relax and cool off.

Down some little alley ways, I wouldn't be comfortable as a female solo traveller but with friends/family it is fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deena_egham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn bay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Lovely little riad, room was really nice on the 1st floor, breakfast very good with great mix , pancakes, yoghurt, fruit, bread rolls, jams etc, location was excellent 3 min walk from the bahia palace. we got the organised pick up whcih is really good for 1st time visit as riad up an alley way so they walk you to the door. Lot of good restaurants near by too, and the main square and souks about 15 min walk. Very good value for money and would definately stay again. the3 owner Bruno was so helpful, marking all the best places to see on his map. would recommend this place to anyone glady!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Un sejour merveilleux a Dar Crystal ou la gentillesse et la chaleur de l'accueil nous feront revenir certainement. Riad super bien place pour visiter la ville facilement, souks a proximite, marches de souvenirs, epices etc.

A wonderful stay in Dar Crystal where the kindness and the warm welcome will make us certainly come back. Dar Crystal is very well located in the center of the Marrakech with easy access to touristic visiting points, nearby souks, souvenirs markets, spices etc. We warmly recommend it.

Замечательный отдых в Дар-кристалла, где доброта и теплый прием позволит нам вернуться Конечно. Dar Crystal очень хорошо расположен в центре Марракеша с легким доступом к посещения туристических точках поблизости базары, рынки сувениров, специй и т.п.. Мы горячо рекомендую.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina-Moscou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

very nice place with helpful staff and close to a relaxed square near the spice market. The little alley didn't seem promising but once inside the door a serene calm ambiance in the courtyard and a great space on the rooftop made for relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AjaxYhap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#121 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#99 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Thalge
Riad Dar Thalge
#133 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Amin
Riad Amin
#125 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
#198 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#118 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Crystal

Property: Dar Crystal
Address: Derb El Fath no5 | Es Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#104 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Crystal 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar crystal, luxury riad in marrakech dedicated to relaxation & sobriety.this prestigious house is an exclusive cocoon of 8 bedrooms with ensuite bethrooms, pool, hammam, massages room & a fantastic sun-bed terrace, linking contempory look & traditional materials.5 mn walk from souks & palaces (bahia, baldi), 10 mn from jemaa el fna square & 10 mn drive from three golf courts. gorgeous breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Crystal Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing