We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous retreat”
Review of Ourika Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ourika Garden
Ranked #180 of 1,168 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2012

we have just got back from staying here and loved our stay. The hotel/villa is approx half way to the Ourika valley waterfalls in the valley of the Atlas mountains. We had a punishing trip from Marrakesh city at 2pm in a un-air conditioned taxi with temps reaching 50 degrees - our five year old suffered from the heat of this journey but the pretty pool and some special verbena tea given to us by Abdul the manager set him straight. The food was always very good and the staff really friendly and attentive. We stayed in the Timnkal suite, which was actually a sort of small private villa within the grounds set amongst the lovely court yards, plants, gardens, terraces and other rooms facilities such as dining areas. There were fig and pomegranite trees in the gardens and plenty of places to sit/lay in the shade. There are a few shops within walking distance selling snacks and drinks. One had a pool table and football table which is where the children from the village set behind the villa hang out. They were very happy to challenge us to a game and we were thrashed at football but held our own at pool. About 10 children of varying ages enjoyed the competition all laughing and chatting in Arabic. Their are numerous fruit sellers on the roadside which is of good quality and as it was ramadam whilst waiting for a tagine at the local resturant Majorelle about 200 yards up the road on the left a fruit seller gave us some sweet pairs. The tagine (which cost 150dh four three and was divine - just look past the condition of the restuarant and keep and open mind) took an hour to finish cooking so we were grateful. Please do visit the berber village behind the hotel and meet the lovely children, offer them pens/pencils as they have little in the way of educational materials. Also do visit the argan oil shop near the restuarant and chat with the women working there they work hard to make this cure all oil and are really friendly as are all of Morrocans. Great place to stay and explore the mountains and enjoy some peace and tranquility.

Room Tip: I am sure any of the rooms suites will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erine-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed one night in the Douiria(?) room. It was more like an apartment with a nice living room, a kitchen, a bedroom with a queen-size bed, and two twin beds on the side of the living room. It was very spacious and can sleep a family of 4 or more. But it did get a bit cold for the two of us at night. There just wasn't enough heat for the April nights. So I would recommend this place for the summer time. Other than that, the food was good. The ground is lovely. We were glad that we stayed in the Ourika Valley to be able to hike area the next day in Setti Fatma.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Becky0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We decided to stay here for two nights based on TripAdvisor reviews. The owner met us in Marrakech and helped us get a taxi for the journey through the mountains to Ourika Garden (I think transport could even be provided, with enough notice). The journey is surprisingly short (under 1 hour), the difference in pace of life between Marrakech and the Ourika Valley is quite significant!

We were the only people staying at the Ourika Garden (February is low season) and the staff could not have done more to help us, including preparing great good and lighting the fireplace in the evenings (each of the four rooms has it's own living area and fire!).

A very quiet and peaceful place to stay, with a nice garden, pool and truly amazing views over snow-capped mountains. The small village of Oulmes is a short walk up the hill (and along the river) if you fancy a stroll or a tagine.

The Ourika Garden staff arranged a day trek to a nearby Berber village for us at the last minute; it was a real highlight of our week in Morocco.

I would definitely recommend staying here!

Room Tip: The rooms are more like mini-apartments! We stayed in the smallest (Agour) and still had our own liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dan9ardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I have endless good things to say about this retreat. We were met in Marrakech and driven up to the gardens by the owner. The place is so beautiful and pictures do not do it justice. Everything is very intimate, with only four rooms available. We opted for the cheapest room, which was still sizable, with its own living room and fire place. We were the only people staying at the villa when we went. All of the staff were extremely attentive, kind and helpful. We were given a menu with options for dinner, with which they cooked using ingredients from their own massive herb and vegetable garden. It is definitely a charming break from the hectic Moroccan cities, whether you wish to go for hikes or just lay by the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holiday417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I can't say enough good about Mr. Alaoui, the manager, here. He met us in Marrakech and brought us up to Ourika, stopping off at a couple of obscure places we'd asked about along the way, translating for us, etc. And my friend had her birthday while we were staying here, and he arranged a beautiful personalized cake (mmm--wish I'd eaten more) and a table scattered with rose petals and lit with candles, and all the kitchen staff in their finest formal uniforms.

The rest of the staff was kind and thoughtful too, and we felt so lucky to be here, and so well taken care of. Ben (the owner, who handles email) arranged a taxi and a hiking guide at good rates as well. It was early in the season, so we were the only guests, and had the run of the place. There's a beautiful herb garden, and a million terraces to sit on and take in the view.

I loved my room--the style is very rustic, but not uncomfortable. Very thick walls, traditional carpets and furniture, a comfy sitting area. (I swear--the challenge of staying here was just trying to figure out where the best place was to sit and read my book...)

The place looks very family-friendly--the suites have kitchens and everything--and it seems like it would be especially fun in July or August, when Moroccan families come up from Marrakech for vacation.

The location is nice--not super-remote. I took evening walks up and down the main road, and there are people out, and some shops. But you are basically relying on the kitchen at the hotel for all meals. They're good, but if you were staying for more than a couple of days, you'd probably want to branch out a bit--get a suite with a kitchen and stock up on groceries. Ah....dreaming about a weeklong total chill-out visit now!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Ourika Garden have a really wonderful garden with fresh herbs, flowers and a pool area. Lovely to hang out in during a warm spring day! The surroundings are also very nice - and conveniently near to Marrakech. The best thing about Ourika Garden is however its staff - always smiling and willing to make your stay the best possible. As another reviewer mentioned they are genuinly nice and very generous (our dinner had been discounted on our bill and we were given wine free of charge). Breakfast was great with pancakes, fresh goat cheese and local argane oil.
Our room was interesting, very large and the bathroom could have better cleaned.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CH_Sthlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

After Marrakech this was an absolute joy the complete opposite - quiet, peaceful and beautiful. The service was incredible even though their English is very limited. The Manager, who lives in Marrakech, was very kind and helpful and took us to see wonderful things in the area and arranged our visit to the waterfalls. We also were taken to a Berber village by one of the staff and to his home for tea. It was the highlight of our whole trip.

The room we had was enormous with a very grand dining room table which had chairs for 8, seating area and a lovely fire which was lit every night with two chairs in front of it plus the very comfortable bed. The bathroom was the weak point as the shower had to be held to wash as it did not seem to connect to the connector. Once that has been sorted then everything would be perfect. There was also air conditioning for the summer with heating for the winter and it was needed and was very effective. The menu forf dinner is not huge but everything was really nice and served with a huge smile! Breakfasts were great and particularly enjoyable eating it in the sunshine.

The gardens are lovely and sitting in the sun around the pool, which is not huge, is lovely. This is the place for quiet and solitude - take lots of books!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fussylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
2.5 mi away
Auberge Le Maquis
Auberge Le Maquis
#2 of 3 in Ourika
73 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Kasbah Bab Ourika
#1 of 3 in Ourika
604 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chez Larbi Ourika
Chez Larbi Ourika
#1 of 9 in Ourika
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.0 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 501 in Marrakech
2,090 reviews
28.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 501 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
28.4 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ourika Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ourika Garden

Address: Agbalou | Ourika Valley, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 1,168 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the valley of Ourika, this intimate inn offers breath-taking views, native-styled guest suites which feature, mountain views, fireplaces, sunset setting, soothing sounds of nature. Looking for a romantic weekend or family adventure, this warm guesthouse combine a heavenly experience with modern amenities. Using vegetables grown in our own organic garden, our skilled chef will custom-make delightful meals, along with serenity and warm set up will ensure you can resource yourself. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing