We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magical”
Review of Riad Hidden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Hidden
Ranked #385 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 12 August 2014

a wonderful place, just a few minutes walk from the main square in Medina, full of charm. friendly staff, good breakfast, beautiful rooms and character bathrooms. would stay again, just probably not in January as a bit cold- March or October is the time to go.
Marrakech is an incredible place, a must go. Also, if you have a spare day or two go to Essaura on the coast or take a road trip alongside the ocean- unforgettable views!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank matom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Lovely, homely and clean. The staff at Riad Hidden went above and beyond, especially after my Mum and Sister became ill. They were always happy help us, recommending restaurants and places to visit. The Riad rooms are so beautifully decorated and comfortable. The bathroom flooded when showering, but that was just a gentle reminder we were still in Africa.

Marrakech itself, 3 nights is plenty. We stayed longer with the intention of going to the Atlas Mountains however after my Mum and Sister became ill, were unable to.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunand0cean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The service is very welcoming and genuinely helpful. The staff alone would be enough for us to go back for a second visit. Location-wise this is indeed perfectly placed for easy access to the square within a couple of minutes walk, yet so peacefully quiet it's hard to believe.

I stayed here with my family and we had three rooms in total. Two on the ground floor and the room I shared with my sister on the first floor. The ground floor rooms were lovely and had nice bright lightbulbs which made the rooms feel more modern than mine which had very, very dim lighting and totally changed the feel of the room in comparison. Our shower room flooded too and after running the water for a good ten minutes never got hot so all of us just used one of the ground floor bathrooms - the one exactly opposite the reception desk, as this was perfect - it didn't flood and was nice and hot. We didn't mention this to the staff as we were fine running from room to room so to be fair to them they didn't have an opportunity to fix the problems.

We felt we had the riad to ourselves most nights as we stayed nearly a week and most guests stayed only a night or two, so we weren't bothered by any noise on the ground floor.

One incident which frightened the life out of me and my sister was at 4am when someone was trying to get into our room! You can't lock the doors so had they not been slightly jammed whoever it was would've walked straight in! I shouted 'hello' which stopped them trying to get in and we assume they were guests that just got the wrong room but it was very scary at the time particularly as it was heavily raining and a bit of a storm outside which all added to the tension. Again I had planned to mention it to the staff but by morning i had calmed down about it and there wouldn't have been anything they could do about it at that point.

As our rooms were so different we all had a different experience of the riad - if I'd stayed in one of the ground floor rooms would probably rate it 4 or 5 stars but given the points raised above, I think 3 stars is fair.

The price is good but its better to pay cash in dirhams (you can't use your card unless paying the price stated in Euros).

Ultimately, a nice little find, just get the right room!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are better well-lit and provided there aren't partying guests staying, won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Beautiful and clean place to stay in the heart of the medina. It really is in the centre of it all, but considering how close it is to the centre, the riad is so quiet and very calm, just what you need after walking around the square all day. We booked the airport shuttle, and as a driver could drive through the square another man takes our luggage and leads us through the hustle and bustle of Jamaa el fna. As we arrived at night, it was very daunting as we were led down the back alleys, but having walked through there every night it is indeed safe. I would recommend booking the airport shuttle, especially arriving at night as we would never have found it on our own.
We initially stayed here from reading all of the reviews and the help that is on hand from Salma. However, we did miss Salma on a few occasions as she comes in for certain periods of each day now since she has moved out. This is a shame as she gives such detailed and useful advice on where, when and how to get to places in and around Marrakech , which only made us wish she was there to help us with our entire trip!
However, her staff Karim and Hassan made our stay more than excellent. They were so very helpful and went out of their way on multiple occasions to do and get things for us.
Each morning breakfast was served by Karim or Hassan on the terrace, delicious! It can be repetitive if you stay there for more than a couple of days but it was filling and served its' purpose.
The rooms are very clean, as are the bathrooms, but the shower on the ground floor did tend to flood the bathroom which was a bit of nuisance at times, particularly if you are sharing the room.
If you are on the ground floor, the rooms are not soundproof so if people are in the courtyard it can be annoying if you are trying to sleep at night.
Riad Hidden, is a beautiful and clean place to stay with an excellent location and the perfect staff and host. I will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper level may be better in terms of noise. Shower on the ground floor tends to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This sweet place down a small street in the middle of it all was exactly as we had hoped and more. Lovely courtyard, peaceful and welcoming. Very nicely designed and cared for in a boho chicque kind of way. Our home made breakfast every morning on the roof terrace, the attention to our requests, felt so comforting after long days hassling in the souks! We loved it and would go back any time!

Room Tip: The bathrooms are really cool, but there is one where the shower does flood the floor a bit, didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lferrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Great, clean place to stay. The host Salma is very pleasant and helpful, and fluent in English which was helpful when we wanted to book taxis and car rentals. This riad is very very central, it's so quick to get right into the centre, it's literally a couple of alley ways from the main Souk road, very easy to find. Don't let anyone try and show you the way - they will try and take your money.

Gorgeous place with beautiful rooms. Shower was great. The only thing to note is that the room on the ground floor is not exactly sound proofed so we were whispering a lot!
Not a lot of rooms are available here, which keeps it nice and private, it feels very much like a family home, from memory there is a room which you can watch TV/DVDs in. There is/was somewhere upstairs to relax in too.
Lovely views across the medina. Great breakfast foods, Salma serves a proper feast. I do recommend it for an authentic riad experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazfrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is a gorgous Riad- with only 5 rooms and a lovely rooftop terrace. In the heart of the city - if you want to be close to everything- 5 mins from the souks, 8 mins from the square. You've got the right place. Our room was wonderful- a double room with walk in closet following on to a single room and a good sized bathroom and kitchen. The breakfast is okay - mostly bread-based so can be quite stodgy. The hosts are fantastic - Abdul and Salma. Abdul is so friendly and welcoming, and Salma gives excellent advice and we went on a wonderful excursion she helped advise us (To the atlas mountains).
Beautiful place! Definitely would go back :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad des Eaux et Spa
Riad des Eaux et Spa
#132 of 502 in Marrakech
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#89 of 502 in Marrakech
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#219 of 502 in Marrakech
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#164 of 502 in Marrakech
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Chorfa
Riad Chorfa
#224 of 502 in Marrakech
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Hamdane & SPA
Riad Hamdane & SPA
#167 of 502 in Marrakech
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Hidden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hidden

Address: 117, Derb Jamaa | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#181 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £55 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Hidden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Hidden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Hidden Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing