We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,045)
Filter reviews
2,045 results
Traveller rating
1,989
47
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,989
47
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmobile phoneeucalyptus roomfree laundry serviceambre roomroof terracesidi ben slimanelocal phonethe main squarefresh fruitmint teaatlas mountainssend someonetaxi standan oasisday bedwinding streetsmoroccan dinner
Filter
Updating list...
1,161 - 1,166 of 2,045 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2012

What a great hotel, with wonderful staff!
I recently took my partner Laura to Marrakech for her 30th birthday and chose to stay at the Riad Kheirredine, and we both loved it!
We have stayed in lots of nice 5 star hotels, but we have never experienced hospitality like it. We have been meaning to join Trip Advisor for years, but had to after this trip!
The staff have a genuine ability to make you feel like you are the only guests and really go the extra mile to make your holiday perfect.
The Riad is tucked away in the traditional streets of the Medina, and has a sanctuary-like feeling. It has a lovely shaded courtyard which I imagine is great in the height of summer and a great roof terrace which was perfect to get some January sunshine!
We really enjoyed the breakfast of fresh juice, pastries, eggs, ham, cheese etc. The coffee is really good and is free at any time of the day or night. This is the same for all hot drinks, water etc. Really good hotel. Cannot recommend it enough!

Thanks a lot to everyone at the Riad Kheirredine!!

Michael and Laura

Room Tip: We stayed in the the Amber room which was really nice
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_and_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadkheirredine, Manager at Riad Kheirredine, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience of Riad Kherredine with the Tripadvisor community.

We are really pleased to read your feedback. Positive remarks such as yours are most important and useful for us. They have been of course forwarded to all team members concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip in the Red City.

Best regards,
Riad Kheirredine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This riad was amazing. The staff were so attentive. I really felt that we got to experience the hospitality that Morocco is known for around the world. The price includes many extras: breakfast, a free cell phone in case you get lost, personalized service, free cups of tea with cookies, etc. They will call to arrange any tours you wish and are very concerned that you are having a great stay. Hakim is particularly helpful and runs off his feet helping you figure out the medina. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadkheirredine, Manager at Riad Kheirredine, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience of Riad Kherredine with the Tripadvisor community.

We are really pleased to read your feedback. Positive remarks such as yours are most important and useful for us. They have been of course forwarded to all team members concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip in the Red City.

Best regards,
Riad Kheirredine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

riad beautiful, clean and comfortable. qualified staff, helpful and friendly. really a great holiday

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadkheirredine, Manager at Riad Kheirredine, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience of Riad Kherredine with the Tripadvisor community.

We are really pleased to read your feedback. Positive remarks such as yours are most important and useful for us. They have been of course forwarded to all team members concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip in the Red City.

Best regards,
Riad Kheirredine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The good:
1) Valentina. Great, friendly personality, helpful and cheerful. Knowledgeable and always willing to advise and assist. Abdul - very friendly, too. Francesco - always smiling.
2) The roof relaxation area - great view over the city, fantastic ambiance. Too bad December is too cold in the evenings, we would certainly hang out there if it were warmer
3) Clean rooms. Comfy beds. Nice toiletries.
4) charming decorations.
5) the staff supplied cellphones in case guests were lost. Very appreciated because of the confusing location.

The bad:
1) super cramped rooms. Sandal room felt like being in a closet.
2) very dark lights - we had to use flashlights to read books in our rooms.
no internet signal in the rooms. Had to sit either in the breakfast room on in the cold courtyard.
3) noisy local girls in the haman talking until midnight. (across from Verveine room). The echoing voices not allowing us to sleep - in the final act of exasperation we went out of the room and told them to be quiet.
4) poor water pressure - water just trickling at times (and completely off one morning - had to get the front desk to turn the pump on - we had already soaped ourselves, that was awkward)
the showers don't drain properly and backed up.
5) We stayed in Verveine room and later in Sandal -
my 5'11" husband hit his head on the low ceiling in the bathroom and the staircase.
Sandal shower unusable - the water would spray everywhere - no curtain and no screen, and super cramped. we could not shower there.
The Verveine room was really cold - the electric heater is undersized for the room.
6) breakfast - we ordered an omelette and were given a browned sunny-side up, dried around the edges. When we very gently tried to explain what the omelette should be, we encountered bad attitude from the Moroccan staff, accusing us of "using English", "not knowing what an omelette was", but "omelette" is the same word in French!
Two girls from Singapore had similar problem - they ordered sunny side up and were given overcooked scrambled eggs.

Khalid (not sure of the spelling) was especially rude - during the omelette discussion I mentioned to him that I used to work in a restaurant in Germany, to which he answered "what do Germans know about food".
Wow! surely the guests feel like royalty in this Riad!

About the location: mixed feelings.
while it is very authentic and almost romantic to be looking for the ornately carved door in the labyrinth of Medina, it is darn impractical.
We were lucky to book the transfer from the airport or else we would never ever find the Riad. Pity the guests which were forgotten at the aiport.
The taxi drops you off 10 minutes walk from the riad and it is truly a maze. Without Riad's representative, it would be impossible to find.
On the way out, we felt comfortable enough to not ask for a guide, but we pulled our luggage on the cobblestones for around 1 km - really hard on the wheels - and no boy with a cart in sight. Allow plenty of time to walk to the streets (and taxis).

Strangely enough, without booking this Riad we would never experience the movie-set-like labyrinth. It WAS romantic.

The bottom line:
the owners try to do the best with what they have (being an old, cramped building in an awkward location).
the building cannot be changed (size of the rooms or ridiculous up and down staircases).
What can be changed is the attitude of some of the staff, the shower drains, the water pressure booster pump and perhaps some reading lights?

We also compared the prices and check the facilities in other riads, and found that Kheirredine wasn't the greatest bargain.

Also, strangely enough, the human touch made the shortcomings of the Riad possible to accept.
In the future, if we find a good deal, we might consider coming back for couple of nights if only to share the magical location with friends or family.

Room Tip: hm. is there a good room in this Riad?
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank h8mosquitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Very nice place to stay though not easy to find. They need to pick you up at a specified pick up point or you'll get lost trying to find it. It takes a little over 15 minutes to walk to the Jemaa el Fna square (main attraction) . I had my first Hammam ever there and it was really good. Breakfast was good but I had better in Fes. I was given a local mobile phone in case I got lost but never needed to use it. My room was quite big (Rose) and confortable but the shower was not very good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pimpollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadkheirredine, Manager at Riad Kheirredine, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience of Riad Kherredine with the Tripadvisor community.

We are really pleased to read your feedback. Positive remarks such as yours are most important and useful for us. They have been of course forwarded to all team members concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip in the Red City.

Best regards,
Riad Kheirredine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews