We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to explore Marrakech”
Review of Riad Balkisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Balkisse
Ranked #357 of 1,193 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Foad was an excellent host and was so welcoming, as was everyone at the riad. He went out of his way to make us as comfortable as possible. The riad is in a great central location to explore the medina. All of the main sites were within an easy walking distance. There are a lot of restaurants nearby. Breakfast on the terrace every morning was a treat! We had dinner upon arrival, and it was quite nice. They had wine and beer available for purchase as well. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank llguynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

If I had a Guesthouse/Riad, FOAD would be my manager. The Riad comes recommended and does not disappoint. The staff, Rita and Hafida are gracious and helpful. It is well positioned close to the Souq within walking distance as is the bus/taxi rank and many other areas. The Rooms are comfortable apart from a few minor defects which we mentioned to Foad as well as the owner who was visiting from France. We would most definited recommend Riad Balkisse to anyone looking for slightly above average accommodation and would not miss an opportunity to stay there again.
Ruth & Maureen

Room Tip: Rooms on the first and second floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We've just returned from a week in Marrakech, staying the entire time at the Riad Balkisse. We chose this modest guest house for our stay because of its location and affordable price. It is, in our experience, above "budget" accommodations. There were a number of minor deferred maintenance items that did not adversely effect our stay, but keep us from rating it excellent. In its favor were value for the price, excellent location, comfortable accommodations and an outstanding staff all around. Fouad, the manager, made sure that all our needs were addressed as well as provided guidance and recommendations about our adventures in Marrakech. Ritta made sure that we had a lovely breakfast each day before we began our wandering and, upon our return, Hafida had set our room right. The property is a 5 minute walk from the Jamaa El Fna, less than half an hour from all the other major sight-seeing spots in the old city, and about the same distance to the heart of the modern Gueliz business district.
We would stay there again without hesitation and can recommend this riad as a great spot in its price range.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor may have windows to the outside, whereas first floor rooms open on the cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjnbandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We went for Riad Balkisse for our Marrakech trip because of the good TripAdvisor reviews and great value - and weren't disappointed! Foad was in touch as soon as we booked to arrange an airport transfer, and to find out what food we wanted on arrival. When we arrived we got a great welcome from his really friendly colleague, who brought us tea and breakfast while we sat in the courtyard, drinking in the startling quiet and the beautiful surroundings. (Tip for those who only speak English - Foad and Yusef speak English, but his female colleague spoke only French and Arabic, so it might be an idea to brush up on a few French phrases!) It's a bit of a cliché to talk about Marrakech riads as being oases of calm, but the contrast whenever we walked indoors was remarkable - it's in a fantastic location, only 5 minutes from the chaos of Jemaa el Fna, but utterly peaceful within the shelter of the riad. We enjoyed breakfast in the sunshine every morning on the roof terrace, fending off inquisitive songbirds while eating homemade pancakes and crumpets. Our room was cozy, with a beautifully-tiled ensuite bathroom. The riad also arranged a couple of amazing day trips, one to Essaouira and one to the Ourika falls, which only cost EUR35 and EUR 25 each.
The only potential disadvantage was the fact that we couldn't get the Wifi to work while we were there - but we didn't really miss it, and for anything really urgent there's a laptop for guests' use in the TV room.
For anyone looking for a welcoming place to stay in an ideal location, I'd definitely recommend Riad Balkisse.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank small_faraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

From the moment we arrived on 16April for a three night stay we were made to feel so welcome. Nothing was any trouble for Foad, his colleague or the the two women working at the Riad. We had previously been in touch with Foad and he arranged for transport to collect us from the airport as well as take the 4 of us to the Atlas Mountains and pick us up again to return to Marrakesh.

The Riad is centrally placed to the Square and it's many restaurants.

The rooms were OK and we were given clean towels everyday. On our last night before leaving we ate at the Riad. The food was freshly cooked to order and very good.

Overall we all enjoyed the stay mainly because of how we were treated by those working at the Riad

Room Tip: Because of the closeness of the street suggest a room away from the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I was unsure when I booked, but super glad to have. Perfect location (a few minutes from the heart of Marrakech) but still in a quiet area. Lovely riad, beautiful rooms and super helpful and friendly staff. Foad really helped us out by organising some last minute trips that were cheap and great fun. The other younger guy there (i forget his name) was also really friendly and always greeted us with a lovely breakfast in the morning. I would stay here again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarryd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We spent 3 nights at Riad Balkisse: the first 2 not very good, since our room was at the noisy low floor very close to the entrance and reception, the last at the 1st floor and was definitely better. Anyway we had to accept it since we did our reservation only the day before! :)

The room costed about 680DHM per night that was actually quite a good value for money. The location was very good, even if it was quite difficult to find the Riad the 1st time (a young man working in one of the near shops helped us, but also insisted hundred times to lead us to his friend's restaurant!).

All the staff was friendly, but, except for Foad. (sorry to say) not very helpful. When Foad was absent the wifi didn't work and the "not so experienced" colleagues couldn't give us many info about the city...

The breakfast was really good and rich in the typical moroccan style!

Ah, the day we left they provided us a decent breakfast at 6am: we really appreciated it, thanks! :)

Giulio & Valentina

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cuckoo4Caca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Irene
Riad Irene
#329 of 1,193 in Marrakech
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Yammi
Riad Dar Yammi
#140 of 1,193 in Marrakech
100 reviews
0 mi away
Riad Dar Benbrahim
Riad Dar Benbrahim
#204 of 1,193 in Marrakech
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 500 in Marrakech
2,175 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Balkisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Balkisse

Address: 4 Derb Charij | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 1,193 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £34 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Balkisse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Balkisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing