We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, disappointing experience.”
Review of Ryad Laarouss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ryad Laarouss
Ranked #671 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location, disappointing experience.”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The Ryad was well located, close enough to the square but far enough out to be quiet and peaceful during the evening. Unfortunately this is all I can really say in regards to positive feedback for the place. Being our third Ryad we stayed in I guess we had high expectations, but this Ryad was more like a dark and dusty hotel. Our room was in the annex 'across the street' off the bat not very impressed. The annex has no foyer just a door and three levels of stairs packed with rooms. Already the Ryad has a dark and claustrophobic feeling. Our room was tiny, no windows, dark, the hardest bed, no hot water, very dusty and dirty linen. We like to spend the afternoons relaxing in our room after spending the day in the heat, as a place to relax and cool down, but with this place we just wanted to escape as much as possible. Very disappointed when we had paid less at other places for such warmer and inviting hospitality. I certainly wouldn't recommend the Ryad nor stay here when visiting marrakech in the future.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room in the annex, make sure the room has hot water, check linen
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JacintaCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laarouss, Gérant at Ryad Laarouss, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
The more difficult is for finding out what was so wrong in Ryad Laârouss for posting two of so terrible reviews for the same stay !!!! After investigation I have this answer I sent to Jacintha and his boyfriend.
" Hello Jacinta !
It looks like your already made answer to your own question in two reviews you left with your friend in Trip advisor.
Very soon you will read my answers in the same page of trip advisor reviews about what you did with your friend.
But in other side I regret so much what happened in your stay.
After investigation I understood you miss water in your room between 17 h and 21 h.
It is not our fault. In Ramadan rooming all Marrakech are missing water at this time before the Ramadan breakfast time at 19h30. Out of this time water became normally available !
What I know you used for travelling a lot around the world with an Australian passport and this time you were in Ryad Laârouss with a boyfriend holding a Hispania passport. The receptionist mentions that you and your friend were already very nervous and disagreeable by the checking time. But that was not a reason to break down the lock of your bedroom.
We paid 150 dirhams for fixing the lock you destroyed, what will be charge to you.
I hope you will be honest enough to recognize and agree with this ending situation.
Cordially
Ryad Laârouss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    103
    52
    24
    46
See reviews for
48
118
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The postitive: the Ryad Laarouss is in a brilliant location, right in the medina but easy to find your way back to from the Djaama el Fna and the souks as it is on a main street. It is beautiful inside, the swimming pool a welcome relief from the heat of the summer sun. Our room, the Harem mini-suite is not in the main building but in the other part across the street. which we didn't mind as it was really cute inside with a fab view of the medina from the roof top terrace. The room is also nicely decorated with more than enough space for our family of four. Other reviewers have mentioned a lack of cleanliness which we didn't find - it was very clean, down to the smell of bleach!

The negative: Our room had no windows, all glass in the window of the main bedroom has been replaced with mirrored glass. This does make the room feel a bit dark and claustrophobic. There is absolutely no storage for clothes, not a cupboard or a drawer. The bathroom also had a curtain rather than a door you could close (we found it hard to keep out a toddler fascinated with water!). The worst however was that for several hours we had absolutely NO WATER - we had lots of excuses and promises to call a plumber but the fact remained that we could not even flush the toilet or wash our hands after, let alone have a shower. In fairness, the hotel did offer to let us use a shower in another room and by the time we came back from our walk in the medina it was fixed, but it did spoil our enjoyment of the hotel somewhat.Our room was also very dusty.

The breakfast was also a bit basic - only 2 types of pastry, the croissants were stale and there was no fruit or yoghurt either.

I would not return to this hotel were I to visit Marrakesh again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window and ask how the water pressure is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malaguaña
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The Ryad is well located at a walking distance from Jamaa Al fena in the medina's ryad laarous district. The main problem with the ryad is cleanness, our sheets weren't so clean and I was seriously attached by insects bites the first night, until we asked from proper cleaning for the room and changing all the drapes (the experience was a little better the second night). The staff is very helpful and friendly and accepted the criticism.

Room Tip: The rooms with a street view are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eimannosho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laarouss, Manager at Ryad Laarouss, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Sorry so much to our guest for all these problems. I care for managing better and try to make these events not repeating again at Ryad Laârouss. In Morocco insect is a big problem. All the bedrooms are treated against insect regularly. About the sheets we want to fix this other problem with the staff if this fault can be found out. But we ask to our guest next time for complaining to the Manager directly about so serious problem once at the Riad not after coming back home, in the way the manager could help usefully during the stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The Ryad is overall really nice, clean and confortable if you have to spend some days in Marrakech. We paid for 3 night/3 people around 120€ with taxes and breakfast included. There is a little swimming pool inside and anotherone really small outside in the terrace where you can take the sun.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matteo_7518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at Ryad Laarouss for one week in June 2013.

STAFF - Yousef and the staff are very helpful, they can book any excursions/trips for you and help with advice and getting around. We went to a waterfall - Cascade D'Ouzoud and a famous town (can't remember the name), also quad biking and a spa (the spa is 'part' of the hotel but is located round the corner - also can't remember the name). The spa is amazing, similar prices to London but quality is much better.

LOCATION - The big square (where all the food stalls/markets are) is about a 15 minute walk away, so not too far. Location is ideal.

HOTEL AND FACILITIES - The hotel is split into 2 parts - part 1 is where the main reception, dining area, small indoor pool with open roof, cold jacuzzi, larger seating and larger sunbathing area are, in addition to some rooms. Part 2 is across the road and has rooms, a tiny sunbathing area and small seating area, I think the majority of rooms were in part 2.

I didn't see anyone using the indoor pool whilst I was there, maybe because it was situated right near the dining area.

The hotel was very clean - no complaints there, however they did not clean our room during our stay only changed the towels daily.

BREAKFAST - Breakfast was a selection of cakes, crepes, toast every morning. Tea, coffee, orange juice and Moroccan tea were also served. Would have been nice to have some more options e.g. eggs, maybe even some fruit. Most days I just had fresh squeezed orange juice for breakfast due to lack of variety.

Overall I was very pleased with the hotel for the price I payed. Excellent value for money - 4/5 overall

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PancakesAndProsecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed here for one night and as soon as we entered the Riad were impressed with the design. I wouldn't call it very authentic but the rooms and lounge were furnished in one black-beige style. The best place in the Riad is a terrace where you can relax, see the lights of Marrakech and listen to the sounds of it. We really enjoyed a small buffet style breakfast with different pancakes and breads. Few minuses- when you take a shower pay attention at the water level as draining is bad and we almost have flooded the bathroom. We have found a cockroach on the floor in the morning, probably it came out during the night when the lights were turned off. We were not not surprised as we are aware of a cockroach problem in Morocco but it was a bit unpleasant.
Finally the Riad is not far from Jemaa el Fna (about 10-15 minutes) but if you are getting to Riad on your own remember that the whole street is named Ryad Larouss and for us it was very confusing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laupheim, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The Ryad: The Ryad is located in the northern medina. It took about 15 minutes by foot to the Jemaa el Fna. The Ryad has a shuttle servic to the Jemaa el Fna and the Airport. The prices are absolutely ok. We payed 40 DH to the Jemaa el Fna and 100 to the Airport (for 2 People)

We stayed three times during a week in morokko in the Ryad Laarouss. The reason why we always came back to this ryad is the really friendly and helpful personell and the comfortable rooms which are clean. The Food, which is cooked "fresh" in the clean looking kitchen is good, the spaghetties were exellent. Overall, you cant make a wrong decision with this Ryad.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#346 of 496 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ali
Hotel Ali
#406 of 496 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#236 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Les Jardins de Riad Laarouss
Les Jardins de Riad Laarouss
#406 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad RabahSadia
Riad RabahSadia
#296 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Amra
Riad Amra
#577 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Laarouss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Laarouss

Property: Ryad Laarouss
Address: 46 Angle Derb El Gueza Et Derb Jamaa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #671 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Laarouss 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ryad Laarouss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Laarouss Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing