We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful”
Review of Riad Al Badia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Al Badia
Ranked #20 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

During our 7-night vacation to the wonderful city of Marrakech, our stay in Riad Al Badia was an absolute eyeopener in terms of what real hospitality and customer service is about.
From the moment we checked-in, we experienced a sense of warmth and care that could only have been delivered by people who were genuinely interested in the comfort and wellbeing of the guest.

On arrival, we were treated to the traditional Moroccan welcome of Mint tea on the gorgeous terrace on the roof of the Riad. While enjoying our tea, one of the staff, Abdelhak, joined us on the terrace with a map of the city, and in addition to explaining how to get to the different areas we wished to see, also informatively and patiently answered all our questions of the various areas of Marrakech. After this, he then offered to accompany us to Djemma-el-fna, the citys main square, to ensure we knew exactly where we were going. An incredible service, and very welcome in a city such as Marrakech!

On our return to the Riad that night, we had the absolute pleasure of being introduced to the owner of the Riad. Laurent, being the warm, charming personality that he is, could simply only be described as being the face of hospitality - A true Gentleman, who will do everything he possibly can to make your feel really and truly at home during your stay at Riad Al Badia.

Over the following seven days, we were waited on hand-and-foot. Breakfast is offered at whatever time you feel like it, either in the terrace or the dining area downstairs. We opted for the warm, sunny terrace each morning, and to have been served freshly baked bread, pancakes, crepes, and muffins, as well as freshly squeezed orange juice, black tea and mint tea, and most importantly of all, that divine homemade yogurt, was just simply unbeatable. From the crepes to the yogurt, the quality of food was absolutely outstanding. Well done to the lady of the Kitchen!

Not surprisingly our bedroom was impeccably clean and wonderfully air-conditioned, featuring an extremely comfortable bed which provided us with a restful nights sleep each night, electronic safe, complimentary drinking water, and full en-suite including a really nice shower - very useful after spending hours in the hot and sticky souks!

During our stay the staff went out of their way several times to organise things to see and do for us, including booking the fabulous Nikki Beach in the Palmerie area of the city, to organising a 50cc scooter for three days so we could attempt navigating the narrow streets of the medina on two wheels - An exhilarating experience! They also recommended and booked a Hamman in a very relaxing spa for us, not far from the Riad itself. Again, a very pleasant experience and well worth trying.

In conclusion, the Riad itself is a modern and comfortable haven in the midst of the hustle and bustle of old-town Marrakech. With its clean, comfortable bedrooms, refreshing pool and sun-soaked terrace, it provides the ultimate in relaxation and tranquility. The staff however are what makes this Riad what it is. Their continuous attention to the most minute detail, coupled with their warmth, enthusiasm and interest, results in an experience which could only be described as first class.

To Laurent - Our heartfelt gratitude to you and your great team of staff for a wonderful stay at your Riad, and for everything you did to make it one of our most enjoyable and interesting holidays ever.

Gosia.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gosia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Dear Gosia, Dear Jonathan,

Thank you so much for such a touching message, it goes straight to our hearts, no words would be able to describe the pleasure we had in receiving you at Riad Al Badia. It was a delight to see you discovering our culture and delicious to see you going outside the beaten tracks. We are extremely honoured to have been able to meet you. We will remind our discussions as precious ones, another wondeful and rich chapter on the great book of Riad Al Badia ! Just take care of both of you and hopefully we will see you again at some stage. Our best wishes. The all team of Riad Al Badia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    27
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
77
334
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here for a few days in August. The service is 2nd to none. Lovely place to stay, nice ambiance. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Great food. Good location aswell and a staff member escorted us into the main square on our first day so we could find our way around the area and also gave us some good tips. Would certainly recommend and would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HJohnsonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Manager at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Hannah, Dear Mark,

Thank you so much for your stay and for such a lovely message. We were delighted to receive you and we are pleased to know that your went back home safely. It was a great pleasure meeting you, We keep a nice souvenir of your stay among us and we hope to see you again soon... who knows ! You will always be welcome to Riad Al Badia.
Take care,

The all team of Riad Al Badia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

What a welcome we recieved on our early evening arrival with mint tea and local pastries. We pre arranged transfer through the Riad from the airport which was hassle free and pre booked evening meal which cost around 18euros each and was very nice indeed!
We had the top terrace room which was very bijou but lovely and clean with breakfast served every morning on the terrace, I was awoken every morning by the sound of bird song which in swear was in french! beautiful.
Laurent couldn't have been more helpful and hospitable sitting with us before dinner providing a map of the local places of interest and circling them out as well as arranging to meet us the following day so he could accompany us part of the way to the local square..
The Riad is very quiet and relaxing with no tv or music which just suited us fine, it felt like it was our very own and we were invited to treat it that way which we did. There were other tousrists arriving for a few days and it was nice to have a few words with the travellers who came from all over the world even if the communication could be brief because of language barriers, we all understood this Riad was a peacefull haven to be enjoyed and loved by all who visited.
The biggest surprise came when on the eve of my birthday after arriving back early afternoon from the market was presented with a key for the biggest room for the remainder of our stay and a lovely chilled bottle of wine on ice served on the terrace with a single rose and carefully selected letter of sentiment which was such a lovely touch.We hadn't told them them about this but the date had been taken from my passport.
Nothing was ever too much trouble and we were treated like royalty.
I didn't want to leave this retreat and was quite tearfull as we were leaving, even that couldn't have been a more friendly farewell with Laurent and Abdelhak accompaning us to the taxi.
Overall i would recommend the Riad Al Badia to anyone who is looking for a retreat in a peacefull location away from the busy souks and square which is a straight walk about 15 mins away.
A special thankyou to Abdelhak, Nora,Mhedi and mohamed who without their attention to detail and providing such personalisation would not have made this holiday as wonderful as it was. definately one of our best holidays. Angela & Gordon Fife Scotland

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelabolsover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear Angela, Dear Gordon,
Thank you so much for such a lovely message, it was a delightful for us to receive you at Riad Al Badia. It has been very emotional to meet both of you and we will keep a sweet souvenir of your stay at Riad Al Badia. Once again thank you for all your kindness and interest in Marrakech and our culture. Maybe we will see you again next year for your next birthday ! We wish you and Gordon all the best and Riad Al Badia remains your "oasis home" in Marrakech. You will always be home.
Our best wishes and thank you again for everything,

Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Overall we had a lovely stay at the Riad. I went with my girlfriend and stayed 3 nights.

The service was perfect, the staff always nice and extremely helpful recommending the best places to visit, shop and eat.

We were received with Moroccan Mint Tea and typical Moroccan pastries which is always a plus after a trip. The breakfast was the best I ever had in a Hotel, and I've stayed in 5* star hotels before. Fresh pancakes, freshly baked bread, several delicious artisan jams, honey, butter, cheese, fresh squeezed orange juice and delicious Moroccan Mint Tea. I would honestly comeback just for it.

The rooms were clean and welcoming. With typical Moroccan decor, a comfy bed and lovely artisan shampoos, creams and oil with nice scents like citrus.

The hotel is well located so it will take you 10 to 20 mins max to anywhere inside the Medina. It also provides transportation from and to the airport.

About the city it was a different experience with lots ups and downs. Which is to be expected since it's a very different culture. I recommend eating at Jemaa el Fna square and drinking lots of sweet Orange juice or Tea which cost only 0,05€ a Glass. For dinner try a nice restaurant with an upper view of the square. Visits to the Majorelle Gardens, Park Arsat Moulay Abdel Salam, Ben Ali Yusuf Madrasa and El Bahia Palace are a must. On the other hand beware of fake guides around the city that try to take you to stores of their families and force you to buy stuff instead of guiding you were you want to go. Barter hard when buying from the souks. Do the same with taxis but always agree to a price before entering to avoid surprises. A suggestion for all deals you make, make them write the prices in paper before the deals so they can't tell you that you didn't understand them correctly and that the price is Higher.

The next time I travel to Morocco I will easily choose Riad Al Badia for my stay again.

Room Tip: All nice and comfy, I suggest you ask to see a couple since the decor is different from room to room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank João Paulo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Good evening,

We feel so touched that so long time later you remind Riad Al Badia so well and the experience we had all together receiving you here in last December. Thank you so much.

We did not forget you either, we keep a nice souvenir of your stay "on the roof" !

We hope you are both well and we hopefully will see you again soon. Whenever you will always be more than welcome.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had a lovely stay here. The staff could not have been more helpful and accomodating. We stayed for a week, the rooms were comfortable and the air-conditioning was very welcome. Our every wish was catered for, meals and drinks provided,- breakfast on the roof- terrace with freshly squeezed orange juice and home-made yoghurt.
We were given advice about which sites to visit, how to get there and how much to expect to pay, (very useful in Marrakesh). The riad is pretty centrally located, about 15 minutes walk from the Djemaa el Fna square. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennieMSNorfolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Dear Jennie,

Thank you for such a lovely message, we are pleased to know that you are all well and back home.

Thank you for your stay, this was again an other nice meeting, The interest of Sophie for our culture and your kindness will remain in our memories and our heart.

We were delighted to receive you and hopefully we will see you again soon in Marrakech, you are always home at Riad Al Badia.

Any time, it will be an other great pleasure for us to receive you.

Thank you again,

We wish you all the best for you and your all little family and we send you a bit of our so good Moroccan Sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

As a female traveller I'd highly recommend this Riad. It is extremely well presented, the hosts are fantastic (make it your home....and we did), the room was lovely, plunge pool well needed after some hot days and breakfast on the terrace highly recommended. But the most important thing about this Riad is it's location...near the Palace Badii, a short walk to the main square, souks, tourism highlights, but most importantly it's just off a main thoroughfare so you don't get lost, have to walk through small side streets at night and you feel really safe. Would highly recommend a stay here to experience wonderful morrocon hospitality.

Room Tip: just ask - we got what we were looking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalgoorliekid1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend back in February and it was truly an amazing place to stay.

Hotel Staff: The staff at the Riad work incredibly hard and the level of customer service is equal to that of a five star hotel. When we arrived we were served tea and home made pastries and given a map with all the best places to see etc. We were even escorted to the night market. Nothing is too much trouble! They also organised a taxi back to the airport - cheaper and easier than trying to hail one yourself.

Rooms: The rooms are immaculate. They are cleaned every day and are spotless. The rooms have a traditional Moroccan feel with lovely design features. Fresh flowers and complimentary water are provided daily. Beds are huge and comfortable- guaranteed a good night sleep.

Food: We had dinner in the Riad and it was probably the best meal we had- traditional Moroccan cooking. If you are staying here than I highly recommend that you eat at least one meal here. Breakfasts too were delicious- a selection of bread, pastries, yoghurt and amazing fresh orange juice.

Location- central location, all the main sites just a few minutes walk away and peaceful in the evenings.

The Riad also has a lovely sun terrace on the roof- our room was just off this terrace and we were served breakfast here and chilled out here in the afternoon.

I think that's about it!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allyluder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
224 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 500 in Marrakech
800 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 500 in Marrakech
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#35 of 500 in Marrakech
815 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#13 of 500 in Marrakech
886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#28 of 500 in Marrakech
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Property: Riad Al Badia
Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss | Berrima, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Badia is located in the southern part of the Medina, in the district of Berrima, the district of the storks and the palaces. Riad Al Badia offers six rooms of three different categories, a lounge, a dining room, a patio with refreshing bassin -swimming pool and two terraces. Riad Al Badia offers a Moroccan experience through its hospitality, the opportunity to discover our oriental culture, our traditional and fresh home-made Moroccan cuisine at «La Table Al Badia» but also the traditional Moroccan materials, such as bejmat, zellij or tadelakt used in the decoration of Riad Al Badia and finally, we do provide a daily assistance to let you apprehend Marrakech and Southern of Morocco. Staying at Riad Al Badia is to discover and to experience the genuine Morocco where the "Tailor-Made" service is our daily philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK) and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing