We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service and value for money.”
Review of Riad Al Badia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Al Badia
Ranked #10 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed for just one night in January 2012. Laurent and the team were superb and gave us some superb suggestions for a one-day sightseeing trip round the City. The welcome we received was as you would expect at a top class hotel, nothing was a problem and they made us feel at home within minutes. They even took the time to walk us out for 15 mins to help us locate the Riad later in the day. Our room on the top floor was spotless and traditionally decorated and had really sensible features. Breakfast on the roof was perfect and the home made cakes/bread were awesome.

I can't recommend this place highly enough. So many hoteliers could learn a thing or two from this place, I have to say all our expectations were exceeded and we left wishing we had booked for so much longer.

Exceptional service, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sotonkona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

Dear Tom,
We all would like to thank you for such a lovely message, we have been very touched that you still remember Riad Al Badia after few months. We all wish to thank you for your very short stay but even so, we did not forget you and you remains in our memories. We hope that everything goes well for both of you and hopefully we will have the pleasure of receiving you again soon and even for longer ! You are home at Riad Al Badia, you know this. Take good care of both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent a total of five nights here, in two different rooms. The heat was unbearable and so was the traffic and smog of the city, but getting back to the Riad every afternoon and waking up to a marvelous breakfast was just fantastic. Yes, the standard and superior rooms are a little small, but the service is absolutely first class and we had several fantastic meals cooked by the Riad's superb chef. And even the ground floor room was quiet enough. The whole staff and the manager were perfect. Regarding the Medina, it is hard to navigate, but just the first time. Once you are shown the way and figure out your landmarks, it is actually hard to get lost.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rahal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

My dearest,
We all would like to thank you for your kind message and we are all pleased to have received you at Riad Al Badia, it was a great pleasure having you among us these few days. You entered our memories and we hope to see you again at the riad, you will always be welcomed whenever you are in Marrakech. Take good care of both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This is a fantistic Riad, Located inside the Medina and as with all these up some interesting small alley ways. Just a short walk to the main square, souks, shops and resturants.
The accomodation is excellant, clean, well serviced and has all the expected facilities.
The staff were very attentive, knowledgable, friendly and could not do enough for us. They always seen to have time for us and when we arrived spent time to explain the city and facilities around the Medina. My wife had her 60 birthday when we were there and the provided a card and small birthday present. The staff's english and French was excellant. I would very highly recommend this to anyone and we will be returning next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lugs_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear Sir,
We all wish to thank you for such a lovely message, we are all pleased that you arrived safely home. It was a pure delight having you at the riad to celebrate this 60th birthday. Thank you for your interest and your kindness with everyone of us during these few days at the riad, and you are home at Riad Al Badia, we hope to see you again soon. Take good care of both of you and we wish you all the best for the nearest future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We've had hard time finding this riad (as with most others in medinas) - it's rather close to the parking but the roads are not in the TomTom GPS, and spelling may be different from the web-site or staff directions. After you've found it you appreciate the location - close to Palais Bahia and Palais El Badi, just 15 mins walk to Jamaa El Fna.

The Riad itself is recently refurbished, but lacks character as a result. The room on the top floor was tiny, with a closet-like bathroom but very clean. Use earplugs for sleeping - the night prayer will most certanly wake you up otherwise. They also have a small pool downstairs and sun lounges on the top floor.

The staff was very helpful. Laurent has met us near Berrima Mosque and escorted to the property, the hotel manager has given us a thorough description of the nearby places to visit and suggested a few we did not pencil in ourselves, and escorted us there after it became clear we were frustrated with initial navigation experience.

Room Tip: Go for the first floor if you want a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I_R_Banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for your comment on the all team. As I said you when you arrived a bit exhausted after driving around to find the riad, with your wife sick, it would have been so easier if you would have contacted us prior to your arrival. When we have the contact of our guests we will send them a standard mail with the all information on airport transfers, directions to come to the riad and dinners. When we know what time you are arriving we are there to receive you, a simple call from your car to say that you do not find your way, we can send you our driver, I sometime go with my own car and meet you wherever you are and show you the way to come to the riad.
Morocco, Marrakech, is a different culture, a different world than Russia or London, a different world to discover, and this is what holidays are all about, isn’t it ?
To be different does not mean difficult, it can be difficult when we try to do like home in such a different country with a different organization.
Our medinas in Morocco are the old cities, historical and authentical, full of small streets, most of them we even don’t know the names because we will not use the names, so this is not really compliant with a GPS, and this is true, GPS is not yet all reliable in Morocco, not yet updated to this technology, we are organized on people and we rely on people.
As operator of tourism this is our duty to provide you with the keys that will open doors to the understanding of such a different culture and organization. As you said truly, we are located at less than 1 minute walk from a driving road which makes things even easier, when you know, this is why we do accompany our guest for 5 minutes the first time they go out of the riad, and on the spot they recognize that this is very easy.
Once again we cannot recommend enough that our future guests contact us in order to inform us when they arrive, how they will come, we will propose the easiest way to come, with our local knowledge.
I do believe that a 1 night stay in a standard room, our smallest category of room, arriving later than expected having lost time in looking around, is probably not the best conditions to appreciate and experiment what we do wish to provide our guests on the everyday basis.
I would like to say again in the name of the all team, that we really appreciated your very short stay at the riad, we feel a bit frustrated also not to have been given the opportunity to prevent you from experimenting lost of time on arrival, not to have been given more time to make you discover and appreciate your stay at the riad, we hope than we will have the opportunity to receive you another time, now you know the way and you will always be more than welcome to enjoy our experience in a larger room such as superior double room or Junior Suite as you probably were expected a larger room than the standard room you booked on your own. Next time, please contact us, speak to us on what your expectations are, as professional of tourism & hotel industry you can count on us to do anything to make your dreams come true, we just need to know what your dreams are.
A short mail, a telephone call we are always here to assist and make sure that you get the best of your holidays. This is costless.
We all hope that your wife recovered completely by now and once again you will always be welcome at the riad, a bit longer if possible to experiment our “taylor made” service. Take good care of both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I stayed 4 nights at this very nice hotel and could confirm every single positive remark made by previous reviewers about Riad Al Badia. It is conveniently located, close to most of the city attractions, a few steps from Palais Bahia and Palais El Badi and not far from the famous Place Jemaa el fna. Its rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated. It is quite a privilege to have breakfast at its lovely terrace, with a beautiful view to the mountains and to the mosque of Koutoubia. The hotel staff is incredibly helpful, kind and efficient, they assisted us in every single need, from reserving places in restaurants to explaining basic things about the city (it was our first time in Morocco). An unforgettable experience of hospitality and an excellent introduction to the country.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigriParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Dear Sir,
I thank you so much for such a touching message. We all wish to thank you for your stay with us during these few days and the wonderfull moments shared. We remember your delicacy and your curiosity in discovering our culture and country, this was a pure delight to share with our our love for Morocco, Marrakech and our everyday way of life. Thank you so for everything, and we definitely hope to see you again soon, we miss all these warm moments ! Take good care of both of you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Our visit to Marrakech was made very special by our stay at Riad Badia. Our host, Laurent, couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The riad is quite lovely, and our room very comfortable. The terraces, where we had a delicious breakfast, and public spaces were wonderful, and the service by the efficient staff was unfailingly excellent. The riad is well-located in its proximity to good restaurants and sites. We will definitely recommend it to our friends!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

My dearest Patricia,
How can I thank you for your lovely message. We all would like to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia, once again, it was a pure delight. Right from our first mail contacts I knew this will be another nice story to add in the great book of Riad Al Badia, and it was indeed. All your kindness, your interest, your smiles to everyone of us everyday was just a memorable experience. We were so pleased to share our culture with you and we are so honoured you liked Marrakech and Morocco, once again, we would like to express you heartfelt gratitude and we wish to see you again ! Whenever, you will always be more than welcome. Take good care of both of you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Everything everyone else has said on TripAdvisor reviews are all true. Riad Al Badia is a lovely place, the rooms are beautiful and tranquil. The service was charming, efficient and hospitable. Laurent Olier, Ahmed and his team provide outstanding hospitality and care. We travelled with our two young sons aged 12 and 10, who were treated with such kindness at Riad Al Badia. They were horrified to have flooded the courtyard when they used the plunge pool and were amazed that the the staff were so unconcerned. It is worth having at least one evening meal on the terrace as it is such a lovely experience and the food was lovely. The breakfasts are very good and served whenever you want it. We certainly hope to return and would recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech. It is very well located for key cultural sites to the south of the Medina and is easy walking distance to Djemaa el Fna.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SEAsiafan145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Dear Madam,
I thank you very much for your lovely message. We all would like to express our heartfelt gratitude for this fabulous meeting. We still remember you for so many reasons, your kindness, your delicacy, your interest in our culture, all the love that came out of your small family all the generous feelings and attentions you gave to everyone of us, it was a pure delight having you among us these few days. Icing on the cake, your two sons are so lovely, so well educated it was just an enchantment, they are still young and already true gentlemen. Congratulations and no word will be able to express our gratitude for this truly emotionnal experience and short story we shared with you four. So thank you again and take good care of the four of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 500 in Marrakech
1,060 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#8 of 500 in Marrakech
876 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 500 in Marrakech
1,837 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#9 of 500 in Marrakech
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss | Berrima, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £80 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Badia is located in the southern part of the Medina, in the district of Berrima, the district of the storks and the palaces. Riad Al Badia offers six rooms of three different categories, a lounge, a dining room, a patio with refreshing bassin -swimming pool and two terraces. Riad Al Badia offers a Moroccan experience through its hospitality, the opportunity to discover our oriental culture, our traditional and fresh home-made Moroccan cuisine at «La Table Al Badia» but also the traditional Moroccan materials, such as bejmat, zellij or tadelakt used in the decoration of Riad Al Badia and finally, we do provide a daily assistance to let you apprehend Marrakech and Southern of Morocco. Staying at Riad Al Badia is to discover and to experience the genuine Morocco where the "Tailor-Made" service is our daily philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing