We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing from start to finish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Al Badia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Al Badia
Ranked #22 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
london
2 reviews
“Absolutely amazing from start to finish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed at the Riad only this month and for someone who never writes reviews I simply had to glow and praise how amazing our stay was at this Riad. Laurent and his team are without a doubt the hostess with the mostess, they were simply delightful. From the minute we walked in from the crazy ongoings of the city, everything was cool and immaculate. The mint tea and pastries refreshing and the room really giving a sense of the Moroccan theme. For dinner we had a set menu and everything so delicious on top of there roof terrace. We were cared for so well and in addition had organised an english speaking guide for us around Marrakech who was simply brilliant and couldnt recommend enough. My mother hasnt stopped chatting about it since we have got home so thank you once again to Laurent and his brilliant team for such a wonderful stay, I only wish we had more time. Katie and Sue

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Ladies,
I thank you for your lovely message and we all would like to thank you for your stay. What can we say ? It was a very short stay, but so intensive stay. From our first contacts by mail until you left the riad, it was a pure delight. Our official guide did also express how he enjoyed the visit with both of you, for your true interest in our culture and in our . Thank you so much for everything you gave us. We hope to see you again soon at Riad Al Badia. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    27
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
75
324
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hungerford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

My wife and I visited the Riad al Badia to celebrate her birthday and I can honestly say our stay was fantastic. We chose to stay at this Raid due to the glowing reviews on trip advisor and it surpassed expectations.

On arrival we were greeted by the general manager Ahmed who took care of all our belongings and gave as a detailed description of what we needed to know to get the most out of our visit; he even walked us half way to the main square to ensure we had our bearings before letting us use the map he provided to explore the city.

The Riad is only a 10 minute walk from the main square and is easy to get back to due to is close proximity to a local palace. There are local shops round the corner for any extras needed such as bottled water. There are only 6 rooms so the staff always have time to attend to your needs. We stayed in a room on the 1st floor which was immaculate and cleaned daily. Each morning we were served a Moroccan breakfast of pastries, yogurt and drinks; the mint tea was a highlight and so since our visit the owner Laurent sent us the recipe.

There is a cooling pool in the main reception which is heavenly after a few hours in the Moroccan heat. We didn't use the restaurant as we were so close to town but I'm sure the quality would match everything else at the Riad. Ahmed was also able to arrange a visit to the Atlas mountains for us which is well worth seeing if you have the time.

The highlight of our trip was the work by the Riad staff to surprise my wife with a flower display, sweets and drinks to celebrate her birthday; we can't thank Laurent and his team (Samira, Amal, Hanane, Fatima, Ahmed, Abdelhadi, Ahmed) enough for making our visit so special and I highly recommend this to anyone who visits Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aidy_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Sir,
I thank you very much for such a touching message, we are all heartflet gratefull for your stay at Riad Al Badia and we would like to thank you also for having chosen Riad Al Badia to celebrate such an important event.
We are pleased that you know how to make the traditionnal Moroccan Mint Tea now, you have a bit of Morocco with you home ! Once again, thank you for everything your gave us everyday, it is precious for us and you will stay in our memories.and we hope to see you again soon. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

This Riad on the outskirts of the main square was amazing. We stayed for a week and decided on Al Badia due to the reviews on here. You will not be disappointed when you stay here. We had one of the first flights into Marrakech and was picked up by a driver (all arranged by the riad) and taken down an unassuming alley to the road. Once inside we were greeted by a host of friendly staff and were made to feel at home instantly. We were shown around the riad and then sat down and given mint tea and pastries and advised on what we should see, they even walked us to the main square and pointed out the best way to get to places. The staff booked all of our day trips for us. I really cannot praise this riad and the team behind it enough. We has such an amazing time and I look forward to staying there again very soon

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Sir,
We all would like to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia for this week you spent in Marrakech. We would like to thank you for your smiles everyday, your kindness with everyone of us and your interest in Marrakech. We hope to see you again soon it will be a great pleasure to renew this experience ! Take good care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

This little Riad was really fantastic. We stayed for 2nights and have no complaints at all!
The staff went out of their way to be helpful and the little intro talk was an invaluble bonus. I hgad emailed when we booked to request information on public transport to Agadir, the staff not only provided clear advice and a copy of the schedule but went to the depot and collected our tickets ready for when we arrived, this was a big help.
We opted for the hotel pick up which (although more expensive than a taxi) was ideal and in hindsight probably necessary, the Riad is a little off the beaten track and would be tricky to find on your arrival. When we went out and about for the first time we were taken to the first main square and the guy pointed out little shops to use as landmarks and we had no trouble finding our way to and from for the rest of the trip.
Initially we were slightly concerned as our room was on the ground floor next to reception and the pool, thankfully these concerns were unnecessary. We slept perfectly well and had no issues with noise or privacy.
Breakfast on the roof terrace was simply the icing on the cake and a lovelt relaxing start to the day.
I feel very guilty I cannot remember the name of the one guy who helped us with everything but all the staff were great. And I will actively encourage all my friends and family to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Madam,
I thank you very much for such a lovely message. Ahmed (The Riad Manager) who received you and his all team were so pleased to receive you at Riad Al Badia for your discovery of Marrakech before going to Agadir. It was a pure delight having you these few days. We keep a warm souvenir of your stay and we hope that you enjoyed Agadir as much as Marrakech. Thank you again for everything and we hope to see you again soon. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Anyone looking at the reviews for this Riad may have noticed that it is very highly praised, and for good reason, I can only echo and add to the sentiments of previous reviews….

My husband and I visited Marrakech to celebrate my 40th Birthday, and we chose Riad al Badia because it sounded amazing……It was!
From the moment we arrived to the second we (sadly) left Laurent and his team did everything possible and more, to ensure our visit to his Riad and to his city of Marrakech was an unforgettable and fantastic experience.
When the front door opens and a delicious waft of scented oils caress your senses, we knew that this was definitely the place for us - it is calm and serene the moment you walk in, a haven from the heat and crowds in the Medina.
The Riad is spotlessly clean and very tastefully appointed with great attention to detail; the décor is contemporary Moroccan.
It is very well situated for all the sights of the Medina. It is approximately a 10-minute walk to Jemaa el Fna, and the Souks with fascinating sights, smells and sounds along the way. 5 minute walk to El Badi Palace, Place des Ferblantiers, and about 7 minutes to Bahia Palace and the Mellah.
But what really makes Riad Al Badia outstanding is the excellent customer service; from the first moment when we arrived to a very warm and friendly greeting accompanied by Moroccan Mint tea and little pastries, and a divine Moroccan evening meal prepared by Samira. (We highly recommend you dine at the Riad, by pre-arrangement, the food is delicious and the ambience of dining on the rooftop terrace is lovely)

We stayed in the Emeraude room, on the Terrace floor; it opened directly onto the terrace where we had breakfast each morning. The room was very clean, simple and elegantly furnished, the bed was very comfortable, and we had a safe too. The bathroom was delightful, quite traditional sink unit, lots of lovely toiletries, with little wooden double doors leading into it, the shower was large and very good, always hot.

Breakfast consisted of breads and pastry items; and an absolutely delicious home made yoghurt – which was my highlight! Freshly squeezed orange juice, mint tea and regular tea and very good coffee. It was quite a simple breakfast, but for me it was more than enough, particularly as you don’t tend to want lots of stodgy food when it’s very hot.

On our first morning, Laurent The Manager gave us a very comprehensive lesson and map of the main sights, he spent time explaining where things were, what there was to see, what to expect in different situations, he also was able to tell us about various restaurants and eateries. This was followed by Laurent accompanying us on a walk to Place des Ferblantiers, to help us orientate ourselves with the maze of alleyways! Can you seriously imagine any hotelier in the UK or anywhere in Europe taking the time to personally help you find your way round, and feel at ease in their city?
It is abundantly clear that Laurent loves his city, and his ‘job’ – he even said that his job is like being on holiday everyday! He and his team all take a great pride in ensuring you are well looked after at the Riad and enjoy your experience, his enthusiasm and knowledge for his city can not help but enthuse and inspire you to see as much of Marrakech as possible whilst you are there.
Each morning as we left genuine enquires were made as to plans for the day, followed by nuggets of advice and tit-bits of information not found in guidebooks, which ensured all our forays were excellent experiences. Upon returning to the Riad, we were always met with warm greetings and smiles, from everyone.

We would have absolutely no hesitation in highly recommending this Riad to anyone wishing to stay in Marrakech. Riad al Badia is not only a beautiful Riad – there are I’m sure many beautiful Riads in Marrakech. This one shines like a jewel in Aladdin’s cave because of the attention to detail and the genuine care and interest shown by Laurent and his team – Ahmed, Samira, Amal, Hanane, Ahmed, Abdellah & Fatima

Room Tip: We had a terrace room which was lovely - it was compact but well appointed, and we loved that it ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twiga_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Ahmed, the all team and I deeply thank you for such a lovely message, it went straight to our hearts. This is again once again, one of these very special meeting, that will remain in memories and make us understand why we do love what we are doing everyday. We were all very glad to receive you at Riad Al Badia, your happyness, your kindness, your smiles everyday, your enthusiasm for Marrakech, our culture was such a delight. We all would like to express our heartfelt gratitude for your stay and for everything, you gave us so much.
Take good care of both of you and happy birthday again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

A real gem in the middle of the madness, oozes with charm and character. From the moment we arrived Laurent made us feel at home. Morroco is known for its hospitality but Laurent takes it to another level. Firstly, an introduction to Marrakesh with sights, places to visit, eat etc. Then Laurent accompanied us to the surrounding areas of the Riad so that we are well acquainted with the area. The breakfast was amazing although a slight variety would be most welcome. Have breakfast on the terrace, the views are amazing with the medina and the Atlas mountains. We stayed in the Emeraude room, clean and fresh. We had a slight problem with a shower blockage which was resolved immediately by Laurent and the team. Overall a fantastic Riad, would highly recommend Riad Al Badia to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawi786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Sir,
we all would like to thank you for this comment and for your stay at Riad Al Badia. We are so glad that you enjoyed your Moroccan experience and the Moroccan hospitality at Riad Al Badia. We all hope to see you again ain a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

I couldn't imagine a more perfect Oasis from which to explore the Medina of Marrakech.

The streets outside are bustling and frantic but step inside and you intantly relax and fall in love with the place!

Beautiful place and spotlessly clean.

We are a gay couple and had expected to have to act quite closeted on our trip to Marrakech. We were automatically given a double bed

and the staff didn't seem bothered in the slightest.

The room was basic and rustic but thouroughly charming and very comfortable.

One of our favourite parts of the stay was breakfast which was served right outside our bedroom door on the roof terrace. Such a

beautiful and tranquil setting sat in the morning sun. The breakfast was total carbicide washed down with mint tea, coffee and freshly

squeezed orange juice... awesome!

The staff were incredibly helpful with explantions of how to navigate the city and which sights were worth seeing!

Utterly delightful and I would definately return!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liamo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Sir,
We all would like to thank you for such a lovely comment, for your stays at Riad Al Badia. It was a great pleasure having you at the riad during these two stays. We will keep an elegant souvenir of your stay. Thank you for your kindness with everyone of us and you will be welcome at anytime. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#12 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#15 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#16 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Property: Riad Al Badia
Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss | Berrima, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Badia is located in the southern part of the Medina, in the district of Berrima, the district of the storks and the palaces. Riad Al Badia offers six rooms of three different categories, a lounge, a dining room, a patio with refreshing bassin -swimming pool and two terraces. Riad Al Badia offers a Moroccan experience through its hospitality, the opportunity to discover our oriental culture, our traditional and fresh home-made Moroccan cuisine at «La Table Al Badia» but also the traditional Moroccan materials, such as bejmat, zellij or tadelakt used in the decoration of Riad Al Badia and finally, we do provide a daily assistance to let you apprehend Marrakech and Southern of Morocco. Staying at Riad Al Badia is to discover and to experience the genuine Morocco where the "Tailor-Made" service is our daily philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing