We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Al Badia
Nearby Hotels
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$80
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palmeraie Palace(Marrakech)
US$234
US$208
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Du Golf(Marrakech)
US$231
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
US$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$189
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$514
US$401
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Riad El Sagaya(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$46
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$217
US$204
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$733
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveller rating
569
28
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
569
28
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis teammint teathe main squareroof terracethe hustle and bustlehomemade yogurtan oasismain sitesa wonderful stayeach morningatlas mountainsbreakfast was amazingrestaurant recommendationsplunge poollittle touchesmoroccan culturesaadian tombs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 605 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

What a great place to stay! Riad Al Badia is highly recommended, and we will certainly return when we visit Marrakech again.

Laurent, Saïd, Samira, Hanane, Fatima, Laïla, & Abdeljalil took any amount of trouble to make us feel comfortable and welcome, and to meet our every need and preference. We stayed for two nights in the Perle suite, which was very roomy and beautifully appointed. We then had two nights away trekking in the mountains, and returned to the smaller Corail room (the other being already booked), which was of course smaller and cheaper, but still roomy and still beautifully appointed. Both rooms were very good value for money.

The rooms all open off a central courtyard, with a cooling pool and fountain, and are air conditioned for maximum comfort in hot weather. Breakfast can be taken on the rooftop terrace, or in case of bad weather in a room off the courtyard below.

Breakfasts are a delight; with fresh juice, mint tea, coffee and black tea, five sorts of bread, three sorts of jam, butter, milk, homemade yoghurt, and fresh fruit. Breakfast is whenever you get up and want it! If you ask in the morning Samira will cook a wonderful dinner, that can also be eaten on the terrace and accompanied by very agreeable Moroccan wine. We had a tagine of beef and peas after an excellent selection of salads.

Laurent will arrange for you to be met at the airport or station and brought to the door. This is recommended or else it will be very hard to find the way, even a random taxi driver is likely not to know. But once there it is easy to find your way on foot to the sights of Marrakech and find your way home. Laurent will orient you by walking you half way to Jemaa el Fna pointing out the landmarks. After two days I knew it so well I was able to direct our driver as we came back from the mountains.

The riad is near Berrima Mosque; Jemaa el Fna, the ruined Badii Palace, the beautiful Bahia Palace, the famous tombs, the souk, the medina and some excellent restaurants are all within easy walking distance, and the walk is part of the fun. Marrakech is a great place, but a bit frenetic, and it was great to have a calm, quiet and peaceful spot so near to retreat to.

One of us had a bad time in the mountains, affected by the altitude and a nasty tummy-bug. Laurent was solicitude itself, and fussed over her like a mother, providing advice and medication that did wonders. She was soon absolutely fine. The comfort and calm of Riad Al Badia was a great help too of course.

Finally, Laurent obtained our train tickets for us and arranged for a taxi to the station - nothing was ever too much trouble.

I have no idea if other riads in Marrakech are good, bad or indifferent. I won't be finding out. After our great experience at Riad Al Badia it would be mad to stay anywhere else in Marrakech.

Room Tip: For us the modest extra price of the Perle Suite was good value. If you are a light sleeper and like to sleep late the rooms on the top floor open directly onto the terrace where the breakfast is served, so you could be disturbed if there are early-rising and noisy guests.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Sir,
I thank you for your absolutely divine review. The all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. Your interest for Marrakech, our culture, our cuisine were very much appreciated. This was another very nice meeting, I keep in memories our very interesting conversations. Thank you so for everything you gave us during these stays and we all hope to be able to receive you again in a not too far future. Take very good care of both of you and thank you again, we once again felt very privileged.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

You really cannot fault the wonderful service from Laurent and his friendly team and Laurent even took time to walk us to the first square so that we could orientate ourselves. He was most helpful and nothing was too much trouble, if he didn't know the answer to an enquiry then he did his best to use local knowledge to find out.
This small riad is very calm and generally quiet but remember these are old traditional buildings. The lovely terraces are extremely tranquil where you can watch the storks swirling overhead or enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. There is 24 hour service which was something we weren't expecting but were grateful for. .
The Al Badia provides lovely clean towels twice a day and lovely products for use in the shower. Lovely comfy bed too which was turned down every night.
Breakfast was traditional and we enjoyed it apart from the very hard toast! Plenty of hot drinks, fresh orange juice, homemade yogurt, tasty jams, Moroccan breads/cake and fresh fruit.
We loved the personal attention and Laurent speaks excellent English so there is no problem making yourself understood when he is on site but to be honest, as Morocco is a French speaking country, we considered this to be a bonus not an expectation.
Honestly, the service is unbelievably fantastic and the sense of calm seeps into your bones - make sure you stay more than one night for its spell to work.
Thank you Laurent and team.

Room Tip: The Coral room has a nice bathroom and is a decent size.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Apr1l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Madam,
What can I say after reading your absolutely very kind review, this went straight to my hearts and the all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay among us. It has been a pure delight to receive you and to see you discover our culture and our city. Thank you for all these privileged moments you offered us and let us share, I keep a very warm souvenir of our conversations too. So thank you so much for everything and we wish you all the best for the nearest future and hopefully it will bring you back to us soon. Take good care of both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I have have recently returned from a stay of 4 nights at the riad. We had a wonderful time which was made so by Laurent, Said and their team. They couldn't do enough for you and made you feel valued guests, I have never received such excellent service in a hotel. We stayed in the emerald room at the end of April, the room opened up onto a terrace which we particularly liked. I wouldn't hesitate in recommended you book here.

Room Tip: I think all the room here are good
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kmsessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Madam,
I thank you for this very nice review. We all would like to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia, it has been a great pleasure having you these few days at the Riad. Your enthusiasm, your interest in Marrakech and your extreme kindness with everyone of us was much appreciated. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future and we wish you all the best. Take good care of both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed as a couple for one night in April, on our first night in Morocco. After a long journey and the introduction to the general craziness of Marrakesh quite late in the evening, I could not have been happier than to be welcomed by Said at the beautiful Riad al Badia. From the moment we walked through the door, everything became calm again as we sat with our tea just soaking up the peaceful surroundings. Said went out of his way to help us with orientation, both of the Riad and the surrounding streets, giving great advice and making sure we felt safe and looked after. The next morning, we had a wonderful breakfast on the terrace and Laurent was extraordinarily helpful making sure that we got a taxi who knew where we were going and would carry our bags. We only stayed one night as we were travelling around, but I definitely could have stayed for longer.

Room Tip: The ground floor room is extremely comfortable, but if you are staying longer than just one night, you might want to choose a bigger suite.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Madam,
I thank you for this very kind review, Saïd and the all team join me to express you our gratitude for staying 1 night at Riad Al Badia. It has been very quick but was a nice meeting for all of us. We all wish to see you again a bit longer soon and we wish you all the best. Thank you again and take good care of both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We are a family of four and stayed at the Riad Al Badia for 5 nights altogether (2 nights, then a 5 day tour to the desert and then another 3 nights) and we absolutely loved it!! From the moment we walked in, Laurent and his team could not do enough to help us - including arranging our taxi's, getting hold of some African music that we'd said we'd liked and even filling in our departure forms so that we didn't have to do it at the airport! Nothing was too much trouble and they always went the extra mile! Our children are 8 and 9 and all the staff were so kind to them - they were sad to leave. The Riad itself was very tastefully and beautifully presented, our room of a high quality and the food delicious! We'd particularly recommend ordering the evening meal. We are vegetarian and the chef came up with an amazing meal that was one of the best that we had in Morocco. It was also only a 10 minute walk to the main square so very convenient to pop back to the Riad when we needed to. We can't recommend this Riad highly enough - if you want to experience amazing hospitality that is often lacking in your standard hotel then the Riad Al Badia is the place to come! Well done Laurent and the team!

Room Tip: Ask for the junior suite on the first floor as it is spacious and quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank highflyers108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Madam,
I thank you so much for this lovely review that went straight to our hearts. We all would like to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It has been a great pleasure meeting you and your delightful family. Your interest in our Culture, our country, our cuisine and our music were very much appreciated. We were also very impressed by the perfect education of your children they were just the icing on the cake. Thank you ever so much for everything you gave us, it has been a pure delight and we wish you all, all the best for the nearest future and hopefully it will bring you back to Marrakech. Take good care of all of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews