We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
Ranked #399 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We had an airport pickup service from the hotel, witch was great since we arrived late in Marrakesh.

Location:
Superb, couldn't be more central.

Room:
Beautiful building, the room was ok. Small bathroom with wooden door that was difficult to open and close, a little bit embarrassing to use is you travel with a friend :-)
The bathroom drain smelled very bad, and so did the hole room if we let bathroom doors open.
There was no cleaning during the four nights we where there. So we had to ask for new toilet paper ourselves.

Breakfast:
Simple breakfast on the roof terrace. There was one guy to serve breakfast and it was a little slow. Most of the morning's it didn't matter but when we had an appointment for a pickup to follow a course, it did. We were just on time!

Service:
Nice guy at the desk. He answered kindly to all our questions.
And even gave us 100 dirhams back because we had payed to much to the first receptionist.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schelleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

Hotel Cecil was great. When you come to Marrakech, be sure to go to the main square and then the first little alley on the right side will take you to Cecil. Do not listen to the guys that want to show you the way while walking on the street because somehow their national hobby is to point people to the wrong direction :) funny but true, at least for us! The breakfast setting is like you're in a fairytale; you drink your freshly squeezed orange juice while watching the main square's awakening. Will be back for sure ;)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed in Hotel Cecil for 3 nights. We had a room in the second part of the hotel, the one without the palm tree :). It was clean, comfy and welcoming. I particularly liked the Marrakech-specific painted bathroom door. The breakfast was served on the terrace on top of the hotel and was very yummy.
Receiving by email the travel indications and map for finding the hotel was very helpful.

All in all it was great value for the price we payed.
Thank you Hotel Cecil!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreea_Narita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

A great choice of Riad for those on a budget - the room was quite basic (and cold during the winter night) but perfectly adequate for the price. Breakfast on the terrace was good, and the location is great if you're looking to be in the heart of things - it's right on the doorstep of the main square!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulSBurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Great location, good rooms w/ breakfast at a very good price. Fully recommended for travelleres on a budget

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertaJimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The location couldn't be better if you want to be near the square. There is a view from the terrace and there are souks and restaurants right next door. We stayed in the newer part of the hotel (Cecil II) for one night and found it to be a good value.

The rooms have sinks in them but community toilets and showers were very clean. I had a moment of panic when I couldn't get the water in the sink to turn off before my fiance finally got the faucet knob turned all the way. There was hot water in the shower but not in the room. Wireless internet worked well.

The bedsheets didn't seem clean, as I found some small debris when I turned the sheets down. There was also no heater in the room. When I asked the front desk about this, he told me that Moroccans never have heating inside and that I was only cold because I was used to having it. Every other hotel and hostel we stayed at in Morocco had space heaters.

Overall, a decent place for the price and location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My brother and I stayed at Hotel Cecil for a total of 3 nights, and we were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff, the location, and the great breakfast every morning. The rooms were simple, but provided everything we needed. The best part of Hotel Cecil, however, is the centrality to Djemaa El Fna. The hotel's placement on a small side street meant that it was quiet, and the interior design of the courtyards was lovely. I will definitely stay here again in the future!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are quietest; not all rooms have heating and/or air conditioning, so make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#351 of 501 in Marrakech
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#115 of 501 in Marrakech
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#324 of 501 in Marrakech
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#312 of 501 in Marrakech
117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#268 of 501 in Marrakech
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#197 of 501 in Marrakech
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cecil Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cecil Marrakech

Address: Derb Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech 400000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #399 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £17 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cecil Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing