We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real pleasure true taste of Marrakech”
Review of Riad Yamsara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Yamsara
Ranked #523 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was our first trip to Morocco and we were not disappointed. We arrived at night and were dropped off by the airport minibus and lead down a narrow alley by the rep, we were a bit unsure what to expect, dark ,narrow alleys & scooters racing around.
Don't be worried what a jem. Once inside the Riad there was a warm welcome from the managers, a lovely couple who showed us to our rooms, which were clean and very comfortable. We were advised that if we went out that night we'd probably get lost as it was so late, so we took the advice and stayed in the Riad.
Next morning around 5am the prayer alarm go's off from the neighbouring Mosque :-):-) bit of a shock but soon went back to sleep we had breakfast on the roof terrace in the morning sun, which was great as was the food all freshly cooked and delicious.
The advice we were given about getting lost come true ,we like going off the beaten track and did get lost but enjoyed finding our way back though all the alleys after an hour or two :-D:-D.
If you want a clean, comfortable, Riad full of culture and delicious fresh home cooked food this Riad won't disappoint.      
You have to have at least one evening meal, Iman's cooking is amazng.
We will be planning our next trip around the availability of rooms at this Riad.
Just one last thing french, is their first language but the manager does speak some english and was very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank walkaboutred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Riad Yamsara
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Having booked nearly four weeks in advance I was extremely disappointed to receive an email on the afternoon of Christmas Day informing that there was a problem with the reservation made for three rooms for 5 nights for the following day ie 24 hours notice. Somewhat disingenously the reason given at first was that we had tried to book a room for 4 people which was never the case having specifically requested three rooms in the first place.

I had also written to request a meal on arrival which had willingly been confirmed a fortnight before our arrival date and I also mentioned three rooms for 4 people as well as the dates we were staying.

After some pushing and a phone call it transpired that the original booking had been declined by the riad on 3rd December but this had not made its way back up the rather convoluted booking chain operated by Thos Cook. If the meal request made direct to the riad on the 11th Dec and confirmed on 12th December had made it clear that there was a problem with the booking I could have understood the position but to leave it (deliberately ??) until Christmas Day to notify us the day before our arrival was inexcusable lack of courtesy and basic decency. The alternative accommodation booked on our behalf was not of the same standard (we were told that it was of a higher standard) and was in a worse location - thank you to Tripadvisor for being able to check out both points very quickly.

After three attempts on 25th December I was able to secure more appropriate accommodation elsewhere and regain control of the situation.

To cap it all we had even sorted out some items for the local school to bring with us - a good initiative as the previous review mentions - which we will now find a home for elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank JRAC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pierre093, Propriétaire at Riad Yamsara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014
Google Translation

Cet avis n’est pas conforme. Ce monsieur a eu un problème avec Thomas Cook. La réservation ne nous est pas parvenue. Quand il nous a contacté nous ne pouvions pas accepter sa réservation car complet. Notre personnel a néanmoins passé beaucoup de temps pour lui trouver un autre établissement pour l’accueillir. Il nous a même remercié par E-mail. Il n’a donc jamais séjourné dans notre riad et n’est pas apte à noter les différents thèmes.
This review is not consistent. This gentleman had a problem with Thomas Cook. The reservation is not received. When he contacted us we could not accept his book as complete. Our staff has nevertheless spent a lot of time to find another hotel to greet him. He even thanked us by e-mail. He has never stayed in our riad and is not able to note the various themes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stood in the riad Yamsara in December 2013 for nearly one week. It's a very nice place you really can feel comfortable. Mokhtar and his wife are very hospitable and friendly. They try to help you where they can.
Mokhtars wife is a fantastic cook, so don't miss to eat in the riad.
For the first time it could be difficult the find the riad. Therefore I would recommend to talk with Mokhtar about how to get there: you could meet at the entrance of the Palace El Bahia or ask if he could arrange a taxi for you from the airport (about 20,-Euro).
The very small street which leads to the riad might appear in the first moment unusual, but it's save.

The riad is placed in the centre of the Medina. It's an easy walk to the main square.

I wish you a nice trip to Marrakech,

Timm

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Timm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stay 03/04/13 to 10/04/13, booked through Thomas Cooks. Bed and Breakfast basis for two.

Riad Yamsara is a small family run riad and our hosts could not have been nicer. I originally picked this riad purely on location because I have impaired mobility and wanted to be as close as possible to the places I wished to visit.

How you react to Marrakech and the riad really depends on your travelling past. I will admit my first impression was not ideal and I feared I'd made a mistake-once I adjusted it all seemed normal. The riad has an entrance down a side alley in the Jewish quarter, you go through a dark vestibule and into a traditional courtyard (open to the elements) with rooms off this courtyard on ground and first floor levels. Our room was small, bare by western standards but kept very clean and absolutely serviceable. The shower was always hot and the toilet and hand basin clean. You can go on the roof but I was unable to manage the steep small steps so didn't go up there. There is a bit of noise at times from the call to prays as a speaker is nearby on the roof but again after the initial time it goes off its no more of a disturbance than the clattering of nearby nesting storks.

Breakfast was around 9am(ish) and consisted of tea, juices, various local flat breads, French pastries, pancakes, honey and jams. It was always fresh and you could have as much or little as you liked.

This riad scores on its location. Being in the Jewish quarter of the medina everything is close by. For anything further afield taxi's and horse drawn carriages are in a square a few yards from the Riad Yamsaras alley way.

You can ask for dinner and it costs around 40€ for two people for three courses. We were asked what we would like each time and the meals were very tasty. A particularly nice starter was a soup. Our hostess showed us it was traditionally eaten with dates because the sweetness of the dates brought out the spices in the Chickpea Soup. The tagines and portions could easily have done four people and my vegetarian preference was catered for without any difficulty. We had three dinners in the riad and the rest at various places around the night market on Jemaa el Fna square.

Finally, we had the use of our room up to the moment we left for our transfer to the airport which allowed us to enjoy our final morning of sight seeing knowing we could wash and change afterwards.

I would stay at the Yamsara again without any concerns but you have to accept that ideas are different in Marrakech. If you think Holiday Inn type hotels or B&Bs in this country are 'slumming it' then don't go to the Yamsara but if you can accept any type of accomdation that is clean and serviceable with friendly caring hosts then go! Enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank GemAlfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

A very nice place! Nice rooms and a wonderful terrace!
Good location, easy to find. Nicest hosts ever! And if you are unsecure, just call them and they will meet you at the bus station or where ever you are.
It´s a small familly running the riad and they where really very helpful. They showed us around in the neighborhood, where to find the best arganoil, the best shopping...!
Imam the houswife is a fantastic cook! She made us a great new year dinner, the best in Africa. We will be back!
Lisa Sweden

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hallebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pierre093, Responsable réception at Riad Yamsara, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour;

merci beaucoup d'avoir séjourner chez nous ; c'été vraiment un plaisir de vous acceuillir parmi nous !!!

dans le plaisir de vous revoir prochainement incha allah

Sincères salutations
l'équipe yamsara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This Riad is tucked away down an alley, it looks unprepossesing from the outside but is lovely inside. Decor is traditional, it maybe needs a lick of pain in certain area and the plumbing is interesting but plenty of hot water and spotlessly clean. It is run by a very friendly couple, breakfast is bread, pastries, jams, tea, coffee, orange juice. Lovely freash baked breads and cakes and traditional foods again. A short walk gets you to the Bahia Palace and a ten minute walk will get you to the main souk area and large central square. Really loved this place as it feels real but it is not for those who want immaculate, bland, hotel type accomodation with room service, fridge in your room etc etc.

Room Tip: If you are fit there is room on the roof terrace that looked lovely, it has a four poster bed!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Maggie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanessa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Nabila
Riad Dar Nabila
#291 of 501 in Marrakech
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Villa Harmonie
Riad Villa Harmonie
#268 of 501 in Marrakech
82 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Plein Sud
Riad Plein Sud
#137 of 1,160 in Marrakech
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Limoun Amara
Dar Limoun Amara
#534 of 1,160 in Marrakech
181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Ailen
Riad Ailen
#352 of 1,160 in Marrakech
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Le Marocain
Riad Le Marocain
#446 of 1,160 in Marrakech
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Yamsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Yamsara

Address: 35 Derb Tajer Hay Essalam | Marrakesh Médina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #523 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £32 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Yamsara 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast Yamsara is located in the heart of the Marrakesh medina, near palaces, 5 minutes walk from the Jemaa el Fna plaza. This delightful ochre and red residence has been fully restored while maintaining the traditional and purest Riad style. Guest rooms, 6 available for your comfort, a Moroccan living room and a roof top terrace surround a beautiful patio and give you a genuine marrocan experience. During your stay, the house host, Mokhtar, will be ensuring your comfort and provide you with any information you may need to discover the charm and the curiosities of the city. Imane, the hostess, will cook to your local culinary desires : couscous, tajine, pastilla, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Yamsara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing