We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to look at but no comfort!”
Review of Riad Hamdane & SPA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Hamdane & SPA
Ranked #190 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 2 May 2013

starting with the postive side:
- the staff was very friendly, polite and helpful
- the Riad was beautifully decorated in warm colours

negative side:
- we stayed in for a couple of nights in the Suite and one night in a standard room - both rooms were not satisfying
- we payed a lot of money for the Suite. Western price - but no western comfort. Now dont get me wrong. We chose the Riad because we like to have more authenticity + we are willing to scale down our expectations. Because we know that we are traveling into another country and fully respect the differences in standards. But if you - as the owner of the Riad - ask so much money for the room, I think its not acceptable to hang up my clearly visible dirty (!) towel (which I through down on the floor) back to its old place.

There were constructions going on right above our head. The NOISES in the morning were horrible and we couldnt sleep at all. Beside the construction you could hear everything going on around you so clearly. The door slamming, people talking, steps from outside and above your head (because the terrasse for breakfast was just above us). Maybe the noise is an result of the construction of the Riad - but still...no fun when you dont get a good sleep!

There were smells coming from the pipe in the washroom. The shower was (half)blocked & (half) broken. The water swashes on the floor. Far from the -as they called- "luxury massage shower"

Many little things that were annoying (especially when you are in you holliday and want to relax!). We were tired, couldnt sleep and didnt feel comfortable. Not worth its price!!!

- The standard room was even worse. No decoration, very dark, shower kind of gross.

- The breakfast was boring -EVERY day: bread, 2 marmalade, honey, cream cheese, 2pancakes, 1 piece of cake (at least there were great fresh orange juice + the staff was kindly bringing us omelette + tea)

All in all its a nice place to look at and the staff was friendly & polite. BUT no comfort. Its up to you whether you like to enjoy your holliday in comfort or you would give it up for a little pretty decoration.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SummerH0ney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

We had a lovely stay at this charming Riad. Staff were friendly and attentive and it was a nice touch to be offered tea on arrival. We commented that we wanted to eat out and did not know where to go...not a problem...we were promptly guided to a beautiful rooftop restaurant for a lovely meal. The riad is beautifully decorated and our room was spacious enough for the 5 of us and very quiet.
The riad is hard to find initially but conveniently located.
We had a wonderful stay here and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Excellent stay in this authentic, comfortable, friendly traditional and accommodating hotel which is a stones throw from the central square, the markets et al. Clean and comfortable with nice towels and free wi-fi. What more do you need? Oh do take a walk up to the rooftop terrace. Not THAT easy to find initialy down the maze of walkways. Get a really good map or get someone to show you (in return for a few Dihram).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We were offered mint tea when we reached. We had a room on the ground floor and it was not noisy. The room was nice and cosy but it's a pity there is no heater - I must admit though that the room wasn't too cold so we were fine without heater. The bathroom is nice and bright and we appreciate that a lot. There is a tv as well but there is no English channel which was a pity again. The riad is very near to the Djemma El-Fna, only about 2mins walk at most. It was a pleasant walk.

The staff were nice and once we wanted to order mint tea as we were not well and they gave it to us for free. The staff were always smiling and that made us feel welcome. One huge thing we appreciate is that they were not pushy.We ate out daily and they didn't mind that. Breakfast was nice but unfortunately there was a cat hanging around at the terrace and I'm afraid of cats. They were very kind and allowed us to have it at the courtyard. The staff serving the breakfast was also very nice and obliging. They were always helpful and answered our questions when we need help. The room was cleaned everyday and fresh towels given.

They had a performance for new year and asked us to join but we were not well so we stayed in our room instead. We highly recommend Riad Hamdane - it felt very homely. On the last day, they even help us get a person with a cart to carry our luggage. I would definitely stay here again if I'm in Marrakech. We stayed 4 nights here and felt it was too short. We love Marrakech and Riad Hamdane.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank the_spinsterella_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Quite near Jama El Fna square, the center of the old city of Marrakesh! This beautifully constructed Riad reminds its visitor the authenticity of the Moroccan civilization. For five days, I had the chance to have a panoramic view on the Jamae El Fna square while eating my breakfast on the terrace. A few minutes walking were enough for me and my family to reach the center of the city of Marrakech. The beauty of the city of Marrakesh and the quietness, emplacement, hospitality of the staff and furniture of the Riad are enough reasons for me to think about going back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Cartern1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

received with mint tea and some well made almond macaroons and by a staff that is just extraordinary. The location of the riad is great for those who want to explore the old Medina on the daytime or even go out and come back late at night. As I have been told, the place was renovated by its owners who chose a traditional decoration which gives it a very unique spirit. I highly recommend this riad because of its affordable price, excellent service, the professionalism of its staff, the comfort and the pleasant stay…

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Williams A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The place its the percect example of an arab house which became a guest house.
The rooms are clean and well decorated, when you came first time is an oasis of peace in the chaos of the city!
Its well situated because from here to Djemaa el Fna square it takes 3 minutes walk.
The staff is friendly and the hospitality is part of this people. And they can help you to organize some trips out of Marrakech...(to the desert,the coast,waterfalls in sourrunding aereas...)
Its very relaxing once you finish your day go to the terrace at the roof floor and have a fresh mint tea.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#125 of 501 in Marrakech
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad des Eaux et Spa
Riad des Eaux et Spa
#158 of 501 in Marrakech
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#214 of 501 in Marrakech
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#72 of 501 in Marrakech
549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#196 of 501 in Marrakech
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#81 of 501 in Marrakech
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Hamdane & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hamdane & SPA

Address: 88, Rue Bab Agnaou Derb Sidi Bouloukate 40030 Medina | Rue Bab Agnaou - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £46 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Hamdane & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes' walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square, this Moroccan riad offers traditional seating areas and a rooftop terrace with views over the Medina. There is also a spa with a hammam and massage rooms. A traditional Moroccan décor are offered in the rooms at Riad Hamdane et SPA. All rooms have free Wi-Fi access and also feature a minibar and an LCD with satellite channels. Riad Hamdane’s breakfast can be enjoyed in guest rooms or on the rooftop terrace while admiring views of La Kotoubia. Guests can also sample traditional dishes and tajines in the restaurant. Free Wi-Fi access, sun loungers on the terrace and luggage storage are some of the other facilities on offer in this hotel. Public parking is possible nearby and Marrakesh-Menara Airport is just 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Hamdane & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing