We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Can't Wait To Revisit!!”
Review of Riad Atman

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Atman
Ranked #596 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Beautiful Riad, friendly staff, great location. Authentic Moroccan food available and made fresh. The food made at the Riad was delicious from breakfast right through to dinner. I would recommend dinner at the Riad especially if arriving late into Marrakech on your first night, when you might be a tad tired from your Ryanair flight! The Riad is the perfect place to completely chill out in the sun and I cannot wait to return for another stress free easy holiday! The housekeeper Jamila is very friendly and welcoming and was always on hand to help with anything from arranging taxi’s to restaurants – very helpful when your French is poor! Great location! It’s about a 15 -20 minute walk to the central Marrakech. I would recommend Niki beach and visiting a hammam whilst in Marrakech. All the rooms are beautifully decorated and all very individual. The Riad is most definitely well kept and very clean. The roof terrace was my favourite spot to relax in the sunshine with music and a book. I found the terrace very atmospheric during prayer calls which can be heard from nearby. On the whole a brilliant holiday and great Riad, looking forward to visiting Riad Atman again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LONDON432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Four friends and I stayed in Riad Atman in June 2013. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Not only was the price extremely reasonable, but the thing that sets this apart is the personal service provided by the housekeeper, Jamila. She very helpfully organised taxis for us, as well as a luxury hamam spa treatment. She also gave us directions/maps/advice for getting around town. The breakfasts were traditional (e.g. pancakes/fruit/mint tea) but were a great way to start our day and she was so accommodating when we requested to eat a bit later one of the mornings. Also, all four of the bedrooms were air conditioned which is somewhat of a rarity in most of Marrakech. I'd recommend using the taxi service provided by the riad - the driver waited hours for us if required and we very safe in his care.

Room Tip: All bedrooms are ensuite but one has a larger bathroom than the rest - it's the one under the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

It's always very pleasant to go back to a place and to discover that it hasn't changed, so even better if it has improved in the mean time ! I am a big fan of Marrakech so after 6 months I was back in town staying at Riad Atman once again. The increased quality of service (including breakfast and guidance for restaurants & shops), the strategic location, the lovely decor and the excellent price/quality ratio makes Riad Atman a wonderful B&B.

Room Tip: all 4 rooms are lovely, my favorite is the one next to the terrace on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flaviadomitilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A fantastic riad! Perfect location : in the medina, just next to the Bab Doukala (where you can pick up a taxi very easily to visit the modern city), impeccabile service (you can ask Jamila, the housekeeper, to teach you a few tricks to prepare back at home local dishes), charming rooms (lovely local decor and very clean bathrooms), wonderful terrace to enjoy breakfast, sun bathing & relaxed reading sessions. We were also guided by the owner (Orietta from Rome who lives in London) for hiring a car to visit Essaouira on a daily trip. We also experienced the best hamman in mqarrakech : les bains de Marrakech and went crazy with shopping in the souk thanks to Jamila. A wondeful experience to repeat ASAP, at a very reasonable price !

Room Tip: all rooms are delightful I personally prefer the ones with ourdoors windows : raja and, maya on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flaviadomitilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful week at Riad Atman. The house is beautifully decorated with a lot of attention to detail (little silver bottles filled with shampoo in the shower, lovely cushions on the four-poster bed etc). The housekeeper Jamila made our stay completely stress free, serving a delicious breakfast on the roof terrace every morning and cooking tajine for us when we were too exhausted to go out for dinner.

The riad is right next to a little market mainly used by locals rather than tourists, so it's good for picking up bread rolls and fruit in the morning or when you're coming back at night. It also means there are always a lot of people around so you feel safe. Just around the corner is the coach station (la gare routiere), which was really convenient for us as we took coaches to Ait Benhaddou, Ouarzazate and Essaouira (definitely worth a visit), and we just bought our tickets at the station in the morning. It's also a 10 or 15 minute walk away from the main souk and la Place, so it's central and easy to get everywhere but at the same time it's in an area where a lot of locals live, instead of being filled with tourists. If you're at home during prayer time, you can hear the sound of praying coming from the mosque round the corner, which is really atmospheric.

The owners of the riad also recommend a taxi driver Ahmed, who we used a couple of times to take us places, which is great because he's reliable and honest, so you don't have to worry about drivers ripping you off. Overall, a great stay - we would definitely recommend Riad Atman.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sattva - this was the best choice in our opinion. It was big and comfortable with an ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wherenext65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Riad Atman is situated really conveniently in Bab Doukalla, meaning that taxis can bring you to within five minutes of the entrance, the bus station is again five minutes away while the main square, Dja el Fnaa is a mere ten minute walk away. It is an absolute haven in the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh. Jamila, the housekeeper/chef, is fantastic; a really good chef and a friendly and knowledgeable presence. Breakfasts upon the terrace were unfailingly delicious and slightly different each day, making sure you never got bored. We greatly appreciated the air conditioning and the rooms were lovely, decorated beautifully and brilliantly clean.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Located in the bab doukallah area of marrakech medina, which is where a lot of the locals live and do their shopping from our experience. So a great place to live if you're planning on living the local life and getting involved with bartering/shopping like the locals. About a 15 minute leisurely stroll to Jem el Fna square so a decent distance to the main area. This does mean that the surrounding area isnt the cleanest place in the world and it is quite crowded, but then nowhere in marrakech is clean or open, unless you choose to live outside the city walls!

Walking to the apartment for the first time is rather scary. We had to walk down an alley way where my family all gave me evil glances as they expected the riad to be similar to the market that we had walked through. But they were surprised to enter a calm and very well kept, tastefully furnished riad. A complete difference from the area you walk through.

We did have some problems with the electrics in the riad on the first couple of days, but this was promptly sorted out on contacting the owner.

Jamila is the house keeper at the riad and although she does not speak English well, made our stay very comfortable. She is very helpful. She treats the house if it were her own, and works all day! She washed our clothes and ironed them, without being asked. She is also a great cook!

The owner was very accomodating with regards to changes we made. Initially there was 6 of us that had planned to go to marrakesh, but we decided to take my mother the day before we planned to visit. There was no problems with arranging the 4th bedroom for the additional person and a larger taxi for our tranfer was arranged last minute, just before setting off on our journey. So a very good service overall.

I would recommend this riad. It is very reasonably priced. Problems are dealt with efficiently and effectively. It is ideal for families who prefer having the luxury of their own living space rather than booking into a hotel where you have to share with others. It is a 15 mins slow walk to the main square, a 30 second walk to the local bazaar where locals seem to shop, and a 10 minute walk in the opposite direction to plaza gillies where the western shops are based. Overall a very nice place to have as a base in marrakesh.

I travelled with my family. We are a family of seven aged between 16 and 70, and we are professionals. We are well travelled. The ladies in my family are all rather fussy when it comes to where we stay, but they all liked this place and we would recommend riad atman.

Room Tip: 3 good sized bedrooms, 1 slightly smaller bedroom on top floor but comes with a large terrace and pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maqsood1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.9 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#77 of 499 in Marrakech
2,108 reviews
3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
4.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 499 in Marrakech
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
9.2 mi away
Iberostar Club Palmeraie Marrakech
3.6 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#267 of 499 in Marrakech
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Atman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Atman

Address: 12 Derb Alaka, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #596 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing