We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jenny and Martin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Laurence Olivier
Ranked #203 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2013

What a wonderful Riad, beautifully restored and luxurious. The staff are all very helpful, nothing is too much trouble.
Laurence, the owner will willingly chat about where to go, what to see and how to get there.
We had a fantastic Hamman in the Riad, followed by hot mint tea. Went into the Atlas Mountains with a lovely taxi driver (arranged by Laurence) . We soaked up the atmosphere in the Medina and souks, visited the palaces of old...
If you want perfect hospitality and a wonderful holiday, visit Laurence and Olivier in their Riad

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

Laurence and her beautiful staff made our stay here a dream. It was idyllic from the moment you step through the door from the cobbled narrow street. You just want to stay forever. Make sure you order the pastille for lunch or dinner on at least one occasion - it will be the best food you eat in Morocco... and the breakfasts - coffee is fab and the orange syrup cake is divine. Laurence you made Monsieur Guy's special birthday very special. Merci

Room Tip: Although I didn't get the room I had booked (Loti) my room (Majorelle) was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Wow!!!!!! From the second you step foot on the soil of this country, you will not be disappointed!!! From the second you step outside the airport in Marrakech, your adventure begins!!! You will be met by an immaculately dressed gentleman in traditional Moroccan attire who will whisk you away to the depths of the medina!!!!
And here is where your magical adventure will start!!! When you arrive to your destination,Riad Laurence Olivier, you will be surrounded by the culture of Marrakech; its dusty narrow cobbled streets, locals sitting chatting on their doorsteps, the smells of different traditional dishes wafting from people's windows.... But then after a few steps up a dark cobbled street impassable for cars, behind a huge hand carved oval brass door is an oasis of light, tranquility and Moroccan luxury!!!
Having been lovingly restored to an exceptionally high standard by Laurence and her husband, you will be welcomed by Laurence and her staff and instantly made to feel at home!!!
Every detail of this beautiful house has been carefully chosen, handmade or hand carved!! Even the details on the bannister surrounding the upstairs gallery is not to be missed...they are passionate about this country, which is made so apparent by their enthusiasm of the place and its culture!!
If I tell you anymore it will spoil the surprise!!!!
I truly had a wonderfully exciting and magical time , which was most definitely down to the kind hospitality of this amazing lady, her amazing home, her incredible knowledge and attentive staff!! I would recommend this riad a million times over and then some, and just can't wait to go back again hopefully towards the end of this year!!!
Thankyou Laurence!!! See you soon.
Jane Brewster xx

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janiebrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Wonderful place! This characterful old Riad was refurbished over 2 years as a home and the owners passion comes through into building. It feels as if you are staying with friends rather than in a hotel. The rooms are all unique and the garden and heated swimming pool are just brilliant.

The team that Laurence has there is welcoming, happy and always willing to help with great discretion.

It is a 10 - 15 walk to the Souks and you get to stroll in the old medina which is all part of the holiday!

Laurence was great at recommendations and we were able to travel over the Atlas mountains and find wonderful restaurants on her word.

We would recommend this Riad unreservedly before it gets fully booked!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank high_maintenance101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

My partner took me to Marrakech as it was always my dream to visit the place. I had no idea where we were going to stay in medina as he kept everything Surprise regarding the trip. We went to the desert for a few days and lived with nomads and we were riding camels on the desert so after a few days of adventures we returned to Marrakech to relax and to my great surprise we arrived at Riad Laurence Olivier to a warm and friendly welcome fom the owners and staff. Lauren the host was such a beautiful and very elegant lady with so much kindness. I was Absolutly fascinated by the interior deco and all the small details that made the Riad so enchanting and it was in the medina so not far if you want to explore the neighbourhood. My self and my partner truly recommend the Riad, it will always be in our wonderful memories of magical marrakech.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trincilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

dear advised traveler,
Morroco is really a great place to spend a vacation! It offers adventure, an exotic lifestyle,healthy food, and, at last, an unlimited choice of accommodation possibilities, one of them being the ''riad'',a traditional family house embedded in an old neighbourhood, frequently converted into a guest house.
Lately, I stopped in ""Laurence and Olivier" riad,located in the middle of the old city of Marrakech, walking distance from the main place, and famous souks. One friend had told me the amazing class and comfort of this fully renovated old house, and, he was right!
The owners, a very inspired french couple have decided to invest themselves here and create their own jewel.They had the place renovated using the best of the best morroccan styles: engraved plastered roofs, ''marquetterie'' furniture, chalk wall(tadelak),mosaic style flooring, marble patio, trees, even wildlife, as birds(kind of small sparrows) made their living in the trees of the patio and whistle at sunset and dawn. Laurence and Olivier spent a complete year studying morrocan art through local museums and palaces, found the best makers, and started the hard job. After 2 years, renovation was completed, and the result is outstanding!
This Riad is located in a very tiny street, has no sign on it, but a marvellous brass door which lets you guess that the best is behind the door. You enter the house through a marbled patio equipped with a small fountain,serving a dining room, a living room, kitchen and laundry, and one bedroom. The house is built with 2 floors using ''cloitre'', vegetation, big wood doors, to get best protection from summer heat and also winter cold! It has 5 bedrooms, all ensuite, all totally different in decoration. 1st floor has 2 master bedrooms, that you must visit as they are absolutely amazing in decoration and size. Bathrooms use brass bathtub and taps, not to talk about the extremely decorated furniture of the best taste. 2nd floor has a Spa and 2 terrasses overviewing roofs, minarets and Atlas chain. Lately a swimming pool and outdoor dining area was added using an extension of the house. it is a very good decorated resting place with fountain, grass, trees,( even cameleons, and turtles painted in red so you don t step on it), dining place, and of course swimming using a Taj Mahal technique.
At last, the 5 employees, take care of you with simplicity, discretion, and authenticity . The cook is fantastic, so is Ali the waiter, a chauffeur service is there...nothing is missing.From time to time, Laurence will also advise you on downtown visits, and always will make you feel at home. Laurence has a very high education level and job expertise in journalism, speaks fluent English and had a long expatriated life before. She s definitively the best to host customers from all cultures and regions.
I was supposed to stay a couple of days with my wife, and my 2 teenage kids...I extended my stay for almost 2 weeks, and I hardly stepped out as I was having all the relaxing and morrocan experience I could ever dream of. Thank you Laurence and Olivier. I hope that recommendation will serve you and your customers.
Jerome in Dubai, UAE

Room Tip: All rooms were renovated at the same time with same techniques, although they are all different in s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeromeulm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The Riad is a true haven for travellers wanting to relax in authentic Moroccan surroundings. We truly enjoyed our stay, and can honestly say, that in such beautiful surroundings and with such wonderful staff, doing absolutely nothing, seemed just perfect. The staff were fabulous- always smiling and doing their best to make us feel at home. Laurence went out of her way to make our stay special and she is very clued up on where to go and what to see in Marrakech. The food at the Riad was outstanding, so do treat yourself to a lovely dinner in the exquisite garden. If you choose to stay here when going to Marrakech you will find yourself returning home from your holiday totally revitalised, and at the same time inspired by the Moroccan culture.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#35 of 502 in Marrakech
831 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Emberiza Sahari
Riad Emberiza Sahari
#16 of 502 in Marrakech
314 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#65 of 502 in Marrakech
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#51 of 502 in Marrakech
976 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#68 of 502 in Marrakech
631 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#17 of 1,167 in Marrakech
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Laurence Olivier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laurence Olivier

Address: Bab Ghemat | Arset Mesfioui Derb Tbib N°82, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £105 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Laurence Olivier 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Laurence Olivier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing