We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great secluded all-inclusive hotel for couples and families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Ranked #102 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great secluded all-inclusive hotel for couples and families”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Overall, the stay here was very relaxing for my girlfriend and I, and a well needed hot break from the miserable English winter (25 degrees in Morocco, -2 in England).

For all of those criticising the resort for being french and not catering towards the English, that's a load of rubbish! Yes there is a lot of french spoken here, but that's Morocco's 2nd language! The natives speak French as fluently as Arabic. The resort definitely caters towards the english, having all the food in the buffet labelled in English as well as French, and all announcements are made in English or French with translation to English. My girlfriend and I don't speak a word of French and we didn't feel isolated in any way! On one of the nights, I was roped into playing a game on stage with 3 other contestants, and the host spoke in French and English to cater for all the players and audience members!

The food is good if you are experienced in buffet selection. The food is varied enough for you to have something different every day of the week. The drinks on offer with your meals are an unlimited supply of very good Red, Rose or White wine, Beer, bottled still or sparkling water, Fanta, Coke Zero or Fanta Limon. One thing to note, they don't serve tea or coffee at lunch time or dinner, so you have to go to the bar for this, which is something they definitely need to implement!

If you pay a small cover charge of 100MAD (Moroccan Dirham which is £8 ish) per person for the Moroccan restaurant you will experience some live music, good service and a Moroccan dinner not too dissimilar to the Moroccan themed dinner in the buffet, but it's worth doing just for the experience.

The Pools are great, one is freezing with slides, which is brilliant for the middle of summer, but at the time we went (12th - 19th Nov) it was just a little bit too cold for us, so we went over to the pool by the bar which is warm and a good size to do some exercise to make you feel a little less guilty about the mountain of food you've just consumed from your over zealous buffet visit.

Another thing to note about the pool bar, there are a LOT of honey bees (NOT wasps!) flying around. They didn't seem to bother us, but if you're a little scared of Bees then perhaps you won't want to spend so much time by the pool bar.

You do have to pay a 150MAD (£12 ish) cash deposit for each pool towel, which is refunded in full at the end of the holiday, so it's worth making a note of that cash expense before you go.

Regarding money, you should definitely take the amount of cash that you want in English pounds and then change it in the airport when you get to Morocco as they don't let you take their money in or out of the country and cash machines are in short supply and will charge you! (make sure you KEEP your receipt when you exchange the money in the airport, because on your return to change the Dirham back to pounds then they'll want to see your first exchange receipt)

Some may mention that reception was rude, but it's not that they are rude, that's just how they communicate.
The reception area is large and a pleasant experience until you have any problems with your room or wish to talk to reception as there is usually a large queue and they take forever to respond to anything you have. Apart from that, they do eventually respond and are very accommodating. Our room's air conditioning was broken and we had two single beds pushed together to form a double, so we requested a room change, which after some time was granted to us and made the rest of the stay extremely comfortable and air conditioned!

The entertainment team was an energetic, extremely hard working and very friendly bunch. They were extremely keen to get people up and dancing and involved with shows and combination dances! The shows were average at best, but we do both work professionally in theatre, so perhaps our standards are a little high. Regardless of the standard, the shows were extremely entertaining!
One person who deserves special mention is Jimi, he was a brilliant host and always put in an extra effort to make sure you're enjoying yourself and feel welcome.

In conclusion, the stay was extremely relaxing, good weather, full of free alcohol and a lot of food. They do offer organised tours into Marakech and various Moroccan themed trips like a traditional dinner and camel ride into the sunset if you're willing to pay the price.

We very much enjoyed our stay, but would probably go to a different part of Morocco next time as a week was long enough to explore Marakech and see what's there.

Room Tip: Check the map to see where your room is, too close to the night entertainment (which all ends at 11p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,300
    1,679
    538
    188
    131
See reviews for
1,997
1,520
89
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Nice clean hotel. Not a 5 star really but very nice all the same. Room kept clean every day, only niggle with this is the towels are taken in the morning but not replaced until late afternoon. Maid very nice though and incredibly grateful for the bath products etc we left for her at the end of our stay. Food was fine, always something for you to eat. Animation team were fantastic. Very friendly and put on the best evening entertainment I have ever experienced ever in a hotel. Very very professional and very hard working. These guys work all day by the pool then put on a top notch show in the evening. Pool area and grounds were lovely. All in all a great hotel to stay in just outside the centre of Marrakech. A lovely 4 day break. Thank you

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaHulbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Maybe not on the top of every list with 4**** but well worth a stay. Very pleasant atmosphere, kind staff and great rooms (choose the 4 persons room for a stay with 2 #tip), good fresh food. Enough space and room for the guests. The only discomfort were the hard bed and the Spa (200 dh for the use of the gym).

Helpful?
1 Thank Jorgroodbeen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Great haven from the hustle and bustle of marrakech. Nice room kept clean. Food all good a lot of choice. Helpful staff at reception. Shuttle bus into marrakech great but you do need to book a day or so in advance. Taxis from hotel 70 / 100 dirham into Marrakech.Entertainment very good, always something going on if you want to Join in. A few niggles you don't always get sufficient cutlery in one go spoons seem to be an issue and sometimes a bit slow with the coffee at breakfast. All in all great value for 4 day break and would definitely return.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Very nice hotel, not quite 5 star by western standards but very nice all the same.
As previously reviewed then animation team is wonderful, friendly and everyone of them tries their best to ensure a good time is had by all. Also, they are very talented and put on top notch shows in the evenings.
We also found the wait and bar staff to be courteous and hard working. A small tip now and then makes for "extra" special service. I tried the spa for a hammon and massage, it was a bit less expensive when booked through our tour rep. 450 dhs. I enjoyed it so much that I returned for a 2nd treatment, lovely and clean hammon and a great massage in beautiful surroundings.
We stayed in room 947 and found it ideal being close to everything without being bothered by any noise. The Internet connection could have been better but if you move around your room you should find a sweet spot. Ours was from the balcony doors all the way across to the entry door.
A caution on the balcony doors - they lock automatically behind you if closed! We had to call for help when we did this on our first night.
Be cautious of the food, tap water and ice. We both enjoyed the food and the variety was sufficient, however I was sick for a day with stomach problems. Others that we spoke with had also had some similar problems. My husband was fine though, so this may depend on your sensitivity to these things.
All said and done, we would return to this hotel if we were to visit Marrakech again.

Room Tip: 947 was handy to everything and had passable wifi. Don't close the balcony door behind you - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We went here for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. Rooms were clean as was the swimming pool area. The only tips I would give is to book the free hotel service bus into Marrakech a day in advance - any later than that and there is no space. Also, towels for the swimming pool are rented from the hotel at 150 dirhams each (cash only which is refunded on departure) so it worth factoring this in to how much spending money you take. A perfect place for families or couples looking to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: Choose away from the bar/restaurant area for obvious reasons although music and bar shuts down at 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gogirlgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Just returned after 4 nights, 4 adults in two rooms. We all agreed that this is a great hotel and would come back again. Wish I was back there now as the rain is lashing down back in the UK!

Hopefully this is a balanced review based on good and not so good points (although the bad points were not that bad, but might irritate others more...)

The good:
- Lovely well kept grounds and buildings in traditional kasbah style, very clean everywhere
- friendly staff and exceptional animation team, not pushy, always smiling
- nice food: lots of choice, tagine station, grill station, pasta/pizza, salads, desserts
- drinks were much better than we were expecting- good wine by the bottle, fanta and coke zero by the bottle, cocktails, lovely G&T!
- good service- table service in evening, bar service quick
- free shuttle to and from medina- very easy just need to book evening before
- lots of space to relax and sit- loungers, cabanas, seats dotted about
- spacious and modern rooms
- lots of entertainment if you want it- fab Halloween show, lots of day time activities like cooking classes, sports etc

The not so good:
- no mirror in room within reach of a plug socket so drying/ straightening hair for us ladies was a challenge (used my iPad camera!)- there is a hair dryer in the bathroom but I like to use my own, this also had a socket but would not work with UK adaptors
- lots of wasps by the pool bar, but not much they can do about this, prepare to swat!
- ladies at the spa were not very friendly... Bit abrupt and surly- I can definitely see what other reviewers mean about this. They don't speak good English but even my attempts at joking in French didn't crack a smile!
- strange issue with towels. Pool towels are 15 euro deposit each but they only issue them at certain times, not past 3pm. Also they take the towels in the room and don't give new ones until late afternoon/early evening for some reason- once you know this then you work around it but bit of a mystery why they do this!

Overall, the slight negatives were minor and we had a really great time. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: We stayed in 438 and 439 which are the furthest away. Good if you like a walk and to be away from it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EssJayWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
6.5 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
4.4 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#253 of 500 in Marrakech
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club marrakech
1.3 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#196 of 500 in Marrakech
733 reviews
7.5 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#128 of 500 in Marrakech
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenzi Club Agdal Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenzi Club Agdal Medina

Property: Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Address: Blvd Mohamed VI | Zone de l'Agdal, Marrakech 40020, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#140 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kenzi Club Agdal Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pioneer in its category. This hotel-club provides a full range of activities together with the best contemporary design by architect Imaad Rahmouni. Modernism and discovery can be shared by families or friends, in one of the best leisure hotels in Morocco, located by the Atlas Mountains, in the middle of 10 hectares centenarian olive trees. Accommodation 9 riads 254 double or triple rooms (32 m²) and 60 suites (53 m²) – all with private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kenzi Club Agdal Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing