We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Ranked #51 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good night stay”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Nice Riad in good location. Taxi was met by hotel staff and check in was efficient and polite. Use the airport transfer otherwise Riad will be a pain to find. If you don't use airport transfer, make sure you negotiate price with bag carriers from where the taxi drops you off, friend was hassled. Room was quite small but adequate, well appointed and the breakfast was good. The bed was comfortable, would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BDBUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    69
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
72
240
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed in the Coco Chanel room for 3 nights. Can not fault the Riad. Its true that if you didnt take the transfer you would never find the place though! I think this goes for allot of Riad's in Marrakech. On our first night we arrived late and want to go somewhere close by to have a drink and a bite to eat. The General Manager Rahal recommended an ideal place and reserved a table for us on the roof terrace of the Cafe Arab. As we were two females we were slightly nervous finding the place in the dark Rahal was good enough to walk us to the place so we wouldnt get lost...thats service!
Breakfast was a lovely little selection of delights and you didnt know what you were getting and was served on the Riad's roof terrace. The room was spotless with good quality linen.
A little more expensive than other Riad's in the city but I am very happy we chose it. The staff is what really made the experience, couldnt be friendlier and thats difficult to find in Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Colette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadbelleepoque, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thanks a lot for sharing your opinion with us and the TripAdvisor community. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed Marrakech and being with us in Riad Belle Epoque. Hope to see you around sometime, Thanks again and best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

It is a pity that we cannot award a five star rating due to location (down an alleyway near a very busy square in a poor locality). We think this would apply to anywhere in the Medina.
There was some noise from the early morning call to prayer at about 5am and the open construction of riads means that that some noise from other guests can be heard. We took ear plugs and that did the trick!
The staff were extremely friendly and attentive. We stayed for five nights and were served with a different breakfast each day sometimes on the roof terrace in the sun.. Good quality towels and toiletries were changed daily. The room was of an exotic Morroccan style (better than the photos suggest)
The riad arranged two trips for us to the Atlas mountains and to Essouira. We chose a private taxi at around 150euros. Seats in a mini bus would cost about 70euros for two people. Both trips were well worthwhile and a relief from the chaos of Marrakech.
As others have said the 20euro taxi ride from the airport was a must with one of the riad employees meeting the taxi in the square and carrying the luggage to the riad (4-5 mins walk)
Be aware of payments to the riad and don't be caught out at the last minute. The room charge can be discounted by 5% if over three days and paid for in cash or full price by credit card. Any meals, snacks, drinks consumed must be paid for in cash. We have never known this before although the reasons were explained to us. Excursions booked by the riad were added to the bill but had to be paid in cash! I was not able to save my expected 5% discount as I had to use my cash on extras & excursions. To get discount and pay for everything else would have meant taking around 1000euros. You can leave your cash at the office in the riad as you arrive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dalesman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadbelleepoque, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thanks a lot for taking your time to write your review. It is always a pleasure to read our guest´s opinion. We are sorry that you haven´t found our location perfect, but as you say, this is the Medina and inside the city all the streets are narrow and depending on the hour of the day also busy, although you must agree with us that we are in one of the quietest areas of the Medina.
Unfortunately, the call to the prayer can be heard from miles in every muslin town, and it takes a while to get used to it, but that´s part of the experience of staying in a Riad.
We are sorry that we did not t aware you about the payment in cash for all the extra expenses. We usually do, but definitely we will include the warning in all our future mails and also in the website.
We hope that anyway, you have enjoyed Marrakech and being with us and we also hope to see you back again soon. Best Regards and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The staff could not be sweeter, the breakfast couldn't have be better and the room couldn't have been nicer. Staying here was the perfect (authentic) retreat from the hustle and bustle that is Marrekech. I am in love with this Riad!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadbelleepoque, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thanks a lot Ashley for your sweet review and for taking your time to write it. We are glad to read your words. Hope to see you around sometime. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay and felt the need to pass on my thoughts.

They collected us from the airport, which was about a 20 min drive. On arrival we were greeted by one of the many friendly staff and taken down an alleyway to de la Belle Epoque. It is a small, beautifully presented, intimate place with traditional style rooms. They were cleaned every day and fresh towels provided. The shower was a little temperamental (think it was powered by solar panel) but maintained heat most of the time.

The terrace was lovely. You could catch the sun from early morning until late afternoon & there were places to sunbathe, shelter away, eat and drink etc.

Overall we found the food in Marrakech to be quite a disappointment, but the breakfast at the riad was actually quite nice - yoghurt, fruit salad, pancakes fresh orange, coffee etc each day. Couldn't fault it.

Other reviewers have already posted about the staff and I have to agree, they were absolutely first rate. Attentive, helpful and always smiling. They couldn't do enough for us.

Location wise, the riad is about 1km from the main square and 2km to the new town. You can there easily get the square by taxi or a short walk along what is essentially one road. Alternatively take the backstreets through the hustle and bustle of the never ending markets (we preferred this route). You will get lost, but there's always someone on hand to show you the way out!

I would recommend to this riad to anyone and felt it was great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadbelleepoque, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thanks a lot Duncan for your time and for writing a very complete review of your stay with us at the Riad Belle Epoque. We are glad that you have enjoyed being with us and we feel sorry that you have found the food in Marrakech disappointing. There´s a lot of nice restaurants around the city as we mention in our blog http://riadbelleepoque.blogspot.com and we are always more than happy to recommend to our guests places to go. Anyway, it sounds like you enjoy our breakfast so, good to recover. Hope to see you around once again. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Usa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Located in a very hard to find spot, it is gratifying that the staff is willing to help you make your way in and out. The decor is simply marvelous, beautiful courtyard, bedspread strewn with flowers. Access to a big wall map of the medina, essential in finding your way.

The four men on the staff were very welcoming, extremely helpful to me in dealing with all sorts of issues, gave careful attention, made specially prepared meals, were tireless in giving directions, and happy to converse. They speak French, Arabic, Berber, English, Spanish, Italian, etc. I cannot recommend more highly. My only mistake was not signing up for assistance in finding the way to the riad.

Room Tip: I had the room right next to the office, but this was no problem, had sufficient privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank geomuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadbelleepoque, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hello. Thanks a lot for your kind opinion. We are glad that you have enjoyed being with us and satisfied after helping you finding your way in and out on your walks around the medina. The first time is always difficult to find any place in the medina, but once you get used to it, it is quite easy. We always offer the transfer from the airport to our customers or assintance from the nearby Larousse Square. The next time we are sure that you will find us without any problem, so hope to see you back soon.Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Nice place, great staff... Infact thats the deal, the staff are wonderful.

Marrekech is colourful, crazy, mad so this Riad is a perfect place to stay... Yeah and they like the french which is crazy :) but nice


If your looking for a hotel in a mad city use this one!

PS take your own wine and beer

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wnchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadbelleepoque, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thanks a lot for sharing your opinion with us. We are glad that you have enjoyed Riad Belle Epoque and Marrakech. Hope to see you back again. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 500 in Marrakech
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.9 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#38 of 500 in Marrakech
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#60 of 500 in Marrakech
221 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#28 of 500 in Marrakech
485 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 500 in Marrakech
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad de la Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad de la Belle Epoque

Property: Riad de la Belle Epoque
Address: 29 Derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech Medina, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#53 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#59 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad de la Belle Epoque 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reformed from a former traditional house, Belle Epoque has been decorated with antiquities.Each of the seven rooms has been decorated with Art Decó furniture and objects combined with the traditional Moroccan style. They are dedicated to feminine prominent figures of the Belle Epoque who evoke those happy years of transitory well-being.All of them have WIFI connection,cold and heat air conditioning and amenities for the bath.Our rooms are:Karen Blixen, La Bella Otero, Isadora Duncan, Mata Hari, Coco Chanel, Anita Delgado (Maharaní de Kapurthala) and Josephine Baker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Riad de la Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad De La Belle Epoque Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing