We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be treated like a King & Queen”
Review of Riad Joya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Joya
Ranked #97 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Be treated like a King & Queen”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Just back from a long weekend in the Riad Joya. From the polite emails when booking to the warm goodbye as you leave the service is fantastic. The location in the heart of the old city is perfect and once inside the Riad you leave the hussle & bussle of the city behind. Can't fault it and would recommend to anyone. Enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    4
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
158
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Marrakech is amazing and slightly over whelming, so to discover the perfect retreat was a joy. Walking through the the Medina and down the tiny alley that led to the Riad Joya, gave no hint of what we were to find behind the door in the old wall. It truley was a Narnia moment. The beauty of the place is cleverly based on light and texture and pattern and is a million miles from the world outside its doors. But what makes it magical is the people. Khalid and his team are without doubt the nicest group of people that I have meet in any hotel in which I have stayed throughout many years of very happy travelling. Mahdi's food is delicious and clever and has a wow factor in its presentation. Service does not come any better than that provided by the smiling Fannam and the beautiful Oulaya. But our holiday was made special by getting to know Nouredine. He cared for us, guided us and enchanted us; the title 'Butler' comes nowhere near recognising his talents, he should be representing Morocco diplomatically! The personal service that we experienced was exceptional and executed with charm, courtesy and discretion. Marrakech alone will call us back but Riad Joya is what really won our hearts.

Room Tip: Every one different, every one gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hollowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountainside, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

For our 25th wedding anniversary, my husband and I decided to celebrate in Marrakech. Since we had seen the beauty of Morocco on pictures and movies, we knew we had chosen the perfect location for our second honeymoon, but we were not sure what to expect in such an exotic and intriguing place. We decided to stay at Riad Joya. From the very beginning of our booking process, I knew that we had chosen the right location for our stay. Sophie, one of the owners, and Khalid, the manager, made themselves available to answer all of our questions and plan for our anniversary night and stay.

Our stay at Riad Joya was spectacular from the moment we arrived until we left. At check-in, we received a room upgrade courtesy of the Riad. Since we were not familiar with Marrakech, we were not sure how to spend our anniversary night and decided for the staff at the Riad to do all of the planning. Our only instruction to the staff was that we wanted to be surprised. We never expected to have such a magical experience! Khalid, Bordo and Fennane made sure we had an unforgettable evening at the Riad. Our dinner table was set out in the patio beneath the stars of the Marrakech night. The table, patio and water fountain were covered with rose petals; and a bottle of champagne was waiting for us, courtesy of the Riad. As part of the entertainment, Khalid and Bordo had traditional Moroccan dancers, where they displayed the beauty of the culture. For our dinner, the chef, Mehdi, made a five 5-course feast of traditional Moroccan food. We were in heaven savoring the variety of the cuisine and amazed with the salad course, which included an assortment of over 12 fine Moroccan salads. I highly recommend a cooking lesson with Mehdi whether it is in Moroccan or Italian food. Did I mention that we had the best vegetable risotto and pasta Bolognese at the Riad.

We will always cherish our moments in Marrakech. Our day trip to Essaouira was especially memorable as we had the company of Bordo; and we stopped at his village to meet his family. His mother was waiting for us with the traditional Moroccan tea and treats. The warmth and kindness of the staff at Riad Joya are exceptional. Although Marrakech and Riad Joya are truly beautiful, it was the staff at the Riad that made this the most memorable vacation and celebration. We will definitely be back again next year at Riad Joya with our daughters!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I normally dont write review, mainly because Im working within the hospitality industry and I limited myself in reading other people views....
In this case I decided to make an expectation, why? Because most of the hotels I stay during my business trips fail to deliver the most important message to their guests: 'you are our most important guest in their hotel' This is were the Riad Joya won for me.
An epic combination of great product (Naos Suite), great service but most of all the gift given of 'relax sensation' that so much is need it to slow down and unwind.
If you are looking to treat yourself then Riad Joya may do a decent job and deliver your expectations. Enjoy! Stefano

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StefanoCamassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

From the minute we landed to the moment we left for the airport first class everything,...accommodations, personalized service, what ever you wanted or wished for was able to be obtained. . This posh environment was designed by a famous italian architect so you can just imagine. We stayed in the suite Dar Arabe (Moroccan theme) that was on the upper level, quiet spectacular. Thanks to all that contributed to our perfect vacation....El.Bodo, Khalid, and Fannane. Denise and Lynda

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper level are the best if you are staying riad style....they are private and in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lifeenhancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siena
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We have not experienced something like this before at leat in the Medina. Professional and willing to go beyond expectations. We were guided in the city impeccably and treated like family at the same time. We will go back and highly recommend! Food is amazing. Stay in the Domus Suite.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udine, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Absolutely superb! The riad is wonderful, absolutely fantastic and Antoine could not have been a better host. He set us up with an unforgettable tour in the Atlas Mountains and very good suggestions of places to visit. The food was delicious. We will definitely return and recommend it to all!!! Nico & Serena

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemmadimare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#65 of 500 in Marrakech
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Khum
Palais Khum
#26 of 500 in Marrakech
345 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#36 of 500 in Marrakech
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#23 of 500 in Marrakech
528 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#50 of 500 in Marrakech
944 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Joya

Property: Riad Joya
Address: Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Joya 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Joya is a luxury intimate retreat nestled in the very heart of the Medina of Marrakech in the historical and protected area of the Mouassine, just few steps from the Djemaa el Fna square, the main monuments, the souk and the most exciting attractions of the “red city”.A gem of timeless beauty and sophisticated atmosphere, where discrete luxury fuses with eclectic style.The property reflects the traditional architecture of the riads, built around a small courtyard which is an oasis of tranquility, and features two stylish salons and a panoramic roof terrace.The roof top is the best place to savor a sumptuous breakfast, unwind during the aperitif ritual or surprise the one you love with a romantic dinner under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing