We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Joya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Joya
Ranked #87 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This is the most wonderful place to stay, I fell in love with this Riad and with Marrakech, I was just sad we could only stay 1 night!

Great location, right near all the action. Service like nothing I've ever experienced before - we felt so well looked-after but in such a subtle way that wasn't intrusive at all. We arrived mid afternoon, early March and wanted to enjoy the warm afternoon sun before venturing out so went up to the roof terrace for a drink. The waiter appeared with our wine and a selection of yummy snacks. Very peaceful and relaxing start to our holiday.

I had been a little nervous of visiting the main square as I have a severe fear of snakes, however there was no need to worry - we managed to steer clear of the middle of the square and make it up to Cafe Paris and watch the sun set, looking down at the square and the thousands of people milling around and the wonderful sounds of the call to prayer. Incredible!

Our restaurant that evening was about 10 minutes walk away from the hotel and we were escorted all the way on foot, and collected when we had finished so that we wouldn't get lost!

Our room was very beautiful with huge bed, biggest shower I've ever seen and we had a living area too - but we would have been happy to stay in smaller room, they all looked beautiful. The whole Riad is very luxurious and chic, and spotlessly clean.

I think this is the most special place I've ever stayed, can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    4
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
157
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Where do I begin? From the first email communiques with Sophie, to the final goodbyes on The Plaza, our stay with the Riad Joya was exquisite. All travel arrangements were handled flawlessly, and executed by fantastic team of drivers and carriers. It is truly a magical moment to step off the alleys of the Medina and step into the oasis of the Riad Joya courtyard. The view up to the blue sky truly makes you feel like you're in another world. Nordine is knowledgable, creative, humorous, professional, and a true gentleman. It was comforting after being out of the riad all day or evening, to find him at the end of the alley - waiting just for us. All of the staff was friendly and professional, anticipating your needs. I won't soon forget the moment I realized I was standing in the middle of the courtyard with a date pit in my hand, and nowhere to put it. Instantly, there was a clean plate for me to lay it on. The food was authentic, delicious, and served with home-grown love. The rooms were spare, yet exactly what we needed, and luxurious. Wifi was fast and dependable. The fresh fruit, dates and water in the room at all times was one of those details that reminds you that you are in a special place. Sitting on the roof one night, watching the full moon come up over the top of the Medina, will be a life-long memory. That, and our new friends at the Riad Joya.

Room Tip: Location is terrific - right in the heart of the Medina. Each room is different - and all exquisite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmaDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

Great location. Photos of the rooms on their website show the simple luxuary that make this a perfect place to stay. What makes this place special is the staff, there is no question they don't answer, no problem they don't solve. You ask for directions? They don 't give them to you, they walk you there to make sure you find it! In house cook makes wonderful meals, customized to your own taste. When you first arrive the noise, crowds, and sights of the medina can seem overwhelming, but the staff finds a way to quickly make you feel so at home you don't want to ever leave. Can't say enough good things about Joya, one of the best places I have ever stayed on vacation

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Yikes101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Riad Joya was a true gem of a place to stay. Beautiful accomodations, quite and convenient and an exceptional staff that catered to your every need. Although we did not know what to expect before we arrived in Marrakech, this riad was the perfect answer to making the visit the best ever. Highly recommend...you will not be disappointed. Just make sure you save a night for dinner there...the food is out of this world.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
118 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

the riad is in the heart of the medina and yet very peaceful and quiet. immaculately decorated, great finishing, stylish but warm. they make an effort to make you feel like it's your home and they did!!! there's no formal 'check in', no mini bar, no price list for laundry...well basically you just need to ask and it will be done, promptly as well. i get up late one afternoon at 3 pm, went to the restaurant and hopefully would perhaps get an orange juice, a left over croissant or a yogurt. the first thing i was asked was good morning, would you like some breakfast to which i just got wide eyed and asked 'oh can i?' yes of course is the answer and you will get that A LOT. gave them some laundry to be done and it was finished when i got back to the riad in a few hours fresh with orange blossom. and the service started at the time of reservation with sophie, she helped me make travel arrangements to other hotels and picked me up at kasbah tamadot without charge!!! really anything you just need to ask, or actually don't need to ask and they will do it if not have done already. special thanks to nordin who as i teased him is taking care of me like my mother only better. my only complaint would be the location. i am a city girl and would like door to door transportation. being in the heart of the medina, you do need to walk a little. but that's an entirely personal thing and i am particularly lazy i'm afraid. so for that reason and that reason alone, the riad joya is not perfect but it really is quite close.

Room Tip: i stayed in dar arabe and it was wonderful. but really, all the rooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

First of all, I want to let you know that we (three couples and an 11 year old) had the best time at the Riad Joya.  Everything that we read about, regarding the excellent accommodation and services atvthe Riad Joya, was true and well beyond our expectations.  This riad is truly a five star resort experience and the best service that we've ever received in all of our travel experiences (including Singita, Four Seasons, Banyan Tree, Aman resort, etc.).  Khalid, Nordine and the staff were truly wonderful and should be very proud of what they do. You've made us feel so at home and relaxed after the hustle and bustle of our daily adventure into Marrakech.

Room Tip: All the rooms were unique and beautifully decorated. They are always kept cleaned and neat even whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imrnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Every few years, my cousin and I have traveled to different places for a girls vacation since we live so far apart. This year, we decided to be more adventurous and picked Morocco. After researching different Riads, we opted for Riad Joya and hoped for the best. However, we received an experience as close to perfection as any one could expect. From the moment we arrived at the Airport, Nordine was waiting for us to escort us to the Riad that is located perfectly in the heart of the medina. Upon entering the Riad, we were welcomed with tea and some authentic cookies and treats as we waited for our room. Our room was just magnificent, elegantly decorated and immaculate from top to bottom. Each meal was a culinary experience prepared and cooked especially for us by an amazing Chef. The service was excellent and geared to accommodate each guest in every way possible. Nordine even helped us by holding our luggage for a few days as we ventured into the desert. Upon our return, we were greeted with smiles, tea and our favorite cheese appetizers to ensure that our departure from the Riad Joya and Marrakesh would be memorable. I look forward to returning as there is so much more I need to see and will definitely be returning to the "Riad Joya". I only wish that I could rate Riad Joya, Nordine and all the staff with 10 stars instead of 5.

Room Tip: look at the website for pictures of rooms - each room is so elegantly decorated that you may have tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#82 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.8 mi away
AnaYela
AnaYela
#152 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#42 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#61 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#106 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Joya

Property: Riad Joya
Address: Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Joya 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Joya is a luxury intimate retreat nestled in the very heart of the Medina of Marrakech in the historical and protected area of the Mouassine, just few steps from the Djemaa el Fna square, the main monuments, the souk and the most exciting attractions of the “red city”.A gem of timeless beauty and sophisticated atmosphere, where discrete luxury fuses with eclectic style.The property reflects the traditional architecture of the riads, built around a small courtyard which is an oasis of tranquility, and features two stylish salons and a panoramic roof terrace.The roof top is the best place to savor a sumptuous breakfast, unwind during the aperitif ritual or surprise the one you love with a romantic dinner under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing