We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best dinner in Marrakech!”

Dar Donab Le Restaurant
Ranked #128 of 887 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our best dinner in Marrakech!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The place is beautiful and service was superb. And the food.....it was delicious. We stayed in Marrakech 4 days and only ate Moroccan food. By far this place had the best. Prices are reasonable and the whole experience was great. The lamb tajine with peas and artichokes was cooked to perfection. Do not miss it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaViviana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    69
    19
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Marvellous meal, marvelous architecture”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This restaurant and hotel rivals some of the palace tourist attractions. Wonderful mosiac tiling throughout. Intricate paster carvings. We sat by the pool in the riad courtyard feeling like little princes and princesses. One waiter can made or break your meal. Ours was both attentive, charming and efficient.
The food was presented extremely well with a Nicoise style salad intricately composed. Lamb and chicken skewers were perfectly seasoned. But the bought in bbq sauce was totally unnecessary. Lemon chicken tagine was the best of our visit. The portion overcame our petite guest. Me, I pigged out with the sea food rissotto as a starter AND the lamb kebabs. But they were only 100 dirhams each. Lovely coffee as ever. All coffee in Marrakech is great.
The wines from the nearby coastal region were very well priced at just 200 dirhams a bottle. It was our last day and our last meal before an evening flight back to London. We left so full that we didn't mind the 3 and half hour foodless flight back.
A beautiful restaurant in a beautiful setting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markj418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Good food with wine!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is one of the few restaurants that we found served wine with our dinner - and good wine at that!! Its part of a hotel but the restaurant is open to all. We stumbled across it as it was close by and it was raining in Marrakech so we didn't want to travel far. Subsequently, we realised that we had read the reviews but hadn't realised that it was the same place as we simply saw the name of the hotel on the outside (Palais Donab - didn't click that it was the same!) Some good food but just a small criticism was that one dish had no accompaniments (think it was called something like pastilla but I might be wrong!) and my brochettes were slightly overcooked and a bit dry, but tasty nonetheless. The veg accompaniments that I had were delicious!

Good service and good wine in a really nice setting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pottypolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fotherby
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had a lovely dinner in this restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The menu was typical Moroccan and we were extremely well looked after by our waiter. The surroundings were very pleasant and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone wanting a pleasant night out

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank emerald777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a restaurant, but a riad”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

been there for dinner but found that they are more riad than restaurant
the menu have not many choices, but the riad is beautifull

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dar Donab Le Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
 

Been to Dar Donab Le Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing