We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place, but not without its problems” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Makassar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Makassar
Ranked #39 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Lovely place, but not without its problems”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

First off - this place is gorgeous. Certainly the best example of art deco design that I've come across. It is also, as the other reviews state, a calm, quiet oasis in the middle of what is a frenetic, crazy place. The moment you step in, you leave the world outside behind. However, while it is a truly lovely place to stay, it did have a few issues.

Location: At the far south end of the old city, in a relatively quiet street of the Kasbah. Everything in the old city is at walking distance - all the monuments and the markets. Great location for the old city.

Design: Absolutely brilliant example of art-deco, combined with subtle touches of Morrocan design. The public areas are wonderful, especially the two libraries/sitting rooms downstairs.

Rooms: This is where the problem lies. We had booked a deluxe suite but the room left us slightly shocked on arrival. For starters, the room had a disgusting smell that hits you in the face the moment you walk in. Secondly, the room itself was narrow, stuffy, overheated and extremely dark. We also noticed that there was a 5cm gap between the door of this room and the wall itself! This meant that when the kitchen, that was located below the room, closed at night, our room was flooded with the greasy smell as they aired the kitchen out. On the contrary though, this room had an amazing bathroom - beautiful art-deco touches, full of light, a big bathtub, a rain shower and lots of space. The bathroom itself was almost as big as the room. We weren't happy with this room though, so we requested to see if any others were available - they showed us the only other room available at the time, which was even smaller - and surprise, surprise, this room stank as well. So we declined the offer and stayed in our suite - requesting them to do something about the horrendous smell - suggesting that they could perhaps use one of their incense oil burners in our room? They did, but it surprised us that they did not think of it themselves before offering us the room! Then, we discovered that the bathroom drain was dirty and clogged. They arranged a plumber to come look at it, who cleaned it out with his hands and it was sorted. We also discovered that they had only supplied us with one hand towel between two people, so we requested an extra towel, which was delivered. However, the receptionist (one of the two French women) decided to be condescending about it the next day and went on to explain how many towels hotels typically supply and how drains work (!). This one person was incredibly rude and patronising (contrary to the rest of the staff who were all polite, charming and did their best in the face of any issues) and we were glad we did not see too much of her during our stay. Her attitude really annoyed us. We also thought that for a hotel that charges as much as it does, they really should buy a new set of guest towels because the ones they supply have clearly been used a million times and are nearly threadbare!

We were however promised an upgrade to the Grand Suite as a gesture of goodwill on our last day, and we gladly accepted. The Grand Suite was absolutely lovely - and we noticed that the service we received in this suite improved vastly as well. But here's the catch - while the room was gorgeous and one of the best we've ever stayed in (and we've stayed in a lot of gorgeous design hotels around the world!), the bathroom attached to this room was entirely another story. For one, it did not have a shower. It had a hand shower attached to the bath, which was impossible to use without sitting in the tub. It was also much smaller than the bathroom of the deluxe suite we were in earlier. And to our utter amazement, while this bathroom was well-appointed in other respects - in a hotel that prides itself on its art-deco theme, and does it rather well - this bathroom had Indian (Rajasthani) decor! Quite befuddling and completely out of place. Also, little things in the suite itself - for example, two large, beautiful art-deco lamps frame the desk - and neither is plugged into a power source and there is no way they can be plugged in either. Why are they there, then?! Still, we had a lovely stay in this suite and we appreciated the gesture. Strongly recommend to give the lower suites a pass and book the Grand Suites right away. The deluxe suites are certainly not worth the price, but the Grand Suites are, even at the top rates they charge. Had we know, this is what we would have booked.

Food: This was the highlight of our stay. The food here is simply the best we had on our trip and we ended up eating in most of the time. The service in the restaurant was also really good - and almost everything that we tried on the menu was delicious. Highly recommended!

Service: Most of the staff and management were excellent - they do their very best to please, and nothing was too much trouble for them. In fact, Juliette, the manager, met us personally to review and sort out the issues we had had early in our stay. That was a nice touch, and we truly appreciated it. We just wish we hadn't come across this one lady (mentioned above) whose attitude was supercilious, condescending and patronising. With that kind of attitude, she really shouldn't be in that job.

Overall, a great place to stay in despite all the (minor) issues. We felt that this hotel lacks attention to detail - a lot of little things are wrong, which add up to a large number and end up impacting your stay. Still, they do their best to sort things out and make your stay memorable. If we return to Marrakesh, we will still stay here - and hope they would have sorted things out by then.

Room Tip: The deluxe suites are not worth it - go for the Grand Suites. And if it matters to you, ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    65
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
54
384
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Had a lovely stay there and would go back, will go back! Don't waste your time in the souks/markets because they are a waste of time, there are plenty of other interesting places and things to do in and around Marrakech

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paste_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Myself and my husband stayed at this riad for 4 nights last week and we both agree it is the most stylish and lavish place we have both stayed. It's nestled in an unassuming road in the heart of the medina and it's very easy to get to jamna el fna from the riad on foot. Behind the front door however is a totally different world. From the moment we arrived, we experienced brilliant customer's service from all the staff, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Service was always prompt and efficient. Their moroccan food was particularly good, and we actually opted to eat in the riad on more occasions than we initially intended because of this. We had a really enjoyable cookery class there too. In terms of the riad itself, we were blown away by every aspect. A stunning courtyard was surrounded by gorgeous living and dining rooms done up in art deco style. Every aspect of the interior design from paintings, sculptures, furniture and fitting and fixtures were original art deco pieces and it was such a visual treat for us. I think the biggest selling point for us however was our art deco bedroom suite, the photos on the website don't do justice to this magical room...id come back to marrakech for this alone! Excellent value for money too, we honestly don't have a bad word to say about villa makassar. Thanks to the entire team for an unforgettable week

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank neetubhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

if you need some rest in an entirely renovated Art Deco Style Riad , you will fine calm and elegance in " la Villa Makassar" . We have spent there a very nice WE with a very welcoming staff.
Fouad Graidia and his wife have spent a lot of time and energy to achieve their project and the result is admirable . Despite some small imperfections, we have highly appreciated our stay in this magic place.

Room Tip: do not hesitate to choose a suite ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEAN FRANCOIS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

This villa is fabulously designed and the attention to detail is superb. The Art Deco detailing is consistant throughout the villa from the square bowls in the restaurant to the art deco handles on the bathroom handles.
The rooms are individually furnished. One of the rooms are dark but the others have great lighting. The rooms are very comfortable and the meals prepared by the chef there is out of this world. They even offer cookery courses if you wish.
Even though the villa was almost fully booked, it still feels quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeeDah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in this beautiful Art Deco riad. The attention to detail is incredible. The staff are very friendly & helpful. Our dinner was delicious & breakfasts were plentiful with homemade yogurts, breads & pastries plus eggs if you wish. The rooftop terrace is a wonderful space to soak up the sun or stargaze. The hammam & massage were lovely & most welcome after a day in the souks. It is a reasonable walk to the main square, but worth it to stay in such a peaceful place. Only one minor hint - the twin room very compact & bit gloomy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boatbum40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Just returned from our visit to this amazing riad - it's impeccable and one of my favourite places I've ever stayed! Besides being spotless, the rooms are beautiful and each so different (we were lucky enough to get an upgrade on our last night which was very kind).
You just feel so at home here - there are several rooms downstairs where you can just chill out as well as the pool and the rooftop terrace (we had breakfast up there one morning). The breakfasts are amazing as well!
The staff are all great, especially the manager. One of our bowls we bought from the souk was damaged when moving rooms and he was so kind in replacing it. Thank you!
A great stay and we would definitely return - I urge you to go and have a relaxing stay (our massages were very good as well).

Room Tip: Just be aware the back rooms don't get the wifi but there's a perfect signal downstairs! It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#60 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#73 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#56 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Property: Villa Makassar
Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing