We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Makassar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Makassar
Ranked #39 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Myself and a friend just got back from a long weekend in Marrakech. As with the previous reviewers, we received a nice welcome with mint tea and pastries. We were given a tour of the riad and finally shown to our room. We had the twin room. I was initially worried as some reviewers reported a bad smell butour room smelled lovely the whole time we were there. They had orange scented oil burners in the room whcih was a nice touch. The room size was perfectly fine but some elements let it down. There is in-adequate space in the bathroom for toiletries. We were two girls so had lots of lotions and potions and nowhere to put it. Not even a shelf in the shower area. The shower also sprayed water all over the floor after every shower leaving a soggy mess. We also found the room incredibly dark which was lovely for a lie-in but not very practical for applying make up and getting ready.

Breakfast is at anytime you wish which was also a plus as you don't have to rush. We never received a menu or much of a choice. Breakfast generally consisted of a small bowl of fruit each with 2 or 3 sweet pastry type things. On one morning chocolate cake. I love cake but not really first thing in the morning! A wider selection would be nice.

We used the jacuzzi one afternoon- very nice and huge! You could practically swim in it. A good tip- they have a heated pool next door and for a small fee you can use it. We spend a lot of time next door as we felt villa Makassar lacked atmosphere in the evenings. They have two lounge areas with fireplaces but the fires were never lit and the riad was freezing. We never saw any other people in the evenings. Everything was very, very quiet. We sat in one of the cold lounges on the Saturday night and apart from a man doing some painting, there wasn't a soul in sight. No background music, nothing. You could hear a pin drop. Obviously some people would appreciate the silence but as two 30-something girls, we wanted a bit of life. Again, I highly recommend next door for a glass of wine by the fire. And musicians most nights.

We liked the location of the villa as it's one of the few accessible by car/taxi which is great after a night out. The staff were all very nice and helpful on the occasions we needed anything. I would recommend Villa Makassar for a romantic weekend or if you like things very quiet. We enjoyed our time here but if I would to go back I'd try somewhere a bit more lively.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank champagnetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    65
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
54
384
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had a fabulous 5 days at Villa Makassar over Valentine. Walking into the hotel was like walking into an oasis of calm from a lively bustling world outside. The staff were incredibly helpful and the Villa is beautiful. Their website certainly definitely understates how wonderful this place is. It's a great location for the souks and their Hammam is something to experience. All in all we had a thoroughly chilled and indulgent time - including a wonderful birthday cake provided by them

Room Tip: As there are only 10 rooms, they are all individual and have their own uniqueness, we were extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellelondon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Straw Berries and Cream
Roast Beef and Horseradish
Gin and Tonic

All of the above compliment each other perfectly, as do Villa Makassar and Marrakech! The Noise, Colour, Splendour and Vibrancy of Marrakech is both exciting and exhausting, a calm relaxing place to stay is a must. Look no further than Villa Makassar.

My Wife and I celebrated my 50th Birthday with a 3 Night Stay at the end of February.

The Driver collected us from the airport as arranged and transfer to Villa Makassar was around 15 minutes. Once we arrived it was hard to believe that we were in the right location as the area does not look as though any Hotels would be located there.

However nce you go through the Impressive door everything is transformed into a World of tranquillity and luxury. Our welcome was warm with a guided tour and refreshments.

The Room we booked was a Deluxe Suite but were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to the Grand Lux Suite which was fantastic.

During our Stay we booked the Hammam which was a real experience not to be missed.

The Meals in the Hotel are Tasty and there is a choice of Authentic Local dishes or a more European Menu.

The Hotel Booked a table for us at a Top Restaurant which included Belly Dancers which we both enjoyed. Taxi was also booked through the Hotel which was good value. The Driver was also friendly and safe! Unlike many of the other Taxi Drivers in Marrakech!

The only slight issue was on one occasion there was a smell of sewage in our room, but the Hotel dealt with this by providing incense Lamps. I don't blame the Hotel for this as at the end of the day we were in a City that does not have the same sanitary standards as we do in the UK. . They dealt with the problem in the best way that they could very quickly.

The whole experience was great for my Wife and I, we both loved Marrakech and Villa Makassar. The Service and Style will stay in our memories for a long time.

Thanks very much to Fouad and his Team.

Ian and Annna

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Last night at Villa Makassar is tonight. Excellent position in the Medina, great room, superb service. And no rain. I want to move here. :)

Everyone who works here has been kind, helpful and cheerful. We'll be back for sure. An excellent choice for couples (am here with my wife) and being just outside of the most hectic parts of towns is good. Leaving with a suntan and a bag full of spices we don't need and probably won't use :)

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank xxxxpremierexxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Regretting we have to leave. Excellent service with low key but highly professional staff. The Art Deco is superb. And we enjoyed the services of the Hammam hugely. We arrived on my daughter's 21st birthday and our stay at this lovely Riad has made it a very special celebration. The excursion to 'Berber Land' organised by the staff was worth the extra for our own transport and guides. February is cool within while gloriously sunny so do take layers to wear inside and out - people here do wrap up rather than waste energy. We enjoyed our meals, breakfast, snacks and a couple of dinners. I hope we will visit again.

Room Tip: The twin is good value, small but perfectly adequate and only the birdsong to disturb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level Contributor
252 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed in Villa Makassar last week and had a completely exceptional experience from start to finish. We were collected by the airport by their representative who was charming and informative and dropped us at this elegant and delightful riad. Fouad met us and sat us down with a cup of Moroccan tea and pastries and talked us through the riads concept and construction and then showed us around all the parts before taking us to our room. A wonderful space, open, large, massive comfortable bed, two wardrobes, bang and olufsen tv, fabulous bathroom with a stand alone bath, huge shower and fabulous touches, the water snake skin head board, the cups brought back from the Taj Mahal, the chairs bought from La Mamounia, just lovely. This really set us up for the rest of our trip where the whole concept of this riad is you do everything on your own time. Wake up when you like, call down and say in 10 minutes I'd like breakfast on the terrace and hey presto, breakfast! Which leads me nicely to food.

The food here is amazing, breakfasts of fruit salads, yogurts, fresh baked cakes, pastries and breads, luxurious jams, Moroccan tea which we loved and juices. Then if you want more, eggs anyway you like, whatever you want. We had dinner here too and the food was excellent at dinner, in fact the apple desert was sublime and the best desert we had in Marrakech and we did eat in some fantastic restaurants. The lemon chicken tagine comes highly recommended too. I'll leave it to Fouad to tell you the story of the chefs pedigree!

House keeping was fantastic. I can not fault it in any way at all, everyday, everything was as clean and tidy as when we arrived and yet I only actually saw them in our room once! They seemed to know when you were on the terrace or out and worked around you, whatever the time of day. The general cleanliness and neatness of the whole riad was without fault.

We used the spa too which again, world class. If you book spa treatments you get the whole area to yourselves so that's the jacuzzi/small pool and all the small but perfectly formed treatment area. We had the hammam, body scrub and massage package and I don't want to give too much away because it'd spoil your surprise but what an experience, delivered by two of the friendliest, most professional people I have encountered and both my husband and I have had treatments in some of the best places in the world and I would come back here for this treatment, over all of them.

The riad is beautiful and you can tell the love and dedication that has gone into it's renovation, it has a history too so you do feel that you are in an amazing building. We loved it's position at the end of Rue de la Kasbah, it felt like being in the real Marrakech, walking down after sightseeing and seeing the shops and sellers and children playing football around us. It was a fifteen/twenty minute amble to Jemaa el fna but you really get to see some sights just getting there. And you can get a cab up to the door which is unusual here and worth it when you have cases.

Finally, almost! The staff are amazing. 10 rooms and 20 members of staff, you don't get better looked after than that. All of them were friendly, charming, accommodating and professional, happy to chat with you and share stories of their lives which we were so happy to hear and really added to our experience, full of humour and kindness. They know we have a choice over where we stay and they really want to make sure you have a great time, we genuinely believed that. Happy to make recommendations, bookings and help when their silly guests loose their cameras, phoning all over Marrakech! I find it hard to single out staff as they were all amazing but Jusef and Noelle were just brilliant.

And, if you are considering Marrakech and another destination then I can tell you that Marrakech is vibrant, busy, chaotic, so different an experience to other short breaks, populated by some of the funniest and nicest people you could wish to meet. And Villa Makassar is the oasis of calm. Will we head back? Oh yes!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

First off - this place is gorgeous. Certainly the best example of art deco design that I've come across. It is also, as the other reviews state, a calm, quiet oasis in the middle of what is a frenetic, crazy place. The moment you step in, you leave the world outside behind. However, while it is a truly lovely place to stay, it did have a few issues.

Location: At the far south end of the old city, in a relatively quiet street of the Kasbah. Everything in the old city is at walking distance - all the monuments and the markets. Great location for the old city.

Design: Absolutely brilliant example of art-deco, combined with subtle touches of Morrocan design. The public areas are wonderful, especially the two libraries/sitting rooms downstairs.

Rooms: This is where the problem lies. We had booked a deluxe suite but the room left us slightly shocked on arrival. For starters, the room had a disgusting smell that hits you in the face the moment you walk in. Secondly, the room itself was narrow, stuffy, overheated and extremely dark. We also noticed that there was a 5cm gap between the door of this room and the wall itself! This meant that when the kitchen, that was located below the room, closed at night, our room was flooded with the greasy smell as they aired the kitchen out. On the contrary though, this room had an amazing bathroom - beautiful art-deco touches, full of light, a big bathtub, a rain shower and lots of space. The bathroom itself was almost as big as the room. We weren't happy with this room though, so we requested to see if any others were available - they showed us the only other room available at the time, which was even smaller - and surprise, surprise, this room stank as well. So we declined the offer and stayed in our suite - requesting them to do something about the horrendous smell - suggesting that they could perhaps use one of their incense oil burners in our room? They did, but it surprised us that they did not think of it themselves before offering us the room! Then, we discovered that the bathroom drain was dirty and clogged. They arranged a plumber to come look at it, who cleaned it out with his hands and it was sorted. We also discovered that they had only supplied us with one hand towel between two people, so we requested an extra towel, which was delivered. However, the receptionist (one of the two French women) decided to be condescending about it the next day and went on to explain how many towels hotels typically supply and how drains work (!). This one person was incredibly rude and patronising (contrary to the rest of the staff who were all polite, charming and did their best in the face of any issues) and we were glad we did not see too much of her during our stay. Her attitude really annoyed us. We also thought that for a hotel that charges as much as it does, they really should buy a new set of guest towels because the ones they supply have clearly been used a million times and are nearly threadbare!

We were however promised an upgrade to the Grand Suite as a gesture of goodwill on our last day, and we gladly accepted. The Grand Suite was absolutely lovely - and we noticed that the service we received in this suite improved vastly as well. But here's the catch - while the room was gorgeous and one of the best we've ever stayed in (and we've stayed in a lot of gorgeous design hotels around the world!), the bathroom attached to this room was entirely another story. For one, it did not have a shower. It had a hand shower attached to the bath, which was impossible to use without sitting in the tub. It was also much smaller than the bathroom of the deluxe suite we were in earlier. And to our utter amazement, while this bathroom was well-appointed in other respects - in a hotel that prides itself on its art-deco theme, and does it rather well - this bathroom had Indian (Rajasthani) decor! Quite befuddling and completely out of place. Also, little things in the suite itself - for example, two large, beautiful art-deco lamps frame the desk - and neither is plugged into a power source and there is no way they can be plugged in either. Why are they there, then?! Still, we had a lovely stay in this suite and we appreciated the gesture. Strongly recommend to give the lower suites a pass and book the Grand Suites right away. The deluxe suites are certainly not worth the price, but the Grand Suites are, even at the top rates they charge. Had we know, this is what we would have booked.

Food: This was the highlight of our stay. The food here is simply the best we had on our trip and we ended up eating in most of the time. The service in the restaurant was also really good - and almost everything that we tried on the menu was delicious. Highly recommended!

Service: Most of the staff and management were excellent - they do their very best to please, and nothing was too much trouble for them. In fact, Juliette, the manager, met us personally to review and sort out the issues we had had early in our stay. That was a nice touch, and we truly appreciated it. We just wish we hadn't come across this one lady (mentioned above) whose attitude was supercilious, condescending and patronising. With that kind of attitude, she really shouldn't be in that job.

Overall, a great place to stay in despite all the (minor) issues. We felt that this hotel lacks attention to detail - a lot of little things are wrong, which add up to a large number and end up impacting your stay. Still, they do their best to sort things out and make your stay memorable. If we return to Marrakesh, we will still stay here - and hope they would have sorted things out by then.

Room Tip: The deluxe suites are not worth it - go for the Grand Suites. And if it matters to you, ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#58 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#77 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#55 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Property: Villa Makassar
Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing