We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Makassar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Makassar
Ranked #42 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in August. Booked based on some prior reviews. Service was good, staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly - Eve was a great example. Food was good, breakfast was better than expected. The room was OK but despite having 3 different wireless networks my one gripe was the lack of a stable wi-fi connection in the room....basically never worked - didn't complain too much because the idea was to switch off for the short break but still wanted the opportunity to connect! Also the in room safe is not worth mentioning - if you are concerned about valuables then be warned, its small and can be carried away quite easily. The location is just OK. Its a little out of the way from the main square (20 min walk) and there really isn't too much around the Riad....meaning that you have a walk every time you go in/out anywhere....other than this would recommend for a quite spa base.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iMrVampire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    70
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
56
399
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
hull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Villa Makassar is a wonderful hotel. The décor is mesmerising throughout and it is such a quiet and relaxing place, and importantly very clean. Hard to realise you are in a capital city. A good location about a 15 -20 minute walk to the market square with lots to see on the way. The sun roof is a real treat. It has double sunbeds perfect for relaxing in the heat (and it is hot). the pool area is very nice to cool off when you need it. all the staff are very friendly and happy to help the Service was superb, excellently managed by Eve . Will definitely be back in the future. Would highly recommend this to any one looking at Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mavcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I recently visited Marrakech and had the please of staying at this wonderful hotel. Food was great, the Service was superb, excellently managed by Eve, who made our stay one to remember. We had a hammam in the Spa which was wonderful and nearly put me to sleep!

The location is great for the Koutoubia Mosque and a short 10 min walk to the square.

We stayed in a superb room, that was very spacious with excellent facilites.

Would highly reccomend this to any one looking at Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshy16a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenitra, Morocco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The location is nice and the food was tasty and fresh. It's the first time I choose a Riad for my stay in Marrakech and the villa Makassar was the perfect choice, the staff is welcoming and very kind, and I appreciated the whole management of the place, the manager, a french lady was so kind with my son who was around all time and managed to always answer his endless questions and requests...very luxurious, clean and calm hotel and mean time in the heart of Marrakech where you can walk to visit jamaa Fna and all interesting places of the city, we enjoyed it very much.

Room Tip: Ask the manager Eve as I remember she did choose the room for us as we had a kid and the choice was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myriam_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We’ve been to Villa Makassar for 3 nights it was a great experience. It was one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been. The staff was extremely helpful especially at the reception and the food at the restaurant was delicious, We also tried the Hammam…it was just perfect!
We want to say thank you to the staff for everything it was my first experience staying in a Riad, and it was unforgettable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halily O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were met at the airport and driven to our hotel which is a short drive, on arrival we received tea and sat down while we were checked in. We booked a suite which was very spacious and comfortable, massive bed, large bathroom and a small terrace and a nice seating area. The owner has gone to a lot time to make the hotel a wonderful art deco experience. The roof terrace is superb but can get very hot and we were there in feb, think it would be too hot in the summer, some sun umbrellas would help, there were none when I was there.
Very close to the square which we walked too, I love the streets of Marrakech, never a dull moment. We used the restaurant a couple of times and the service and food were delightful, the spa was great, we used the hammam and the young ladies who run the spa are so charming. A lovely relaxing experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just got back from staying at the villa Makassar as a birthday present from my best friend. We stayed here for 3 nights.
Unforgettable experience the most stylish beautiful place I have ever stayed. The Art Deco style was done with taste style and passion. Every day we went to different parts of the Riad and found Something even more impressive. The staff were extremely helpful Eve greeted us on arrival and gave us a tour and mint tea which is always a nice gesture.
Through our stay we had a problem with the shower they could not have done more to sorted it out and it was Sorted and working fine.but for the inconveniences they offer us a free massage at their lovely spar. Fabulous.

The food was delicious and served in beautifully surfisticated surroundings .
This Riad is a must and I shall go back with my husband.
Their driver Noar was also very helpful as we booked to go to Essaouira for the day and he was knowledgeable and interested in telling you all about the history of Morocco and very funny and looked after us. Certainly an asset to the hotel.
Unfortunately we did not meet the owner Fouad but I would like to say thank you to you and your staff for it was my first experience staying in a Riad and Marrakech and it was unforgettable .will be back with hubby next time .

Room Tip: Twin rooms not too big
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mia21Oxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#61 of 494 in Marrakech
412 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 494 in Marrakech
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 494 in Marrakech
1,924 reviews
3.6 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#77 of 494 in Marrakech
360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#55 of 494 in Marrakech
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Property: Villa Makassar
Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#66 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing