We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent riad”
Review of Riad Badi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Badi
Ranked #9 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent service. Excellent location. Excellent room!
We had a great time because the owners were really friendly. will definitely return again one day! Thank you Christian and Isabelle you made our stay in marrakech a lovely one. Merci beaucoup!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lyn Rose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thanks to have chosen the Riad Badi for your first stay in Morocco. Thanks to have written the great review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. And why not another stay in Morocco to discover other places.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

There are so many riads to choose from in Marrakech that it can be overwhelming. Looking at the trip advisor ratings before we chose, this one almost seemed too good to be true but in fact the universally high ratings were entirely justified. Nicely located an interesting few minutes walk from Jemaa el-Fna, the room we stayed in (hibiscus) was really nice, with a very comfortable bed. Breakfasts were delicious and filling, with varied home-made produce each morning, and the courtyard was a lovely place to eat. Best of all were the hosts, Isabelle and Christian. We were welcomed with mint tea and an almond and honey sweet, and after settling in Christian took us for an unhurried walk around the centre of the old town. They were both helpful and friendly and nothing was ever too much for them. On the day we left, they'd got up at 5am to make breakfast for a guest who had an early flight! If you a planning a trip to Marrakech - which is a great city to visit - this is surely the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randomtraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

As most others, we stayed here on good Trip Advisor ratings and the recommendations couldn't have been more justified. Isabelle and Christian made us feel so at home and supported in what can be a very chaotic city. The Riad was an oasis of calm, comfort and delicious food. We were there to do the half marathon, and they prepared us special meals before and after the race. The meals we had there were the best we had and we ate in some pretty nice restaurants (including Pepe Nero). Particular highlights of the Riad for us were: watching the storks on the Badi Palace walls from the terrace, the delicious breakfast every morning which set us up for days exploring, evenings relaxing with a beer/sweet mint tea in the various sitting rooms, the rose petals in the beautiful room, and the excellent guidance from two kind hosts.

Room Tip: We were in the Turquoise Room - apparently it's the smallest room, but we stayed there because i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Kate,
Thank you for choosing the Marrakech Half Marathon and Riad Badi for these last few days. Then thank you for sharing your experience at Riad Badi.
We are glad to know you enjoyed our home and our services.
We'll be sincerely happy to see you again and why not for the 2015 Marathon.
Take care and kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Riad Badi in Marrakech. Isabelle and Christian were welcoming, friendly and very helpful hosts. The riad is a tranquil oasis in a chaotic city, yet situated close enough so you can easily walk to all the main sites. Our room (Cannelle) was lovely, well appointed, well lit, spotless, great bed and linens, and had a great bathroom with super towels and bath products. Breakfasts were delicious and homemade, including moroccan specialities. As soon as we arrived, Christian sat down with us to go over the map, sites, shopping tips, do's and dont's of marrakech etiquette, all of which were practical and extremely helpful. We would highly recommend Riad Badi!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonnieJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Jeffrey and Bonnie,
Thank you for choosing our riad for your first stay in Morocco and thank you for sharing your very nice review.
We are grateful to you for writing and forwarding your valuable feedback.
It feels good to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks again and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We booked Riad Badi based on the outstanding reviews on Trip Advisor. Our stay at Riad Badi far surpassed those positive ratings. We would gladly give owners Christian and Isabelle 6 stars!

It's hard to add much to the many perfect ratings by other guests because the high marks written about this Riad are completely accurate and true.

We've stayed in many 5-star hotels, but the personalized service and attention is far above anything that you'll find in a larger hotel. Upon arrival, Christian kindly took us out to the ATM machine, guided us to Janaa el fna Square, and pointed out several restaurants at different price points. The next morning Christian accompanied us again to point out the key places to visit in the medina (Badi Palace, Bahia Palace, Museum of Marrakech, the Madrasa, and the Museum of Photography) and guided us through the Souk. Each day Isabelle spent time to explain our breakfast dishes, which change daily. And you should definitely try dinner in the Riad--it was the best food that we had in Marrakech!

In addition to the individualized service, Christian and Isabelle offer a unique perspective on daily life in Morocco from their own experiences as French expats. Their insights to the culture and habits of Marrakech, everything from where to buy crafts and how to bargain, make staying in Riad Badi something more special than just spending a few nights in a hotel.

Lastly the Riad itself is worth its own 5-star rating. This is a wonderfully restored Riad, immaculately maintained and tastefully decorated with local crafts. We were so delighted with the bronze lanterns in the Cannelle Room that we tried to buy pair--speak to Christian first!

We will definitely recommend Riad Badi to our friends and relatives as well as hope to return soon ourselves. Book Riad Badi and you, too, will find it hard to write a more positive review than ours!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cannelle Room, but don't worry all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April201333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Michelle,
Thank you so much for writing this complete and very nice review with many details. Thank you for all these compliments that affect us much.
We have been receiving our guests like we would like to be received so that they keep the best souvenir of Morocco, Marrakech and Riad Badi.
It is always a pleasure to receive guests who crave to know, visit and taste new flavors.
We were delighted to have met you and to have contributed to the success of your holidays.
Thank you again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Everything that has to be said about Isabelle and Christian has been said before. They go above and beyond in every way possible to make you feel at home. They are perfectionists who take great pride in what they do. One rarely comes across hosts like them. When we arrived at their Riad Christian went through the map of the area with us while Isabelle served up hot tea and cookies. Later Christian spent a few hours showing us around the square to help us get oriented. No one asked him to but he did! On the last day when we were checking out they gave us the disembarkation forms saving us time and unnecessary hassle (with completing the form) at the airport. They go the extra mile. It's no wonder they are #1 on TripAdvisor.

Apart from their hospitality the room was spacious and nicely appointed with a hot shower, very comfortable bed, and a strong WiFi signal permeating through out the apartment. If you are in Marrakech book your stay with them.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank hrsh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Well, what do you want from citybreak accommodation? Convenience? Absolutely - only a gentle wander from the city's hub at Janaa El Fna Square, next door to the Badi Palace, a few more steps up the road to Bahia Palace, round the corner to the Saadi Tombs. Tick this one in spades. Comfort? Great shower, perfect beds (not too soft, nor rock hard), tasteful, elegant surroundings but not overdone so you feel scared to touch anything and can't relax? Yep, got that. A tasty breakfast, that just 'hits the spot' in terms of being interesting and different enough without being a culinary challenge, changes every day, plenty without being over-facing? Mark that on the list too. Helpful, receptive hosts, knowledgeable and informative about the area but who don't inflict an agenda you don't want to follow, who are interested in what you've done and where you've been without being inquisitive or nosey? Got that one too.

This Riad has, in a quiet, confident and comfortable way, managed to get everything right. It is a living testimony to the dedication and desire to be proper hosts that Christian and Isabelle show on a daily basis. It is, for me, a prime example of hospitality - welcoming, comfortable, somewhere you look forward to returning to at the end of a day, somewhere you can relax and feel comfortable. The reviews show there are many good Riads in Marrakesh, and this one clearly justifies its top spot.

Oh, and the couscous at dinner here on the first night was the best of many we tasted during a 5-day stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salopwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 502 in Marrakech
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#37 of 502 in Marrakech
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#7 of 1,167 in Marrakech
659 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andalla Riad & Spa
Andalla Riad & Spa
#5 of 1,167 in Marrakech
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#3 of 1,167 in Marrakech
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Badi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Badi

Address: 56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £62 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Badi is a guesthouse situated right in the old centre of Marrakech. Most of the city's main attractions such as the Palais Badi, the Palais Bahia and the Saadiens tombs are within walking distance. The famous Djemaa El Fna Square is just at less than 10 minutes walk away.Riad Badi accommodates guests in seven spacious and comfortable rooms. The rooms are double, twin or triple with reverse air conditioning and safe box. They provide en suite bathroom with shower, towels, toiletries and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Badi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing