We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an Oasis in the Medina”
Review of Riad Badi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Badi
Ranked #9 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed there with a friend late February and we had the most relaxing and lovely time at Riad Badi. Isabelle and Christian are a lovely couple who go the extra mile to ensure you are comfortable, well informed, well fed and even entertained! The riad is tucked away in a calm alley just behing the Badi palace. Decorated with great taste and every little detail has been well thought of. The terrace, where you can have breakfast , is an haven where you can relax and even nap (yes we did) on the comfy sunbeds. Even straw hats are provided! The room are spacious and the bathroom modern. Beds are comfy. We had one dinner there and the food was gorgeous (especially the courgettes salad, yummy). They gave us the best recommendations regarding where to go, restaurants, bars, spa and what to avoid. A mine of information. They really made our stay special. Thanks a million, Isabelle and Christian! Delphine

Room Tip: The Safran room is spacious as it can sleep 3 people. We had two single beds and a extra bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnatravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed there with my girlfriend Laura for five nights and left last monday 24th. From the moment we arrived, Isabelle and Christian made sure our stay was relaxing and memorable. They helped organise our trips Camel riding, hiking in the atlas mountains and a daytrip to Essouraria, all with relatively short notice. Christian gave us a tour around the local area and Jem El'faa, advising us on nice places to eat and shop. We were greeted to a superb Morrocan breakfast every morning that was varied and delicious (with homemade yogurt might I add!) The room was immacualate, with scattered rose petals and Morroccan biscuits to greet us. Always clean, warm and homely. The area itself is within close walking distance to all places you might want to visit. Isabelle and Christian are two wonderfully bubbly and friendly hosts, happy to help with whatever you need. We had a lot of fun chatting to them during our stay.
This was a perfect place to stay, quite frankly. And I would reccommend it to anyone staying Marrakech.
Thanks Max

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank maxodono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Isabelle and Christian were tireless in making our stay in Marrakech a pleasure. Other reviewers on TripAdvisor have gone to great lenghts to enumerate the positives about this riad and these reviewers are correct. Christian accompanied us for over an hour on our first venture into the medina. One member of our small group had her birthday during our stay at Riad Badi, something Isabelle quietly noticed from our registration cards. On the morning of the birthday, Isabelle and Christian surprised her with a small cake with candle and joined in singing "Happy Birthday". Also, we had an evening meal at Riad Badi and it was most excellent. Our stay was just delightful. Thank you Isabelle and Christian.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BD3856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Delighted to say that we found the previous glowing reviews to be well deserved. Very warm welcome from Isabelle, Christian and the staff, and the riad is wonderfully tranquil amongst all the chaos outside. A few extra things just worth knowing, and not meant as criticisms in any way:

The approach to the riad is off a very busy and chaotic junction where much caution is needed. I wouldn't like to navigate it daily with small children. Fine for cautious adults though!

The terrace is fantastic, but it's worth knowing that it doesn't really have views over the medina. The advantage is that it feels very private and we enjoyed it a lot

Overall it's a fantastic place to stay, and we would very happily return!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Fromagier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Riad Badi and for confirming the previous reviews. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we are glad to have discussed with you after your walks in the Medina and out Marrakech. You are our first guest who took the bus to go to Ourika and visited the botanic garden.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived, Isabelle and Christian were the perfect hosts! They made us feel so welcome, the breakfasts were amazing, as was our room, and their hospitality was second to none!

A tour of the medina with Christian was a great way to get our bearings and some of the tips and information they provided proved invaluable. They also arranged a great private tour for us up to the Atlas Mountains.

The rooms all have an individual style and are cleaned daily. Bottled water was also provided which was very handy. The roof top terrace was a great place to have a glass of wine and relax after a days sightseeing.

Would definitely recommend and stay again should we return to Marrakech. Thank you!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Serenahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

I travel a lot and I'm VERY particular about where I stay. I expect the highest standards because I do my research (thoroughly). Riad Badi, and the owners, Isabelle and Christian, have excelled in terms of hospitality, the way they look after their guests, quality of bed, bed linen, breakfast produce.. I could go on but hopefully you're getting the picture. Everything has been quality.
From the moment we got off the plane, picked up at the airport and transported to the hotel (for free and without the driver expecting a tip) everything has been thoroughly professional and with the added bonus of the personal touch. It's very hard to believe that they've only been doing this for 2 years. It has the feel of a well established 5 star hotel that's been at the top of their game for decades. No one should be this good after only 2 years.
The riad is two buildings knocked into one. The architecture is impressive and warm without being clinical and soulless, like many places that offer this standard of service. The bedrooms are very well thought out and are of a decent size with large, comfortable beds, crisp white linen, aircon in every room and large and thoughtful shower rooms with huge fluffy towels.
The staff who serve breakfast are amazing. I know that that's a lazy adjective to describe them as, but they just are.
Christian gave us a very interesting tour of the medina (which he gives to all guests if they so desire) and showed us the best place to change our money.
I don't know what else to say other than, if you're looking for somewhere to stay in Marrakech, stop looking now and book this place.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank jomac2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for staying at Riad Badi. Thank you so much for writing the marvellous comments. It was always a pleasure to read the type of review. We put a lot of time to find who wrote this review: in fact it's unusual that our guests write a review and they are always at Riad Badi at the publication.
We are glad to have met you and to have made a tour in the Medina for visiting and sharing our experience. During your stay you saw many places including the Atlas mountains and you enjoyed a hammam in spite of the weather ( 30°: hot for February at the beginning of your stay and 12° with rain).
Thank you again and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

No wonder Riad Badi is #1 on trip advisor - it's a well deserved spot! Booked a 3 night stay for a surprise birthday gift for my husband, and I am so pleased I chose Riad Badi for our first experience in Marrakech. Christian and Isabelle are the kindest most helpful people and this was evident to me from the moment I sent an email to inquire about availability. They and the 2 ladies that help at the riad looked after us above and beyond what we expected, having the perfect blend of being entirely approachable and friendly without at all being intrusive. They even surprised my hubby at breakfast the day of his birthday even though I had only mentioned it in passing when booking. Our room was lovely and the massive bed provided very comfortable sleep after a busy day exploring the city. We loved Marrakech and if we return we will definitely stay at Riad Badi, and I'd recommend anyone to do the same. Perfect location and perfect hosts. Thank you Isabelle and Christian! Oh, and try dinner at the riad - delicious! :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kidlat_tahimik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thanks for choosing us for your first stay in Marrakech and for the birthday for your husband. Thanks also for writting the wonderfull review and for sharing your experience
We are glad to have met you and to read that you have spent a nice stay in Marrakech and at Riad Badi.
It's always rewarding when guests appreciate the work of all the team.
With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#20 of 502 in Marrakech
197 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Aguaviva
Riad Aguaviva
#8 of 1,170 in Marrakech
778 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#7 of 1,170 in Marrakech
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#4 of 1,170 in Marrakech
703 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andalla Riad & Spa
Andalla Riad & Spa
#3 of 1,170 in Marrakech
157 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#15 of 1,170 in Marrakech
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Badi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Badi

Address: 56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £42 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Badi is a guesthouse situated right in the old centre of Marrakech. Most of the city's main attractions such as the Palais Badi, the Palais Bahia and the Saadiens tombs are within walking distance. The famous Djemaa El Fna Square is just at less than 10 minutes walk away.Riad Badi accommodates guests in seven spacious and comfortable rooms. The rooms are double, twin or triple with reverse air conditioning and safe box. They provide en suite bathroom with shower, towels, toiletries and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Badi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing