We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Badi
Nearby Hotels
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$427
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$416
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$623
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$451
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$500
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$54
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (769)
Filter reviews
769 results
Traveller rating
755
12
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
755
12
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hostsevery morningplunge poolpancakesyogurtstorks nestingorientation tourroof terracethe main squareon arrivalthe hustle and bustleminute walkfrench couplerose petalschange moneyfirst morningmoroccan tea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 769 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My girlfriend and I spend three nights here. The riad is very beautiful and peaceful and is situated a bit outside the hectic medina, which is nice (only 10 minutes walk to the center of the medina). In my opinion, it's too hectic to sleep in the medina. Christian and Isabelle who runs the riad are extremely helpful - we lost our luggage in the airport, and they made a stunning effort in getting it back. We also got a nice tour of the medina and a brilliant introduction to the city. We could not have asked for more. The rooms are very nice and welcoming; aircondition works, internet works, it's cosy, it's clean, and just nice in every detail. And, you can buy cold beers at the riad :) Warm recommendations from Denmark.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Søren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Riad badi. We are delighted to know you spent a nice time with us in spite of lack of luggage during all your stay in Marrakech. We hope you enjoyed your tour in Morocco. We are sure you have nice souvenirs with your pictures.
Thank you for recommending Riad Badi.
Take care and kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived in the afternoon greeted by our hosts with mint tea and maroccan sweets. We were then guided to the main square by Christian telling us nice and need to knows :)

We were given a betyder room than the one we had booked and paid for, as the room was vacant during our stay. The room was beautiful, very clean and spacious!

Breakfast is delicious, dinner as well. The roof top with the small pool litterally saved us, as we had chosen to travel i July (aka. 46 degrees!!)

Great stay, thank you very much for the Warming welcome!

Regards
Mads & Sara

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you Mads and Sara for sharing your experience in our home and for writting the very nice feedback. Usually we receive danish first and last quarter of the year but in spite of the warm temperature in Marrakech in July (over 45° under the shade) we are glad to know you enjoyed your stay.
Our plunge pool on the roof is appreciated for refreshing (not for swimming) at the period of the year especially after the visits of Marracheck
We are delighted to welcome and to discuss with you during your stay.
Thank you again.
Take care and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here based on previous reviews and so I feel I need to add my honest opinion of staying there. Firstly the good - the hosts are so helpful. We really appreciated the tour that Christian gave us to help us find our bearings and his advice on places to visit, eat etc were really appreciated. The Riad is beautifully presented and clean. I'm aware we visited in the middle of summer and of course this is probably the worst time to be in Marrakech. Saying that though I have to add that perhaps this Riad is not in the best position for a summer visit. Its down a small alley in the old part of Marrakech - there are many ill and malnourished kittens and cats to walk past. Although the rooms are air-conditioned (and the a/c has to work very hard at top speed to cool the rooms) given there is no greenery in the middle of the Riad you really can only relax in your bedroom and not sit outside during the day. As 2 couples we would have liked to be able to spend time somewhere together in the riad (there is a small lounge but then Isabelle and Christian also use this lounge as theirs). The roof and pool area are way too hot to use in summer and on reflection we felt we might have been better staying in an area and Riad that had a pool with greenery as the centre of the Riad - perhaps in the newer area of Marrakech and then come into visit the old area. One last point, when we finalised our bill on our last night for dinners, drinks, transfers (we stayed 3 nights and then again 2 nights after a visit to the Atlas Mts) we found that Isabelle required cash which we hadn't realised so had to go out to an ATM to obtain this. As helpful as Isabelle and Christian were we honestly wouldn't recommend this Riad to our friends and family for a summer visit.

Room Tip: I think probably all rooms are similar and all on the same floor (those with windows to the outside alley can be noisier if you choose to leave your window open)
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SandyHAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Sandy,

We have been surprised when we read the first time your review: We regret that you did not speak about it during your stay.
You have not spent a nice time at Riad Badi in spite of you enjoyed the cleanness of the riad, our helpfulness and our advices.
We are sincerly sorry.

We have tried to make our honest explanation about each point:
- You have choosen the worst period to visit Marrakech (warm temperature) and according to your review the hotels in the new town or the palmeraie district are more adapted for you with its large surfaces of grass and its large pools.
In all the riad the temperature in the summer on the roof at midday is 45°C (on shade), on the center downstair 30°C and in the closed room like bedrooms less than 25°C.

- Riad Badi is located in the old part of Marrakech at the end of a small alley: Riad Badi is calm and in a quiet zone and nearby the hustle of the big square. Yes there are plenty of cats in our alley (at 50 meters from the riad) like in most of alleys in Marrakech. At the period of year the cats are very young and they don't like warm temperature
Just to be totally clear there are no cat in our riad (we have US detectors against the cats for the comfort of our guests and harmless for the cats).

- Yes there is no grass in the middle of the Riad and our plunge pool is on the roof as described on our webside. In the middle of the riad on the ground floor there are only two banana trees 3 meters high, two washington palm trees 2 meters high and one olive tree in big pots with tables and two sofas.

- We are surprise to know you had no place to spend time with your friends : there are 3 sofas on the ground floor (two sofas in the atrium and one inside with TV, some books, games...) and a fourth on the roof.
Riad Badi is not an hotel but Riad Badi is a real guesthouse where we live all the year and we share the commum areas (like the living room) with our guests. During your stay my husband stayed 'a long time' in front of the TV for 'Le tour de France'.

- We ask to pay the extras in cash (meals, drinks, transfers..) because we pay in cash these suppliers: We prefer to buy nearby the riad to do live the neighborhood and our neighbors. Concerning your main bill (rooms and tourist taxes) you have paid by card.

We understand each point but we cannot make correctif or preventive actions.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Not sure how much more we can add. 99% of trip advisor reviews have rated this Riad as Excellent and rightly so. In fact I don't recall ever seeing such a stellar rating for any accomadation
Christian and Isabelle were the perfect hosts, we arrived in Marrakech but my wife's luggage didn't, Isabelle was more than helpful found us some toiletries and offered to wash my wife's clothes and dry them so at least they would be clean and fresh for the Morning. On arrival Christian gave us an orientation of the Riad, main square and a small part of the Souks this is really helpful for when u get out and about. They also provided a meal for us on the first night which after the day we'd had was appreciated and very tasty.
The Riad is very comfortable and very quiet rooms fantastic, breakfast sensational and different every day. There is a lovely tranquil roof garden and terrace area where we would relax most evenings and a plunge pool with sun beds. Close to the square and palaces would defiantly recommend this Riad oh yes and of course the storks on the palace wall next door offer a very unique touch.. Thank u Isabelle, Christian and yr team for making r stay so pleasurable..Ps my wife did get her luggage back 2 days after we arrived..

Room Tip: All rooms are great and quiet
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank StephenSkidmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you again Stephen for writting the fantastic review during your stay. We are delighted to have replied to your expectations and glad to know you have spent a nice time in Marrakech and at Riad Badi. We have happy to receive you and to meet you.
In spite of the lack of luggage the first two days you and your wife kept the smile.
Thank you again and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in July. The room was amazing, nicely decorated with local crafts. Christian, Isabelle were always really helpful. They gave us advice on things to visit and even a quick orientation tour of some of the local area the evening we arrived. The breakfast was fresh and filling; we also had a tagine there on our last evening which was delicious. I would definitely recommend this Riad to anyone visiting the city. Thanks for great stay, Dave and Carrie.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dave g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Carrie and Dave,
Thank you for choosing Riad Badi after your stay at Taghazout for surfing and thank you for recommending Riad Badi to potential guests.
We are grateful to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Do take care and thank you both so much once again.
With our very best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews