We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad, Amazing Service, Incredible Experience”
Review of Riad Granvilier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Granvilier
Ranked #607 of 1,153 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad, Amazing Service, Incredible Experience”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our first trip to Morocco was a HUGE success mostly in part of this wonderful Riad. We arrived late in the evening and the manager that evening came out to meet us in the hectic Jemma el-Fnaa. He answered all of our questions, provided a map and gave us excellent tips on the DO's and DONT'S. Throughout our time there staff was incredibly helpful, and kind.

The accommodations are also incredible. You step into the main area and are greeted by a beautiful orange tree and sounds of the fountain. Complimentary mint tea (yum), and breakfast are both provided. Both of those are a huge plus, especially considering the breakfast is pretty large (picture attached) and includes freshly squeezed orange juice and homemade yogurt!

The Riad would have been very difficult to find if we had not arranged an escort from the hotel in advance. We flew in late at night and would NEVER have found this well hidden gem. It is down one of the many side allys connected to the souks, and one simple wrong turn could really lead you astray. However the staff is willing to meet you at Cafe De France (in the main square) and walk you to the Riad-- which is extremely helpful.

Also there is no swimming pool. But what it lacks in pool it makes up in accommodations, location, price and staff.

Overall we had an incredible experience here and plan on revisiting in the future. The Raid itself is magical! You really feel like you are staying in a luxury B&B Moroccan style. The staff does a wonderful job cleaning and making sure your room always has what you need.

If you are questioning where you want to stay-- DONT, just stay here! I swear I sound like and advertisement, but I am not. I am just a girl used to staying in cheap budget hostels who stumbled upon this place (for an amazing price) and was treated like a princess. Any time I travel to Marrakech I will stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelWithBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    28
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
50
164
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed in Riad Granvilier in April 2014 for 6 nights.
The stay in this Riad was our most favourite thing about our trip to Marrakech. The location, the service, the whole experience - all was 1st class! Every day after our day in Marrakech we simply could not wait to get back to our lovely Riad.

The staff really go out of their way to help you with anything you need, and simply made us feel like a King and a Queen! The rooms were clean and quiet. The location is 2 minutes away from the main square yet so quiet. We did a cooking class in the Riad and it was great and authentic experience.

After our stay in Riad Granvilier, we travelled to a 5 star Sofitel in Agadir and could not stop thinking that they have a lot to learn from Riad Granvilier!

DEFINITELY STAY HERE!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizok1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

couldn't be more satisfied with this riad. i stayed here with my mum during our holiday in Marrakech. We stayed in the "Ayadine" room on the ground floor which is really beautiful! the beds were amazing, didn't have a sleepless night during the 7 days we were there! room service was incredible. Most of all, the staff at this Riad are absolutely fantastic! Jalil the hotel manager helps us with absolutely everything we needed including travel to and from the airport (free if you stay more than 4 nights) which restaurants to go to, hammams worth visiting and absolutely everything else you could think off! him and muhammed would sit and have tea with us and tell us everything we needed to know and more. If you stay in this riad make sure you eat there at least once! the food is absolutely to die for! 5 courses on the rooftop every single on of them amazing! the riad is a stone throw away from the souks, the old square and tons of restaurants and cafes! despite being so central it is still very quiet at night! amazing! i'm already booking my next trip to marrakech next year and wouldn't dream of staying in another riad!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natashahunt88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Me and my daughter shared a wonderful time at the riad granvilier. The staff was so friendly and helpful in every Way. The riad was peaceful and beutiful and the room was clean and Nice. We had diner twice in the riad and it was the Best good We tasted in all marrakech.
Jallil the manager really knows how to make the gruset feel at home and. At ease.
We spend Manu afternoons drikningen tea with him and Mohammed Whilr they gave us good afvises on what to see and Where to go.
We are really looking forward to coming back later This year and We will definately stay in This riad again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betinabroendum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed for 7 nights. I had to ask on the fourth day when the bed sheets would be changed as temperatures were 37 to 39 degrees. I also had a small bath towel given with an excuse bath sheets were in the wash. I was with a friend and could not come out of the bathroom to access my clothes in the very small bedroom.Prior to this towels were taken from the shower and rehung to be used again. Horrid! There were 5 hangers between 2 of us in the wardrobe, not enough by a long way. Water was sporadic, stopped then restarted and temperature control was difficult. The room we had was the Ayadine twin room. It had 1 chair so we both could not sit down. Beds are very hard. I had backache until I returned home. The decor in the room required refurbishment. Guests on the top floor also complained and were met with smiles. Jalil said he was a receptionist only and signs as manager. He did not know what star rating the riad has.
I was pretty disappointed as it was my birthday

Room Tip: Photos are only valid when up to date. rooms on 1st floor are away from noise and sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I don't normally write reviews but thought this Riad was a great place to recommend to others. All the positive reviews are so true. Beautiful, clean and perfect place to explore Marrakech.

The staff were very attentive and helpful. We arranged our free transfer from the airport via email. (Airport passport control took 2 hrs be warned!) but driver there to pick us up. Tip - take a small amount of cash to change at the airport. Otherwise there are cash machines. We were met at the main square by Jalil, who showed us across the square to the Riad. He gave helpful orientation tips on the way.

We booked a meal in advance. This was a 5 course meal for 22€, really delicious, so many flavours. Included meat Tagine. All served up by the very helpful and attentive Mohammed.

We had the terrace room. Clean with complementary shower gel etc, bath robes. Hair dryer. Safe.

We were given tips on where to visit, tips on haggling, trip to the mountains were booked by Jalil. We had a cooking lesson on the food that was cooked in the Riad. The breakfast was plentiful, bread, homemade yoghurt, freshly squeeze orange juice, cheese, pain de chocolate, omelette, pancakes, three jams..... Delicious!

Free mint tea all day.

The route to the Raid is down a small alley, but felt very safe. Locals all lovely.

Lovely Riad. Would recommend it to anyone.

Only negative thing that happened was the low water pressure, but once we mentioned it, Jalil, had a man in to fix it in later that day. He was pleased we pointed it out, so now fixed and powerful shower!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Riad on our honeymoon in March 2014. We were both so impressed with the Riad, and with all the staff who could not do enough for us during our stay. The rooms are very comfortable, and nicely decorated. The breakfast on the terrace is such a pleasure, and the food was fresh and plentiful. The staff - particularly Jalil and Mohammad - were just wonderful. Couldn't do enough for us, including serving delicious tea and sweets each time we arrived to the Rian, recommending and reserving tables at restaurants, arranging a very enjoyable grocery shopping trip and cooking lesson for me with the cook, recommending and arranging a day trip for us to the mountains. Jalil even bought a gift for my husband as it was his birthday when we were there. Such thoughtfulness and attentiveness made our trip a great pleasure. Location is good - very near the main square, but difficult to find the first time, so take Jalil up on an offer to meet you at the Square on arrival!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taurus100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#70 of 500 in Marrakech
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Puchka
Riad Puchka
#57 of 500 in Marrakech
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#38 of 500 in Marrakech
716 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
508 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Granvilier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Granvilier

Property: Riad Granvilier
Address: 100 derb Jamaa | Place Jemaa El Fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #607 of 1,153 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Granvilier 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Granvilier is a luxury hotel in the heart of the old Medina of Marrakech. It has been tastefully and lovingly restored with great attention to detail. Decorated with the finest traditional materials, exclusive, hand-crafted furniture and contemporary Moroccan art. It is ideal for people looking for personalized service. Riad Granvilier is the perfect base to enjoy the wonders of Marrakech. You will live an authentic and unique Moroccan experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Granvilier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing