We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful last stay in Morokko”
Review of Riad Helen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Helen
Ranked #18 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful last stay in Morokko”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We spend our last night in Marokko at Riad Helen. And it was soo nice to stay in a place where the people who run the Riad, could speake english. (We had stayed in 4 other places, where they couldnt speake any or very little english) And its just soo nice to be able to communicate and ask questions about the place and city you stay in! We met both Maxime and Mario, and they where very friendly and helpful! We had very nice breakfast and there was enough food! Where some of the other places, it was abit more simple!! And the Riad was just so beautiful and exactly as on the photos!! Thank you for a lovely last night in Marrakesh!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario-et-Maxime, Gérant at Riad Helen, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hello Jette,
We want to thank you for having taken few minutes to write a review there ! You spent just one night at Riad Helen and we are happy that you liked the place ! It's been a pleasure to welcome you and your family. As you said, we try to speak english ; sometimes we make mistakes but it's good to welcome foreign people so we can practice ! Thank you again for your review ! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
142
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

the room, the people, the place was just amazing. Beautiful, quite, well curated and familiar. Maxime and Mario are lovely and always available to help you with informations and beautiful maps ready made by them. When we were looking for a place in Marrakech we were not sure, because we never if to trust just photos, but we were really happy to in Riad Helene, from Maxime and Mario. We just regret we didn't have time to take a dinner there. for the next time... If you are looking for a place where to stay in marrakech, this one is the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfredo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario-et-Maxime, Gérant at Riad Helen, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Ciao Alfredo !
Thank you so much for your review there ! We both have been very happy to welcome you at Riad Helen and feel glad that you and Stefano spent good times in our house. It would have been a pleasure to see you again after your trip in Essaouira (we hope you enjoyed it !) but we understand that it was not so easy, with this terrible weather... You will come back to do what you didn't have time to do last time ! And we hope that you will find your way back to Riad Helen :-) Thank you again and say "ciao" to Stefano !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I spent a weekend in Marrakech with my girlfriend in December and we had an amazing time staying at riad Helen. The place was beautiful and we were very well hosted by Mario. We found rose petals every morning in the room. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean and the breakfast was delicious. The only BUT was the location: a little bit far from the Fna square.

Great choice in Marrakech.

We strongly recommend it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have more privacy than the ones in the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charlaspalabras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario-et-Maxime, Gérant at Riad Helen, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
¡Hola Carlos!
Mucha gracias por tu comentario ! We are very happy that you liked the few days you spent at Riad Helen. Thank you very much for the nice words you wrote about the place ; we really appreciate ! About the location, it's the opportunity for us to specify that there are actually two ways to walk to Jemaa El Fna square : first one by Fatima Zohra Bd (not really interesting but easier and 10 minutes walking straight ahead) ; second one by the souks (also 10 minutes... if you manage not to stop in all these little attractive shops !) Personally, we really love the area where we live ! It's a quiet typical district, close to all the things to see and not in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the souks... which can be so relaxing sometimes. Well, the most important is that you liked staying at our house ! You're welcome if you want to come back in Marrakech. Say hello to Silvia. ¡Feliz año nuevo! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Marrakech would not have been the same without our wonderful stay here. When you first arrive it is a bit shocking, it is down a few back alleys (as everything is in Marrakech), and your wondering what you have gotten yourself into. And then you open the door to the Riad, and a beautiful oasis appears before you. Such a beautiful and relaxing atmosphere; always nice music playing, fresh mint tea, and wonderful hosts. Mario and Maxime are such a joy, always so helpful if you need a food/activity suggestion, or just about anything really. The food is prepared by a lovely Moroccan lady, Fatiha, who makes sure you are treated to something wonderful at each meal. We were privileged to spend our Christmas Eve with everyone at the Riad, and we could not have asked for anything better for Christmas. We would definitely recommend Riad Helen to anyone considering Marrakech as a vacation spot.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SEAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario-et-Maxime, Gérant at Riad Helen, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Hello Sean, hello Richard,
Thank you so much for your nice (and quick !) message here. We've been very happy to have you at Riad Helen too these last few days. We are particularly glad that you enjoyed your Christmas dinner there. Fatiha thought about this special menu in its entirety (sorry I'm not sure about the word) and prepared it with all the attention that we know. We know how lucky we are to have her with us. Well, we hope that you enjoyed your stay in Casablanca and will enjoy your time in Tangier. Thank you again and have a great New Year's Eve. Best wishes !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Mario & Maxime helped make our first stay in Morocco a very memorable one for us all. We were travelling with our two kids (4 yrs & 18 months), and they were perfect in catering to not only our needs, but also the children's. They bought a new mattress for the baby cot, colouring pens and paper for the kids to play with, were always available to answer our questions - not to mention the many questions of our 4-year-old! Fatiha, who prepares the rooms and breakfast, is also a genuinely lovely lady. In short, beautiful Riad, wonderful hosts, go there!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saundersacraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario-et-Maxime, Gérant at Riad Helen, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Hi Craig !
Thank you so much for your review, and for having chosen us to spend your holidays in Marrakech with your charming family ! We are so happy that you spent good times in our house. As we told you, we don't often welcome families with young kids but Oskar and Emily have been such great kids that it was a real pleasure to have them with us (you can tell Oskar that we put one of his drawings on the fridge door !) Thank you too for the kind words about Fatiha ; she also loves when we have children at the Riad... We wish you in advance a happy new year, to you and Annika and the kids. Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My boyfriend and I absolutely loved this riad. It was our favorite place in all of Morocco. The riad itself is gorgeous, smells good and there was always good music playing. Our room often had rose petals on the bed, which was a nice touch and romantic. The room was also spacious, with a confortable bed, clean bathroom and sitting area. Mario and Maxine were great hosts. They gave good suggestions for sites, drew me a map, and always chatted with us for a bit when we came in and out. Fatimah made the best breakfasts, which were a little different everyday. It was also the best breakfast we had during our trip in Morocco. The location of the riad is excellent. It's close enough, yet far enough from everywhere. You can reach all of the sites by foot. I highly recommend Riad Helen. When we return to Marrakech, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paz079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario-et-Maxime, Gérant at Riad Helen, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hi Nicole, Hi Abhi,
We already had the opportunity to thank you for your nice message but we want to do it there too. We are so happy that you liked our place and had nice holidays in Marrakech and in Morocco. You two have been such nice people and it was a real pleasure for us to welcome you. I've been happily surprised that you came back from your little trip, to have a last breakfast at Riad Helen before your flight back. If you want to come back in Marrakech, you are welcome at our house so feel free to come see us ! Kind regards,
Mario & Maxime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Our stay at Riad Helen was great - the hosts were very helpful. The room was lovely and the roof terrace too. The location of it is quite tricky to find if you don't know where you're going... don't fall into the trap that we did to get someone to show you (and then demand a huge sum of money!) it's down a few back alleys and I wouldn't suggest arriving when it's dark.

There are a few nice restaurants near by and it's lovely to eat on the terrace if it's nice weather. Breakfast was good too!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F_F27_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario-et-Maxime, Gérant at Riad Helen, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hi there !
First we want to thank you about this review ! We are very happy that you enjoyed your (short) stay at Riad Helen, and especially relaxing moments on the terrace :-) It's true that it's not so easy to find your way when you just arrive by night in the Medina ; that's why we offer our guests to take the airport transfer option or to call us when a cab drop them to Dar El Bacha Palace (which is 3 minutes walking) so we can come to pick them up. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Morocco ! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#5 of 1,139 in Marrakech
637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#10 of 1,139 in Marrakech
548 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#11 of 1,139 in Marrakech
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Al-Bushra
Riad Al-Bushra
#4 of 1,139 in Marrakech
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad El Zohar
Riad El Zohar
#17 of 1,139 in Marrakech
501 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad la Parenthese
Riad la Parenthese
#29 of 1,139 in Marrakech
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Helen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Helen

Property: Riad Helen
Address: 138 derb Arset aouzal | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the great Bab Doukkala mosque and Dar El Bacha Palace, gateway to the antiques district, Riad Helen is only 10 minutes walk from the famous square Jemaa el Fna.Its 5 spacious and bright rooms are equipped with a double bed (possibility of an extra bed in one of them). In bathrooms covered with tadelakt (traditional Moroccan plaster) you will find towels, bathrobes and shower brand Les Sens de Marrakech.The Riad has a central patio with fountain where you can enjoy your breakfast or meals. Unless you prefer the dining room, convivial or terrace and a beautiful view over the rooftops of Dar El Bacha Palace.At Riad Helen there is no preset menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Helen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing