We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hosts, accommodation and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Helen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Helen
Ranked #16 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santorini, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing hosts, accommodation and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

If you are visiting Marrakech then stop looking and stay here! The location is central but off the main street so still quiet (however make sure you ask for directions), the Riad is beautiful but what sets it apart are the hosts Mario and Maxim who spoil you with generosity and make it so easy to enjoy Marrakech. All of the great reviews below are accurate and I can not recommend Riad Helen enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattpye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario-et-Maxime, Gérant at Riad Helen, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello Matthew !
Thank you so much for having taken time to write this nice review here ! We feel glad that you enjoyed your stay at Riad Helen :-) We hope that you liked the next days in Casablanca too. Wherever you are now (maybe not anymore in Morocco), we wish you to spend good times and thank you again for your message ! Say hello to Kayla. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
137
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were impressed with the Riad Helen from the moment we made our reservation. We received a warm welcoming email signed by Maxime and Mario (the two French-born managers of the property) confirming our reservation and telling us of amenities included in the rate (including breakfast, wi-fi and "our attention and kindness"). As they advised us in the email, once you arrive in the medina, you have to engage some of the local youths and ask them to walk you to the riad for a tip of a few dirham. After you know where it is, it is a couple of turns from the main street in this part of the medina and easy to find.

I cannot recommend Mario and Maxime's hospitality and professionalism enough! Their service absolutely stood up to their initial email mentioned above. Our suitcases were lost in transit for a few days, including our time in Marrakesh, and they were most understanding. They laundered and tumble dried our clothes for us, since we didn't have anything else to wear, and had already been on the road for a few days. They let us use the phone in the riad to call the Casablanca and Marrakesh airports multiple times daily until we finally were able to retrieve our lost suitcases. They even let us use one of their personal cell phones to call the airline in the U.S. and although this used up all their minutes, they were completely understanding. At the end, they only charged us a little extra for the cell phone minutes. Without their warmth, hospitality and caring attention, our time in Marrakesh would have been ruined.

The riad itself is beautiful and elegant. It does not have rich colorful decoration, but a calming green tea color throughout and it is a real breath of fresh air from the hectic world of the medina. The rooms are clean, tasteful and authentic, and offer true relaxation. (Please note: no phone, fridge or TV in the rooms, at least in ours, in case this is an issue for you). The breakfast was the best of all the places we stayed at in Morocco. Fatima, who comes in every day to help with breakfast and room cleaning, is a wonderful local lady and we really enjoyed her care and presence.

In short, we couldn't have been happier (and luckier) with our choice and recommend the Riad Helen wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1BigBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario-et-Maxime, Gérant at Riad Helen, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hello Anna, hello John,
We are so happily surprised reading your review here ! It's been a long time that you left Morocco and Riad Helen and we want to thank you for not having forgotten us ! :-) We feel glad that you enjoyed the way we run the riad. We try to do the best we can, from the beginning, with detailed emails where you can find all the informations you could need. We remember that you had a big problem with your luggage. It was absolutely normal for us to try to help us so you could think of something else and enjoy your time in Marrakech ! Thank you too for the nice words you wrote about the house and Fatiha's (huge) breakfast. About facilities in the rooms, you are right to specify that there is no fridge (but our guests can use the one we have in the kitchen - and soft drinks are included in the rate of the room), no phone (but we let ours at disposal) and no television (it's a choice, so the house remains as quiet as possible - there is one in the lounge). Thank you again for having decided to share your feelings about your stay at Riad Helen ; we feel very grateful that you did it. Be sure that you will be welcome again if you come back to Marrakech !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This riad is a pure jewel in the heart of the medina, at walking distance from Jemaa el fna square. The place is beautiful and well kept, the service is attentive and friendly, the breakfast is generous, the upstairs terrace is nice and peaceful and the hosts Mario and Maxime are extremely helpful, friendly and polite. I'd stay there hands down any time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario-et-Maxime, Gérant at Riad Helen, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello Antonio !
It's nice to hear news from you ! Thank you for having taken some time to write these kind words about your stay at Riad Helen ! It's been a pleasure to welcome you there and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We don't know where you are now but we wish you all the best for your travel around the world ! And of course, if you want to come back in Marrakech, you know where to find a place to sleep :-) Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Extremely attentive hosts, this was more like a very friendly B&B. The room was very good and very Moroccan. The included breakfast was exceptional and we chose to have the very well priced dinner, cooked by the amazing in house chef (about 30 euros for two people for a 3 course meal consisting of a most beautiful local soup and lamb tagine plus 15 euros for a very nice bottle of local wine). While the hosts were attentive they were not over bearing and it was good to chat to other guests in the common areas. It was about a ten minute walk to the nearest souks (markets) but then a great stroll through literally hundreds of these to the Jamaa el-Fna Square. Both the square and the stroll there are not to be missed experiences. There was nothing to not like, a great experience. For us, on a quick trip just to experience Morocco, it was the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: There are five rooms only here, four are upstairs and I would ask for any one of these as they all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario-et-Maxime, Gérant at Riad Helen, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello Sue, hello Wayne !
We are a little bit late but we thank you for your nice message here ! We feel very glad that you liked your short discovery stay in Marrakech. We've been very happy to meet you both, curious and friendly guests ; we really like when people who don't know each other take time to chat in the courtyard or on the roof :-) That is why we like to work and live in this warm house, with people like Touria and Fatiha who do a great work. It seems that you've been convinced by Fatiha's cooking and we know why ! Again, thank you for all the nice things you said, we sincerely appreciate. We wish you to spend good times in the South of France ! Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

If like us, you have been wading through many reviews of the all the Riads available, look no further!!!! We wanted to experience a stay in a Riad and decided on the Riad Helen and I'm so glad we did. Our hosts Mario and Maxime were brilliant, providing us with maps, advise, water etc - nothing was too much trouble. The Riad itself was spotlessly clean, tidy and very comfortable. Breakfast prepared by Fatiha, was not only tasty but plentiful too!!! Fatiha will cook you a traditional Morrocan meal if requested. Tucked in the back streets meant a completely restful nights sleep but only a 15 minute stroll away from all the hustle and bustle of Jamma El Fna. I would strongly advise asking Mario and Maxime to organise transport from the airport for you - just to make finding the Riad easier unless you know the area well!!! Note to all flying out of Marrakech airport - allow yourself plenty of time - passport control is VERY slow. We allowed 2 and a half hours and had literally 5 mins to spare! Massive thank you to Mario and Maxime we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wish you all the best!!!! Mel and Carl x

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally beautiful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel1673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario-et-Maxime, Gérant at Riad Helen, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello Mel,
We want to thank you sooo much for the time you took to write your review there ! Actually, we are thinking of hiring you to advertise on Riad Helen :-) ! Seriously, it was a real pleasure to have you home with Carl. We tried to be nice hosts as you've been nice guests and we are happy that you appreciated our welcome and the way we run the house. Thank you too for the nice things you wrote about the work Fatiha and Touria do at the riad. Last thing : it's good for us to know that sometimes it takes more time than expected at the airport (we usually tell people to leave 2 hours before the flight hour but we note your advice !). Well, thank you again for everything ! Be sure that you will be welcome in our house if you come back to Marrakech ! Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

This was one of best riads we stayed at during our trip in Morocco.

It is not the easiest to find but we parked the car in the car park beside the mosque and called the owner who came to the car park to meet us.

We had dinner at the riad and it was excellent! Moroccan soup, lamb, artichoke and pea tagine, caramelized pears for dessert.

The breakfast was fantastic- Fatiha the cook prepares a big variety of things!

The rooms were really nice and had red roses and petals on the bed and on the table.

Would recommend this riad to anyone staying in Marrakech!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rollingstone1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario-et-Maxime, Gérant at Riad Helen, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Ciao a tutti !
Thank you so much for your nice review ! We've been very happy to welcome your little group and we feel glad that you liked your stay at Riad Helen. We always try to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible so if you enjoyed it, we did a good job :-) And thank you for your kind words about Fatiha's cooking and breakfasts, it's really nice from you ! Say hello to all your friends and come back when you want ! Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apeldoorn, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful stay in Riad Helen. The hosts make sure you have everything you need and breakfast is the best you can wish for on the sunny rooftop terrace. The atmosphere in the Riad is lovely. It's an oase in the busy Medina where you instantly feel at home.
We recommend enjoying a home cooked Moroccan 3 course diner, made by Fatiha. If we ever need a home in Marrakech again, we would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NinaBlessing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario-et-Maxime, Gérant at Riad Helen, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hello Nina !
Thank you so much for having taken a few minutes to write some words about your stay at Riad Helen ! It was a real pleasure to have you and Nicolai home ; you've been very nice and quiet guests. Thank you also for your nice words about Fatiha's breakfast and cooking. It's true that she does an amazing job ! If you want to come back, you will be always welcome there ! Kind regards :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#3 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad la Parenthese
Riad la Parenthese
#20 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Boussa
Riad Boussa
#13 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Al-Bushra
Riad Al-Bushra
#7 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Aguaviva
Riad Aguaviva
#8 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#6 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Helen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Helen

Property: Riad Helen
Address: 138 derb Arset aouzal | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the great Bab Doukkala mosque and Dar El Bacha Palace, gateway to the antiques district, Riad Helen is only 10 minutes walk from the famous square Jemaa el Fna.Its 5 spacious and bright rooms are equipped with a double bed (possibility of an extra bed in one of them). In bathrooms covered with tadelakt (traditional Moroccan plaster) you will find towels, bathrobes and shower brand Les Sens de Marrakech.The Riad has a central patio with fountain where you can enjoy your breakfast or meals. Unless you prefer the dining room, convivial or terrace and a beautiful view over the rooftops of Dar El Bacha Palace.At Riad Helen there is no preset menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Helen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing