We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, friendly staff....but rooms are baaaaad !!”
Review of Hotel El Kennaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Kennaria
Ranked #410 of 1,153 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“good location, friendly staff....but rooms are baaaaad !!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great location (just behind caffe de Fance). Very friendly staff, nice breakfast;.. That about good things.
Avoid rooms on grand floor. Some of the rooms are very small, dirty and uninvited. Bathroom - very dirty. You can hear receptionist talking on the phone at night or playing cards with mates in front of the building after midnight. In the morning, around 7-8 am.cleaning lady making noise. If you are light sleeper avoid this Riad.

Room Tip: get a room on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DariusKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    65
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
31
50
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is one of the best hostels I ever been for the value. Excellent location, just 1 min to Jmaa el Fna (the square). The staff was so friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast, teas, chill out terrace, beautiful interior. You have the chance to hire trips to other cities through the hostel for a good price. So good.

Room Tip: best rooms are multiple
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tir0l0c0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czech republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

After 11days expirience with morroco this hotel was fine. We stayed for 4 nights. Although there were 2 day of national holiday, owner of hotel prepare lunch for guests, because most of restaurants in city were closed. Rooms with windows to the street are noisy a little bit. Place of Hotel is very good.
We did not have any issues with tidiness od room. I recommend checking the room before check in, because this is general for any hotel in morroco.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pdadak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Terrible experience staying here. I am very confused as to why other reviews for this 'hotel' are positive. It wasn't clean - the floors were dirty, our sheets had holes in them, there were hairs on my pillowcase as well as henna stains, the light in our bathroom didn't work, there was something that resembled a cockroach in our room etc. They played loud music until we asked if they were going to turn it off. The breakfast was very poor. But the worst thing about the whole experience was the customer service. It was awful. Needless to say we didn't stay here after our first night. I am used to staying in hostels and basic accommodation but this was below par indeed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

one of the best hostels, I've ever stayed at. The staff is genuinely friendly and helpful. I'm definitely coming back to this hostel ! Located right in the center of the medina and only one block away from the Jamaa el Fna square, this hostel is a great place to explore the medina.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngieVivis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We were two families with children travelling in Morocco. Our friends first stayed at El Kennaria and had a rather good experience. The rooms were a bit noisy, but the staff was friendly and arranged a nice meal at a restaurant which was opening in the evening. We went all together and spent a nice evening. Since we had to come back to Marrakech at the end of our trip, we booked two family rooms. I personally asked the manager to help me with cancelling another reservation through his computer, and to keep two rooms on the back because they are more quiet. But when we arrived (it was not late, maybe seven in the evening) he said there had been "a problem with planning" and we were offered a single room (two double beds and two single beds squeezed in) for seven people. We were very disappointed about this handling but would have accepted to stay for that night, if the manger would have gone down with the price. We expected they would aknowledge their mistake and be compliant. Moreover, we had to get up at five in the morning to get our flight, so we did not even need to have breakfast. But they offered just a little discount on the room price and were uncompromising. Not really a guest-oriented behaviour: a real pity!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mluisa_milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is the hotel I choose to stay at when I am in Marrakech. It's a charming little place and the staff could not be more helpful. The staff is there to help in anyway possible.
The downstairs area is decorated nicely in Moroccan style, while the top terrace where breakfast is served is open and sunny.
Some evenings, a small improvised musical jam 'happens' and we are entertained with great music.
I like the location, just a couple of minutes walk from the medina and souk, but still quiet enough. You just walk out the door and there you are - everything at your fingertips.
I notice many families at this hotel, and there are different types of rooms, to accommodate everyone's needs.
I thoroughly recommend El Kennaria.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuatarina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.9 mi away
Ibis Marrakech Centre Gare
Ibis Marrakech Centre Gare
#332 of 500 in Marrakech
950 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#67 of 500 in Marrakech
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#335 of 500 in Marrakech
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
#314 of 1,153 in Marrakech
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Harmattan
Riad Harmattan
#397 of 1,153 in Marrakech
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Arjan
Riad Arjan
#499 of 1,153 in Marrakech
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Kennaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Kennaria

Property: Hotel El Kennaria
Address: 10 rue El Kennaria, Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #410 of 1,153 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Kennaria 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel El Kennaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing