We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful insight into the morrocan cuisine”
Review of Hotel El Kennaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Kennaria
Ranked #408 of 1,153 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful insight into the morrocan cuisine”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Took a cooking class teached by Adil and it was absokutely amazing! A hands-on approach, with tips & tricks on how to cook the perfect couscous!

Highly recommend to anyone who wants to have a great experience and learn about traditional morroccan cuisine.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank alexandra_londra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    65
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
31
50
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

After viewing a number of Riads on arrival to Marrakech, we (I was accompanied by my mum and two children) stumbled upon El Kennaria. The rooms upstairs had air conditioning. No.16 was the best from my experience. The hotel was clean and the staff went out of their way to accommodate our every need. More importantly the staff, neighbours and friends made us welcome. My son experienced some sickness after our stay in the Sahara, but the hotel staff made sure he was well attended to and checked up on him every few hours.
The roof terrace is a great place to relax and socialise in the evenings away from the maddening crowd.

Room Tip: Room 16 has air conditioning. Generally the rooms upstairs have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonaLisaCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

i wrote about this hotel before,one year ago.i feel the neeed to add some info on the changes at the hotel.
they have now made it a combined restaurant/hotel..many people come in from the street to eat day or night,
or have a shisha in the roof teracce or even to watch football matches.all this can be disturbing if
you look for a peacefil chill ot, but the atmosfere is still very good,and the staff friendly and helpful.
a shame they had new pillows in,and they are not as good as the old ones;too big for me..not all the rooms have private bath..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siembra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

On arriving in Marrakech we found our riad was over booked and as it was late we just settled for the riad next door it was one of the worst places I have stayed. The next day we got up early to find somewhere else and we came across Hotel El Kennaria - such a blessing!

The staff were friendly, we were able to choose the best room for our stay and got a great price. Breakfast is included and is a perfect start to the day. All the staff were so helpful with booking tours, recommending restaurants and any other questions we had. The roof terrace was a bonus and there is also a restaurant.

I would say if you can, stay in a room on the first floor just because the rooms are a little more private and are lighter, I found the 2 different rooms we stayed in to be clean and well presented. everything you need a bed, and a bathroom, if your looking for luxury go somewhere else but if you want something with a traditional Moroccan feel with friendly staff and that is safe and warm this place is ideal.

I can't recommend it enough

Room Tip: First floor rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

It is unfortunate that the facilities in the rooms let down this beautifully decorated Riad/hotel smack in the middle of the medina. We used 3 rooms all extremely bare, one had No windows, other had a bathroom with shower opposite handbasin and u need to use sideways and no towel rails, and All had no heating, terribly cold at nights. Shame because lovely staff and decor. We checked out after the first night, hope they do something about it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WillyGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great location (just behind caffe de Fance). Very friendly staff, nice breakfast;.. That about good things.
Avoid rooms on grand floor. Some of the rooms are very small, dirty and uninvited. Bathroom - very dirty. You can hear receptionist talking on the phone at night or playing cards with mates in front of the building after midnight. In the morning, around 7-8 am.cleaning lady making noise. If you are light sleeper avoid this Riad.

Room Tip: get a room on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DariusKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is one of the best hostels I ever been for the value. Excellent location, just 1 min to Jmaa el Fna (the square). The staff was so friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast, teas, chill out terrace, beautiful interior. You have the chance to hire trips to other cities through the hostel for a good price. So good.

Room Tip: best rooms are multiple
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tir0l0c0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.9 mi away
Ibis Marrakech Centre Gare
Ibis Marrakech Centre Gare
#334 of 500 in Marrakech
951 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#64 of 500 in Marrakech
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#336 of 500 in Marrakech
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
#313 of 1,153 in Marrakech
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Harmattan
Riad Harmattan
#417 of 1,153 in Marrakech
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Arjan
Riad Arjan
#512 of 1,153 in Marrakech
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Kennaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Kennaria

Property: Hotel El Kennaria
Address: 10 rue El Kennaria, Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #408 of 1,153 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Kennaria 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel El Kennaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing