We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints!”
Review of Riad Shaloma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Shaloma
Ranked #178 of 1,144 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“No complaints!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I normally like to have some type if complaint, but I really can't think of one! I have been to many hotels and this Riad is better than some of the 5* London hotels I have been in.
The manager 'Abdul' was very friendly, seamed to work all the time! Was very helpful with everything. The rooms were spacious and had everything that we needed. The breakfast was great, and even got English tea if requested!
We did a tour they suggested as well, to the water full. Very recommended. Be careful of people on the street that try to direct you to places, they charge you money! Abdul is happy to walk you to where you need to go if you are not sure. Stay here! You will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunmay8831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    76
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
107
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Myself and 2 friends stayed at the riad for 4 nights. The staff were really friendly and will go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Provide you with information/ directions. Walk with you to find your way to the main street. Arrange trips / taxi's / restaurant bookings etc.
The courtyard and roof terrace are a right treat. Breakfast is lovely. All in all I thought this was a great place to stay, that provides a little adventure through the streets to the main square. Main square is a 15min walk away and it doesn't take long to find your way around the small streets etc. and get used to the traffic. We always felt 100% safe in the riad and were always welcomed by a lovely smile from the manager!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances_R27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

dont let the outside view or the way to the riad put you off guys. It is such a hidden gem that I actually wished I could have stayed a little longer. Staff were all family of one running the riad, and they do indeed treat their customers as if we were their own house guests from faraway. All attentive and well thought out. Breakfast simple but delicious. Room was immaculately clean and cleaned on a daily basis. Very good stay indeed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Have just returned from 5 days in Riad Shaloma where we were welcomed with all the kindness and warmth of Maroccan people. The riad is clean, comfortably furnished, well decorated and well located. All the main sites in Marrakech are within walking distance and although the riad is situated in the midst of a labyrinth of small alleys, we never felt lost or in any way unsafe. On two occasions, we had to get up at 7am yet the staff were always punctual and ready to serve us with breakfast which is simple but healthy. The whole atmosphere is peaceful and relaxing and both ever-smiling Abdou and kind gentle Shafik are always on hand and willing to meet your needs. Wonderful stay, would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60Judith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My wife and I spent 7 days in Riad Shaloma and had wonderful time. Extremely friendly and helpful personnel. The best Moroccan food we tried was in fact in the Riad.
Chafik and Abdel were so helpful in giving us any advice we might think of, arranging a wonderful tour to Atlas mountains and to Essaouira on the Atlantic cost, as well as walking tours in Marrakesh itself and answering thousands of questions we had. I would definitely recommend this Riad over big hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My first impressions of Riad Shaloma were exactly as expected. A lovely homely riad with a central courtyard, where you can eat whilst gazing at the moon and stars in utter amazement.

Our bedroom was clean and spacious with a touch of Moroccan. We immediately felt relaxed as it was tranquil and there was a seating area and a safe for our valuables. The showers were lovely and hot too and free Wifi was available in all areas of the riad.

Chafik the Manager was a true gentleman. He picked us up after our airport transfer, guided us through the dark alleys whilst carrying our luggage and then provided us with a delicious three course meal at midnight after our late flight.

The neighbourhood is very friendly and safe so don't let the dark alleys overwhelm you ......we were two women travelling alone, often returning from the square around midnight and we felt safe. The riad is well signposted too.

The next day, at our request, Chafik led the way to the local hammam & even offered to pay for us as we were struggling to find some loose change. He also gave us his card and mobile number incase we forgot our way back. He made us feel like we were the only guests staying at Shaloma. Amazing hospitality!

We requested breakfast on the terrace and nothing seemed like too much trouble for the staff. They were friendly and approachable and worked hard to ensure a smooth running of the riad. Upon request, they even made us some English tea instead of the usual coffee. The fruit was always fresh and presented well.

Eating in at Shaloma was not an option for us as we were always out sightseeing, but I would highly recommend it. Even for your first meal, especially as ours was so delicious. I will never forget that Lamb Tagine.

One evening, we took the opportunity to discuss the negative review left on TripAdvisor by a particular guest staying at Shaloma, and discovered what really happened.

It is a shame that selfish people who wish to make false insurance claims spoil the reputation of a lovely riad with trustworthy staff.

The Manager Chafik, although young, is a very amiable and hardworking man who will go out of his way to ensure that your stay is comfortable. I don't think his young age is a discredit to him, ( like one review suggested) rather, he is on the ball and has the energy to ensure that all the guests at Shaloma have a pleasurable stay.

Rest assured and go and visit Shaloma…….for us a very easy 10/10!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Moons A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Our first stay in a Riad, and this was one was excellent. We arrived at night and had arranged with the owner to be collected from the Airport, as hiring a car is not recommended if you are staying within the Medina Walls. The Riad is off the main road so very quiet. Rooms are spacious cleaned daily with fresh towels and beds made. The Riad is beautifully decorated in traditional Moroccan style. Bathroom is fabulous with a brilliant shower and plenty of hot water. Riad has Wifi. The owner and staff will arrange trips, taxis and provide a map with recommendations of where to go. Walking is best way to see the City and horse and carriage from the main Fna square (about 20 mins walk). Breakfast is simple fruit, bread and omelette, but filling until lunch. Riad is suitable for couples, family and friends and solo tourists.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor better if you do not want to look out on the courtyard in the mornings, whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jnane Sbile
Hotel Jnane Sbile
#71 of 98 in Fes
84 reviews
2.1 mi away
Amani Hotel Appart
Amani Hotel Appart
#169 of 499 in Marrakech
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#36 of 499 in Marrakech
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#72 of 499 in Marrakech
671 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#86 of 499 in Marrakech
536 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Amiris
Riad Amiris
#311 of 1,144 in Marrakech
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Shaloma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shaloma

Property: Riad Shaloma
Address: 120 bis derb Ahel Souss | Quartier Berrima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 1,144 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Shaloma 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Shaloma is situated in the Medina of Marrakesh, near the Palais Royal and a few minutes away from the famous historic monuments such the Palace El Badi , the Palace of Bahia, the graves Saadiens and the place Djeema El Fna. It consists of eight rooms with privative toilets, air conditioning, casket-fort, hairdryers, bathrobes. Terrace with pergola and view on the Medina and the Atlas Mountains. Parking lot kept for 150 m ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Shaloma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing