We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value set menu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Terrasse Palais El Badia

Cafe Terrasse Palais El Badia
Ranked #195 of 847 Restaurants in Marrakech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Lovely terrace restaurant serving reasonably priced set lunch and dinner menus close to Palais El Badia. Entrance does not do it justice as narrow flight of stairs leads to restaurant on upper floor. Lovely terrace setting with excellent service.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good value set menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across this place and were attracted by their cheap set menu (60dh) and the nice terrace on the top - we weren't disappointed. Lovely Moroccan salad starter, followed by lemon chicken tagine and bread, followed by oranges with cinnamon. Perfect quantities for a hot day and nice to sit on the terrace. Service was absolutely fine and considering the meal cost £5 each, you really can't fault the place!

Helpful?
Thank hopesprings12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    77
    19
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
206 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Only Menues, relatively high prices, service and friendliness ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Tourists only. No single dishes. Price level 80-120 dhs per menue. Service needs to improve. Typical tourist restaurant which you can find to often in Marakech.

Helpful?
1 Thank mcfri
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Inexpensive good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The herbal shop downstairs recommended this place. I loved the rooftop view over the medersa and the minaret nearby - in fact, the call to prayer happened during our lunch and it was exquisite.

Food was delicious! The only problem was they were quite busy and took a long time with taking our order, and then made a mistake so I had to wait for my tagine while my Mom was eating. They brought it to me sizzling hot and I still had to wait for it cool. But it was very tasty and the ambience is lovely.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ronitsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great cheap place to dine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant by our guest house management & we were glad we went there.
It may not look the greatest as you walk through the front doors, and up the stairs but we were welcomed as soon as we walked through the restaurant. There was 2 places to dine, inside in the warmth or out in the terrace. We opted for indoors.
The set menu is simple & not a lot of variety but you know they concentrate on cooking those few dishes to make it taste nice.
You have a starter of soup or salad, a main, fruit for dessert, & tea & biscuits.
The waiters were nice & when we told them the soup was nice, they offered to give us another bowl of soup if we wanted some more! I thought that was a nice little touch.
The food definitely fills you up & you leave there very satisfied.
We enjoyed it so much the first time, we returned the following day!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucys_travel_advice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a great café/restaurant overlooking the Place Des Ferblantiers and the nesting stocks on the walls of the Palace. We had the set lunch of salad, main course, fruit and coffee and it was probably the best lunch of our stay in Marrakech. It was simple, good and very reasonable and we would certainly return if we visit the city.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BucksJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Terrasse Palais El Badia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe Terrasse Palais El Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing