We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Hotel Almas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Almas
Ranked #142 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Excellent place to stay after day touring. The beds were very comfy the room was very nice and clean also spacious. Location was great walked to the old city only aprix 15-20min walk. Theres many nice restaurant cafe about also a supermarket. The staff were very friendly polite and professional. Coukdnt ask for more great value I would say its a 5+star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snmiah78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    230
    61
    7
    14
See reviews for
92
184
56
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel is fairly close to the airport, about a 15 min drive traffic dependant. The hotel is situated in the 'new' part of the town close to shops/bars etc.. You do need a taxi/bus though to travel to the medina/old town.
Facilities in the hotel are basic, the bed and pillows were a little too hard for my liking and my room was at the front of the hotel so noise at night was a problem and struggled to get to sleep. Nice TV but unfortunately no English channels, although you do get to the odd show/movie shown in English with Arabic subtitles.
The breakfast was very poor, the orange juice diluted and clearly targeted to the European market, but I suppose that's what you have to expect in a Muslim country - you're not going to get bacon and sausage!! :)
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, even personally showing me were to by alcohol locally - a general point as this is a Muslim country very few restaurants serve alcohol, particularly in and around the medina.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The best thing I liked was it's location and value, you can walk to a good variety of shops,restaurants and bars. They don't have private parking space for your car if you have one so I used the public parking area across the street from the main door and you have to tell the parking guard to watch it out for you

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hosam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge Wiltshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in the medina and then decided to stay in gueliz for 2 nights to sample the 'new city'. The hotel is in a great location jusy a short 5 mins walk to the shopping centre, cafes and bars. The hotel staff were very pleasant. The breakfast was very nice with a large variety of food to choose from. Our room was ok. It was very spacious, and bright with a nice balcony. The negatives were that there appeared to be a large gap in one part of the ceiling where you could see into like the loft part of the hotel? At first we thought this was a broken ceiling panel. When checking with the staff and having a look in another room it would appear this is just how it is designed? Maybe? It did not effect our stay but it was unsightly and almost looked like someone could get in if they wanted. We did also see a lot of ants in the bathroom and in the bed. The rooftop swimming pool was very nice clean and relaxing. This is not the worst hotel I have stayed in but I would only describe it as ok.

Helpful?
1 Thank gemma_shrp
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here twice during the same trip to Morocco and had we not returned I would have rated it more highly, particularly for the suite rooms we were given first time round. Internet connection was also good when in certain areas of the hotel, and it was free. But on both occasions the breakfast choice was poor and the organisation of it worse. I know breakfast isn't an extensive and wide ranging meal in Morocco but they could have at least made sure what was on offer was replenished regularly and the orange juice not so diluted that it tasted like squash. Our second visit was really disappointing because our son was allocated a room that reeked of smoke and we weren't asked beforehand if we wanted a non-smoking room (if they exist). It was sad that it was let down by poor management as the location is great; being so close to the number 1 bus route that goes to the Medina for 4 dirhams and just round the corner from the excellent Amaia restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simon-fidler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel certainly stands out on the street!

We arrived on the 27th Oct and the taxi fare here from the airport was 150dirhams, took about 15 mins. It would appear the pricing is set on the airport boards near the taxi rank.

We were signed in quickly and given our key - it is one of the credit card type keys, which is great but it also activates the electricity in the room which is not so great if you want to charge items up when you are out as as soon as you remove the card the power goes. A minor hitch though and many hotels are now going down this route.

The reception area was very inviting and the "lounge" area outside the main door was very nice and we spent time sat here every night after a last coffee of the day in Winoo (a great juice / coffee bar two doors up).

Staff on reception were very helpful at all times.

We were on the 5th floor and there is, fortunately, a lift.

The room was large and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom which had a lovely large shower with plentiful hot water, although the water pressure did dip a few times.

The bed was lovely and firm and HUGE! I think it was a double and single pushed together. Bedding was lovely and crisp and seemed to be changed daily.

There was a large flatscreen TV in the room, which didn't show English channels but the music channel came in handy.

Lighting in the room was a tad dim but not a major hassle.

There is a fridge in the room as well, which is big enough to hold a few bottles of water.

Breakfast was a continental type affair and there was always plenty of everything, although tea spoons always seemed to be out of stock / all used when we hit the dining room but staff were happy to go and grab some.

The swimming pool on the roof is small, very small and we didn't use it but we did spend some time up there taking in the view and just having a relax. Again, like the rest of the hotel the pool and surrounding area was very clean.

A taxi to Katoubia Mosque was 25dirhams and to the Tanneries was 35dirham, coming back from the square at night was more pricey at 50dirhams but we had been forewarned fares could double as darkness fell.

As mentioned reception staff were very helpful for sourcing cab pricing and they did make a call for us as well.

The hotel is about a 25 to 35 minute walk from the Fna square so not far at all really and a cab was cheap enough anyway.

The only thing I wish they would consider investing in is room safes.

As we went back to the airport in daylight we got a cab for 90 dirhams, but you can expect to pay anything from 75 to 100 dirhams.

We stayed 5 nights and the only extra over and above the booked price was a 100dirham tourist tax which we were expecting and were informed about when checking in.

All in all we found the Almas to be in an excellent location, to be very clean and with very helpful & friendly staff and would therefore have no problem in recommending this Hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ollossm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

I am not sure what the normal rooms are like as the amazing staff upgraded us to a suite and it was beautiful, large comfy bed and balcony. The staff was very helpful with our bags, directions, taxis and questions. Internet was great and very fast. Is nice and close to some great restaurants. Definatly a well priced alternative to staying in the Medina

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wade k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
1.1 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#400 of 496 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#130 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.5 mi away
LABRANDA Les Idrissides Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#1 of 1 in Lagouassem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#153 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fashion
Hotel Fashion
#184 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Almas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almas

Property: Hotel Almas
Address: 79, Avenue Moulay Rachid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Almas 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech, the red pearl of the desert, hosts a real gem: ALMAS Hotel. Located at the heart of the animated Gueliz district, ALMAS Hotel, a real haven of comfort,is a few minutes away from the famous Jamaa-el-Fna Square. You are going to find all the hospitality and comfort of a great hotel close to Mohammed V Avenue known for its cafes,restaurants and shops. ALMAS Hotel also offers an open view over the city and the Atlas Mount from its panoramic sun terrace, an excellent space for relaxation. A swimming pool and a snack also located there. High Quality and Attentive Service Faithful to the Moroccan hospitality, ALMAS Hotel reserves warm and convivial welcome;besides the careful personnel is at your service 24/ 24hs. A breakfast service is proposed and lets you start your day with a magnificent buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Almas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing