We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel”
Review of Hotel Almas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Almas
Ranked #147 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed two nights at either end of a tour. Hotel was clean and comfortable, although beds were a bit firm. All staff helpful and location was a good mix - walking just to centre but also good for airport and quite quiet. Would stay there again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiddleEnglandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Almas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

Lovely hotel with all the modern facilities you might need at a reasonable price. Staff were also very helpful when our AC didn't work and the layout of the rooms is very nice, they're spacious and clean. Some rooms come with a small outdoor terrace with a table and two chairs and some have a large window with a view to the road. In a really nice area, Gueliz, if you turn right and walk down, you'll come to the main road where there are shops and food places e.g. McDonalds and Zara. On the left of the hotel is an amazingly cheap restaurant, they do pizza etc and lots of the locals come there. There's also a fish restaurant nearby. Breakfast is ok, they do Morrocan pancakes and a variety of fresh croissants and pain au chocolat type things. I can't find any faults with this hotel, would definitely recommend,

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Excellent place to stay after day touring. The beds were very comfy the room was very nice and clean also spacious. Location was great walked to the old city only aprix 15-20min walk. Theres many nice restaurant cafe about also a supermarket. The staff were very friendly polite and professional. Coukdnt ask for more great value I would say its a 5+star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snmiah78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel is fairly close to the airport, about a 15 min drive traffic dependant. The hotel is situated in the 'new' part of the town close to shops/bars etc.. You do need a taxi/bus though to travel to the medina/old town.
Facilities in the hotel are basic, the bed and pillows were a little too hard for my liking and my room was at the front of the hotel so noise at night was a problem and struggled to get to sleep. Nice TV but unfortunately no English channels, although you do get to the odd show/movie shown in English with Arabic subtitles.
The breakfast was very poor, the orange juice diluted and clearly targeted to the European market, but I suppose that's what you have to expect in a Muslim country - you're not going to get bacon and sausage!! :)
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, even personally showing me were to by alcohol locally - a general point as this is a Muslim country very few restaurants serve alcohol, particularly in and around the medina.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bazellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The best thing I liked was it's location and value, you can walk to a good variety of shops,restaurants and bars. They don't have private parking space for your car if you have one so I used the public parking area across the street from the main door and you have to tell the parking guard to watch it out for you

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hosam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in the medina and then decided to stay in gueliz for 2 nights to sample the 'new city'. The hotel is in a great location jusy a short 5 mins walk to the shopping centre, cafes and bars. The hotel staff were very pleasant. The breakfast was very nice with a large variety of food to choose from. Our room was ok. It was very spacious, and bright with a nice balcony. The negatives were that there appeared to be a large gap in one part of the ceiling where you could see into like the loft part of the hotel? At first we thought this was a broken ceiling panel. When checking with the staff and having a look in another room it would appear this is just how it is designed? Maybe? It did not effect our stay but it was unsightly and almost looked like someone could get in if they wanted. We did also see a lot of ants in the bathroom and in the bed. The rooftop swimming pool was very nice clean and relaxing. This is not the worst hotel I have stayed in but I would only describe it as ok.

1  Thank gemma_shrp
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here twice during the same trip to Morocco and had we not returned I would have rated it more highly, particularly for the suite rooms we were given first time round. Internet connection was also good when in certain areas of the hotel, and it was free. But on both occasions the breakfast choice was poor and the organisation of it worse. I know breakfast isn't an extensive and wide ranging meal in Morocco but they could have at least made sure what was on offer was replenished regularly and the orange juice not so diluted that it tasted like squash. Our second visit was really disappointing because our son was allocated a room that reeked of smoke and we weren't asked beforehand if we wanted a non-smoking room (if they exist). It was sad that it was let down by poor management as the location is great; being so close to the number 1 bus route that goes to the Medina for 4 dirhams and just round the corner from the excellent Amaia restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simon-fidler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#447 of 502 in Marrakech
699 reviews
0.5 mi away
LABRANDA Les Idrissides Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#238 of 502 in Marrakech
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#204 of 502 in Marrakech
765 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#132 of 502 in Marrakech
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fashion
Hotel Fashion
#208 of 502 in Marrakech
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Almas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almas

Address: 79, Avenue Moulay Rachid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £35 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Almas 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech, the red pearl of the desert, hosts a real gem: ALMAS Hotel. Located at the heart of the animated Gueliz district, ALMAS Hotel, a real haven of comfort,is a few minutes away from the famous Jamaa-el-Fna Square. You are going to find all the hospitality and comfort of a great hotel close to Mohammed V Avenue known for its cafes,restaurants and shops. ALMAS Hotel also offers an open view over the city and the Atlas Mount from its panoramic sun terrace, an excellent space for relaxation. A swimming pool and a snack also located there. High Quality and Attentive Service Faithful to the Moroccan hospitality, ALMAS Hotel reserves warm and convivial welcome;besides the careful personnel is at your service 24/ 24hs. A breakfast service is proposed and lets you start your day with a magnificent buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Almas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing