We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atlas Mountain trek”
Review of Roches Armed

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roches Armed
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were on a mountain trek with a family group and stopped here for lunch before our descent. Delicious food, friendly staff and the most fabulous views - this really made our day special and provided welcome rest and recovery after our climb! Would definitely recommend it for a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaxx667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

For TRIPADVISOR first: this place is named ROCHES AREMD not Armed and it is located in IMLIL not in Marrakesh.
It has actually the best location of all lodgings in Imlil on a hilltop with fantastic views. But if you're arriving by foot it is a 300 meter climb.
It is very professional. That's positive as well as negative. Don't expect a 'homestay' in a local house. Anyway Imlil is not the places for that, you must go to more remote, less touristy villages.
For hikers and climbers, I guess there are cheaper places in Imlil, but the location is worth the 50 Drh extra.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stunning location and fabulous staff. Great value meals and basic but comfy beds. You need a sturdy vehicle to get up here but once arrived you feel as if you have left the rest of the world behind and there is no better spot from which to explore the Imlil valley.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Mohammed, Samir and Hamid could not have been more hospitable and friendly. A stunning location at around 2,000 metres, up a steep dirt track and looking up to Mount Toubkal. We drove but the hotel will send transport into Imlil if needed. The rooms were basic but clean and there were shared toilets and hot showers. The open fires in the two sitting/dining rooms were certainly needed in late November, as were the generous piles of blankets in the unheated bedrooms. The food was hearty, tasty and plentiful and the roof terrace a wonderful place to enjoy the sun and wonderful views. We were pointed to a straightforward but beautiful trek up the mountain but there were guides and mules available for the more adventurous. We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights there.

Room Tip: The two doubles had the best beds but the larger communal rooms were warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNMP333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Roches Armed...what a find! We, a family of 5,...parents and three teenagers, had 4 fabulous days and nights there and think of it as a very special place. The location is stunning....we got a taxi to Imlil and walked the last 45 minutes up the track to the guesthouse with Samir as our guide. The luggage went by car. That was the start of a wonderful stay. Samir was at our side to help us in every way, translating, serving us delicious meals, telling us about the culture and being a real friend. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts and dinners were beautifully presented and delicious. Best food we had during our stay in Morocco and fantastic value.We are all vegetarian and the chefs went to an amazing amount of trouble to prepare our meals. The last night we had a vegetable dish where all the vegetable were cut into special shapes and it was a work of art and very, very tasty. The accommodation was simple and very clean with a welcoming sitting/ dining room with open fire. Stunning view from the terrace and fabulous opportunities for star gazing. We felt so relaxed and at ease with the genuine welcome and warm hospitality.
We walked every day in the mountains and can't wait to get back. Excellent place for an adventurous holiday with our teenagers. Very good wifi near the front door.
Just go! The Atlas mountains are spectacular and Mr Hseine, Samir, Said, Hamid and Hassan will give you a real Moroccan adventure.

Room Tip: Family space all together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

A beautiful location in the Atlas mountains in Marocco. The hotel is situated on top of a hill at the town of Imlil. It is half an hour hike from the busstation. The hotel has got a roofterrace so you can overlook the surroundings and there is a beautiful vieuw on mount Toubkal. There are guids for the trip to Toubkal. The staff is very friendly and helpfull.
Good price: I payed 200 dirham for a night, dinner and breakfast included. Good food.
Jaap Visser
Netherlands

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaap V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

You have to work a little to get there--it's in a small mountain Berber village next to Toubkal...best place to take off from if you are trekking around Toubkal, or climbing it. As another reviewer pointed out, resist the scouts trying to get you to stay in Imlil--this is just a little bit further and well worth the extra time. You have a 360 degree view of the valleys and other mountain villages, that from the roof top terrace will take your breath away...I even enjoyed climbing around the narrow rocky lanes of the village to explore and chat with the locals--who were very friendly--, while my companion worked on climbing Toubkal.
The host, Brahim, could not have been more helpful or generous with his time, and he was responsible for the food that was close to perfect tagine! Also had lovely breakfasts that he made...all served in the traditional Moroccan style, with lots of plates of goodies and very very colorful. It was simply great.
The rooms were clean and pleasant and the bathroom was modern--rather amazing as we were up so high and away from the rest of the world. If you are going to do Toubkal, you must stay at this auberge! You won't regret it!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
35 mi away
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
34.9 mi away
Riad Souad
Riad Souad
#39 of 315 in Marrakech
301 reviews
34.1 mi away
Dream Kasbah
Dream Kasbah
#34 of 315 in Marrakech
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.1 mi away
Red Castle Hostel - Backpacker
Red Castle Hostel - Backpacker
#19 of 315 in Marrakech
49 reviews
34.9 mi away
Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech
Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech
#41 of 315 in Marrakech
187 reviews
34.6 mi away
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
#26 of 315 in Marrakech
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roches Armed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roches Armed

Address: Ste. LES ROCHES ARMED S.A.R.L | Douar Aremd-Imlil Asni, Marrakech 42152, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 315 Speciality Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range: £34 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hostel Roches Armed is your host structure in the Toubkal Massif and the surrounding areas in the chain of the High Atlas.Here, we are just 10 minutes drive from the village of Imlil, or 30 minutes walk ... (Preferably a 4x4 or a small car ..).We have a professional team of muleteers, cooks, assistants and guides accompanying mountains in graduate status.Our teammates make their tasks by love and devotion to later full satisfaction of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Roches Armed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing