We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roches Armed

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roches Armed
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Excellent. really enjoyed staying here.
Got the bus/taxi to imlil via asni and then walked to aroumd. Stayed a night there before walking to the refuge and spending a night there. Then walked up Toubkal and back to aroumd the next day.
Three course dinner, night and breakfast for 150 Dirham, great! Water and tea included.
really friendly, clean, hot shower, clean toilets, beautiful sun terrace with stunning view of mountains.
They also looked after our big bags whilst we did the trek.

The hostel is located at the top of town so make sure you walk past anyone else trying to get you into their hostels with similar names!.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
23
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here on the last two nights of my trek around the Toubkal Massif. Would first of all say that it is extremely comfortable and welcoming while being nice and quiet, being located in Aroumd away from the busy streets of Imlil. It's a great location for starting an ascent of Toubkal as Aroumd has very easy access to the Mizane Valley (well I suppose it's actually in the Mizane Valley!).

As a solo trekker nearing the end of my trip, I enjoyed the relative luxury of showers, a nice lounge and a long sleep in a soft bed. Also there was somewhere to wash and dry my clothes.The garden at the front was very pleasant to sit in and drink tea although larger groups may prefer to appreciate the mountain view from the extensive terraces.

All in all a lovely stay and I hope the new born kid goat is doing well....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were on a mountain trek with a family group and stopped here for lunch before our descent. Delicious food, friendly staff and the most fabulous views - this really made our day special and provided welcome rest and recovery after our climb! Would definitely recommend it for a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaxx667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
323 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

For TRIPADVISOR first: this place is named ROCHES AREMD not Armed and it is located in IMLIL not in Marrakesh.
It has actually the best location of all lodgings in Imlil on a hilltop with fantastic views. But if you're arriving by foot it is a 300 meter climb.
It is very professional. That's positive as well as negative. Don't expect a 'homestay' in a local house. Anyway Imlil is not the places for that, you must go to more remote, less touristy villages.
For hikers and climbers, I guess there are cheaper places in Imlil, but the location is worth the 50 Drh extra.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stunning location and fabulous staff. Great value meals and basic but comfy beds. You need a sturdy vehicle to get up here but once arrived you feel as if you have left the rest of the world behind and there is no better spot from which to explore the Imlil valley.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Mohammed, Samir and Hamid could not have been more hospitable and friendly. A stunning location at around 2,000 metres, up a steep dirt track and looking up to Mount Toubkal. We drove but the hotel will send transport into Imlil if needed. The rooms were basic but clean and there were shared toilets and hot showers. The open fires in the two sitting/dining rooms were certainly needed in late November, as were the generous piles of blankets in the unheated bedrooms. The food was hearty, tasty and plentiful and the roof terrace a wonderful place to enjoy the sun and wonderful views. We were pointed to a straightforward but beautiful trek up the mountain but there were guides and mules available for the more adventurous. We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights there.

Room Tip: The two doubles had the best beds but the larger communal rooms were warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNMP333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Roches Armed...what a find! We, a family of 5,...parents and three teenagers, had 4 fabulous days and nights there and think of it as a very special place. The location is stunning....we got a taxi to Imlil and walked the last 45 minutes up the track to the guesthouse with Samir as our guide. The luggage went by car. That was the start of a wonderful stay. Samir was at our side to help us in every way, translating, serving us delicious meals, telling us about the culture and being a real friend. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts and dinners were beautifully presented and delicious. Best food we had during our stay in Morocco and fantastic value.We are all vegetarian and the chefs went to an amazing amount of trouble to prepare our meals. The last night we had a vegetable dish where all the vegetable were cut into special shapes and it was a work of art and very, very tasty. The accommodation was simple and very clean with a welcoming sitting/ dining room with open fire. Stunning view from the terrace and fabulous opportunities for star gazing. We felt so relaxed and at ease with the genuine welcome and warm hospitality.
We walked every day in the mountains and can't wait to get back. Excellent place for an adventurous holiday with our teenagers. Very good wifi near the front door.
Just go! The Atlas mountains are spectacular and Mr Hseine, Samir, Said, Hamid and Hassan will give you a real Moroccan adventure.

Room Tip: Family space all together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
0.0 mi away
Dar Imperial
Dar Imperial
#1 of 2 in Aremd
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Agelzime
Dar Agelzime
#33 of 39 in Imlil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.0 mi away
Imlil Authentic Toubkal Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Imlil Lodge
Imlil Lodge
#3 of 39 in Imlil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Jnane Imlil
Riad Jnane Imlil
#1 of 39 in Imlil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gite Atlas Mazik
Gite Atlas Mazik
#14 of 39 in Imlil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roches Armed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roches Armed

Property: Roches Armed
Address: Ste. LES ROCHES ARMED S.A.R.L | Douar Aremd-Imlil Asni, Marrakech 42152, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 272 Speciality Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hostel Roches Armed is your host structure in the Toubkal Massif and the surrounding areas in the chain of the High Atlas.Here, we are just 10 minutes drive from the village of Imlil, or 30 minutes walk ... (Preferably a 4x4 or a small car ..).We have a professional team of muleteers, cooks, assistants and guides accompanying mountains in graduate status.Our teammates make their tasks by love and devotion to later full satisfaction of our guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing