We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity on the inside of the medina”
Review of Riad des Etoiles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad des Etoiles
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Riad Elsa is a lovely small riad on the inside of The Marrakech medina. I cannot describe the calmness experienced once you walk through the doors out of the heat.
While not all the rooms have air conditioning, they are clean, tastefully decorated and comfortable.
The indoor plunge pool is divine! Deep enough so you can take a dip or just lovely to sit around the edge and dangle your feet in while drinking delicious mint tea.
Staff are lovely and so helpful with maps, recommendations etc.
We had a lovely stay in fact we decided to return a week later!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilRedAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

Great little Riad with amazing service from the staff, Adbullah and Ismael. Amazing breakfast to set you up for the day on the lovely roof terrace which was perfect for catching some rays.
Only down point is it is about 20mins walk from the Square- great if you want some quiet but it is not very central although ideal to get to the Palace from.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lia_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

The hotel was definetly above al expectations. Very clean, very comfortable and beautifully traditional. We arrived at night and walking through the alleys to get there felt a bit dodgy but it was just a matter of getting used to it, quite safe. Abdullah will help you with your questions and needs and was very kind. Breakfast is very good, you get everything freshly made since there is no buffet but they serve specially for you. The location is perfect as it is just around the corner from where all the to-see things are happening which makea it noise free and calm but only on walking distance to everywhere. All in all a very good experience and I would without hesitation recommend this hotel. Do use the taxi service the hotel offers. It's 150 dhm and they walk with you all the way to the front door, which is basically imposible to find on your own the first time due to the maze alleys you have to go through. Also 150 dhm is the normal going rate, i've talked to travelers who payed up to 200 but never less than 150.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BehnazBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Our stay at Riad Elsa was amazing! The riad was lovely and very traditional, and breakfast was delicious. Ismael was so helpful in organizing all the activities which were excellent! He was a great help as he was available 24/7 and whatever we needed he would provide that very day! Brigette, Mustafa, and Saadia were also so welcoming and helpful! We would definitely recommend staying with these guys as the service is on point! Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smp2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We had a very pleasant stay in Marrakech due to this hotel. The rooms were clean, the staff were very frriendly and the breakfast was a good start for the day. The room was probably a bit moist and had no airconditioning, but the beds were fine, the swimming pool was very refreshing in the Maroccan heat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skouwehand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I stayed here off and on during 2 weeks in Morocco, using Marrakech as a travel base.
Brigitte and Ismael and the team gave a very warm welcome and were always helpful with arranging trips and taxis, buying train and bus tickets for me, etc.

Location is good yet quiet, hidden in a network of alleys in the Berrima district, a few minutes walk from the royal palace and El Badi palace, and about 15 minutes (I think) walk from the big square (Djemaa El Fna). It is hard to find first time. The hotel arranged a taxi from the airport when I arrived and they met the taxi to guide me on foot for the last 100M or so to the riad.

Rooms are comfortable. Some have aircon, some don't (not that it mattered when I was there in November).
There is a pleasant roof terrace but no view (unless perhaps you can see over the walls).

Some evenings they served a delicious meal when a group wanted to eat in.

Good value and warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAKID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We spent one night at Riad Elsa. The room was clean and nice. It got swimmingpool, nice terrace and helpful staff. Smoking are allowed in the living room and other common areas.

Breakfast were excellent.

Room Tip: Make your booking online and get a cheaper price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller_from_DNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Souad
Riad Souad
#35 of 305 in Marrakech
300 reviews
1 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 500 in Marrakech
2,113 reviews
2.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 500 in Marrakech
1,315 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.5 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#268 of 500 in Marrakech
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad des Etoiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad des Etoiles

Address: 120, Derb Ahel Sousse | Quartier Berrima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 305 Speciality Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range: £22 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for visiting the old palaces, "Riad des étoiles" invites you to enjoy an unforgettable stay in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. It features a plunge pool and a sun terrace where you can have breakfast or dinner in a unique atmosphere of birdsong and soft lighting. Surrender to sunbathe while traveling in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Riad des Etoiles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing