We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice holiday but mixture of Good and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club marrakech
Ranked #139 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
England United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice holiday but mixture of Good and bad”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Not a 5* at all So don't expect it to be that, would say a 3* at max.

I'll break it down to good and bad so it's easier for people to understand.

*Good* :-)
- Friendly helpful staff (that's how we found them)
- Amazing slides (You have to try them)
- Rooms are spacious
- You must visit the town especially at night. It was an amazing experience
- Secure and a Free safe which meant you don't have carry any valuables with you even when leaving the complex
- Soo many activities to keep the kids busy from morning to evening (Football pitch, table tennis, Mini Golf, Inside heated swimming pool, pool tables, evening entertainment)
- Free shuttle bus into town 4 times a day which we went on every morning
- Cash machine as well as currency exchange at the hotel with almost same exchange rate you get in Marrakech town
- Beautiful view of the Atlas Mountains
- Local bus takes you to town and back from 7 Dirhams each way and stops outside the hotel but gets full on way back and you need to shove yourself on first but beware of Pickpockets

*Bad* :-(
- Food was repetitive especially breakfast and you have to queue for warm food and people jump the queues. Afternoon snack finishes if you don't get there early and they don't bring anymore!! Pizzas were basically hard and were served in small 2 or 3 pieces each from a very large rectangular hard dough. Some of the desert was left overnight in the freezer and were still frozen when you tried to eat them (Yoghurts) Rice was at times hard and food would get cold if you came late. Basically get there early otherwise you'll only eat left overs if your lucky or go starving as they don't bring a lot of food afterwards
- Pools were freezing and you couldn't swim in them for this time of the year
- Building work was carried out most of the time possibly getting ready for the summer
- When local Moroccans were there during their half term holiday were rude, loud and push in front for food
- One of the lights decided to fall off the wall 2 days before leaving and you could tell some of the jobs weren't done by professionals
- If you don't speak French or Arabic then it was difficult to communicate with most of the staff

Overall an enjoyable experience as we made the most of it and just got on with it. You must visit the Jemma El Fenna as the clothes are very cheap and food is so tasty at night and sooo cheap.

Taxi from Airport to hotel you would get for 250 Dirhams max and going back to Airport 150 Max. Make sure you Haggle Haggle Haggle

Hope I've made everything clear.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank 4Explorers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    816
    344
    172
    179
See reviews for
1,422
457
29
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Just back from a cheapy 3 day all inclusive stay at the aqua fun club. The place has good points and bad. Starting with the good, the rooms are large clean and spacious and have good bathrooms with a powerful shower. The resort itself is large with plenty of outdoor and indoor seating as well as sunloungers and parasols dotted around the complex. Its quite pleasant to sit out in the sunshine, swim and take in the amazing views of the atlas mountains. There are literally tonnes of water slides and flumes great for family fun. The negatives are that the service on the whole is very poor (although some staff really work hard and go above & beyond). Reception was the worst, very chaotic, like fawlty towers it has to be said. They were struggling to check in our small coach load of guests who were no more than 6 couples. It took well over half hour to get our keys then another 30 mins to be shown the general direction of our rooms. The food is basic, better on some days than others, they are very stingy with things like pizza for some reason and you often have to queue for 10 mins for a 3 inch piece. That said we had a great time met some fun people and definitely had our moneys worth out of the free booze. It was fine for a short break but I would have disappointed it had been our 2 week holiday.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ECM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just back my husband and I went for 4 nights all inclusive .we has a fantastic time hotel so clean , very comfortable food was very tasty great choice as much alcohol as you can drink pincolada lovely staff were helpful .make sure you don't get ripped off from airport 300 dirhams no more . Fantastic place for family lots to do .make sure to bring warm clothes for the evening get chilly . Unless you want to sightsee there is nothing around the hotel .

Room Tip: Block A is best fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PAULINE056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Went in feb on great flight and hotel late deal and were lucky with hot sunny weather for 3 days. Hotel great although running only one restaurant as low season so food mixed and certainly not 'gourmet' but for price we paid I can't complain . Main downside is hotel is 20 mins drive from marrakech and they were only running 2 shuttles a day , both of which booked up quickly so would advise booking a seat on them the day before as taxis cost quite a bit. Water park isn't open at this time of year but other pools are and it was wonderfully quiet to relax by a pool in the sun with spectacular views of the Atlas Mountains . Room was great and clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Will certainly try to return at the s

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 975clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

So we arrived at midnight and check in took around half an hour, they had left some food out so we grabbed a drink and snack before our bags where wheeled to the room, we walked/ ran behind the man for what felt like ages before we got to our room. Now the hotel wasn't particularly busy but our room was the furthest from the main resort and definitely not the pool view that was on our voucher, should have complained in hindsight but it was only a four night break so didn't bother. The room was big but we had broken mirrors and a bidet that flooded. Plus two small doubles which meant a squashed sleep or sleeping apart. Not ideal. The shower also couldn't maintain a constant temperature and the list of TV channels was incorrect. The only positive was the fact that the safe was free! Drinks wise the beer was good (out of a bottle), wine was drinkable and they had a few weak cocktails in the evening. Spirits were house blends so weak. Shuttle bus ran to schedule but you must book in advance. Medinas were not too my taste but the other half enjoyed the experience. The pools look lovely and inviting however were so cold, numbing within minutes. I do not understand how when the sun was so strong and as a result was completely put off the slides. The animation team worked hard to get you involved in the days sports but advertised activities such as learn Arabic, mint tea tasting etc without saying where so we didn't get to experience them. The evenings were the same every night kids songs and music but tipping the barmen meant better cocktails. The food was pretty poor. The only good things on offer were cooked fresh so you had to wait ages for them and put up with people pushing in front of you all the time. Everything else was bland and cold, I am a fussy eater but I have never been left so underwhelmed in an all inclusive let alone one which advertises itself as a five star. The spa overshadowed the holiday unfortunately. I paid around £60 for a body scrub, body wrap and head massage. The first woman was quite rude and seemed completely uninterested with no explanation as to what was going on. After the first two treatments in a cold hammam she put me in the sauna and clearly forgot about me as I was in there longer than half an hour before I got too hot and had to leave. Some other customers had spa wristbands so it was not policed at all. The whole time I was there kids were shouting and bombing in the pool. It couldn't have been less relaxing. The jacuzzi was filthy and dread to think what the pool would have been like. The massage was very rough and the woman left the room several times again not explaining why as well as checking her phone. I should have been in there 2.5 hours but after 3.5 my boyfriend came looking for me, I couldn't leave quick enough. I have never been on a holiday where I have been so excited to come home. I have stayed in better three stars all over the world than this supposed five star and wouldn't return if they paid me. The only good thing is that I didn't book in for a whole week!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just returned from 7 night stay here. Overall my girlfriend and I had an enjoyable stay but only beacuse we were willing to look past it's failures. We are both students, and managed to catch a cery cheap package off of travelzoo, so we were just hoping for the best either way.

First things first, this is not a 5 star resort by any measure. 3 star is more appropriate.

I'm just going to make a pro's and con's list to make it easy for those reading this review :)

Pros

Water park and pools - not quite warm enough yet to stay in the pool for long, but water park very fun for all ages
Quiet hotel in general
Short transfer time
Relaxing location
Very good security - surrounding wall and lots of security guards ensure all our valuables will be safe
Would be great for a kids holiday as entertainment team very active
Free bus shuttle to Marrakech
Views of the mountains are amazing!
ATM in lobby works great

Cons and our personal issues we had
Reception staff are useless. Upon arrival after getting our room key that was it, they didn't tell us where to find our rooms, if a porter was taking the bags. On another occasion we tried to ask where we could find a map of marrakech at the 'Guest relations' desk. I asked if she had any maps "No". I then asked if she knew where we could get one "No, good bye". Very helpful. After getting to our room, we had 2 single beds. So we went back and asked to be moved to a room with a double bed. Her response was it will be done "at my pleasure", which was very informative. Went back to the room after lunch, and they had just pushed the 2 single beds together, which didn't work as there is still a large gap in the middle. After this we just decided not to bother with further hassle of trying to move etc and just squeezed up in a single as we felt we wouldn't get anywhere.

Rooms are nothing like the photos and often not in a great standard. Our hair dryer was broken on arrival/before we got there and set itself on fire. Hair of previous occupant on bathroom wall. Blinds partially broken on windows. Wall socket hanging out with wire exposed. Cleaners not always great ie not replacing toilet roll.

Food has little variation and after 3 days you've had it all. Tasted nice, but gets dull. Both of us also had Diarrhea at different stages in the holiday accompanied with bad stomach pain. We only ate in the hotel so there is no room for doubt the source of illness. However we may have just got unlucky.

Not everything being stocked due to time of year is understandable, but at the same time, I am paying for a full service as shown on the website. Should be stated somewhere if services are reduced.

Aircon broken

Summary

Overall we did have a fun adventure to Morocco, but in part that was due to us just making the most of it and getting on with it. You will have a nice stay, and especially families with young kids I would imagine. If you visit marrakech haggle hard as they will charge you triple their normal price. Everyone will try and ask for tips, just tip your tour guide and no one else unless you think they deserve it.

Room Tip: Hound your rep (we didn't have one) to help you out as we felt if you didnt speak arabic then yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just returned from week here at Aqua Fun Club over the February half term break, myself, my husband and teenager daughter.

We thought the room was lovely and well cleaned. We needed heating on for the first few days and it worked fine. Lovely hot shower too. TV only had one English speaking channel but I don't come on holiday to watch TV and we thought some of the Arabic stuff was interesting anyway.

We thought the food was excellent - two out of the four restaurants were open with it being winter season and out of those two, the Pizza Place and the Mediterranean, we preferred the Mediterrean as the food was more interesting there, with tagines, etc. We always found something to appeal to our tastes and the staff in the restaurants were very attentive.

We found every member of staff throughout the hotel to be very polite and helpful and most seemed to speak English. The animation team were fab and even organised a cake for my daughter's birthday. They offered poolside entertainment every day, e.g. darts, aerobics, there were cookery classes, evening entertainment in the piano bar, kids club up to age 12, to name just a few things.

We visited the aqua park for two days and because it was winter, they opened different slides at different times of the day, on a rota, so you still got to try all the rides, but just at different times, which is fair enough with there being so few customers on site. The only ride we found disappointing was the lazy river, too deep, very cold, no current and nowhere to get out when you'd had enough, (apart from back at the beginning again). Apart from that, we thought the aqua park was great and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves there.

There is a free minibus to the medina and back several times a day. The only issue we had with that is that you could only stay in the medina for three hours - you couldn't catch the first bus there and take the last bus back, you had to go within the three hour time slot. Apart from that, we thought the service was great - has to be booked at least the day before.

There were so many pools at this hotel, including an indoor pool (which is good because the weather wasn't so good for the first few days of the holiday). There's also mini golf, table tennis, etc, on site and a gift shop. We did check out the spa but we thought it was a bit expensive and had better things to spend our money on, like down the medina!

We were pleased with the wi-fi, compared to other hotels and countries we've stayed in. Of course, it isn't as fast as broadband at home, but there were many people using it all at once, including iPads by the pool. There are a few Wi-fi routers on site, so if one doesn't have much of a signal, we just used to choose another one. We certainly had no complaints with it and even had a signal in our room.

So all in all, we had a brilliant holiday, met some lovely people and do we want to come again? We certainly do! This is our third holiday in Marrakech and out of the three places we've stayed, this is our favourite, even if it is a bit off the beaten track. This wasn't a problem for us because of the courtesy bus anyway. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We were in block C, 1st floor, facing the pool. Lovely view of complex and quiet. Rooms at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackcatlois67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
9.9 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
12.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
8.4 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#99 of 499 in Marrakech
4,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#194 of 499 in Marrakech
734 reviews
12.1 mi away
LABRANDA Les Idrissides Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Aqua Mirage Club
Aqua Mirage Club
#150 of 499 in Marrakech
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club marrakech

Property: LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club marrakech
Address: Route de l'Ourika | Km 18, Marrakech 40005, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#99 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#136 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club overlooks the Atlas Mountains and is built on 5 hectares of land surrounded by shady olive trees, just 15 minutes from the city center and features magnificent views over the Atlas mountains. It features 16 pool and 2 heated indoor pools and the largest water park in Marrakech.Each air-conditioned room has a modern design and feature a private balcony. The rooms are equipped with a seating area with satellite TV. A buffet breakfast is provided each morning and all guests receive a mint tea upon arrival. The restaurant serves traditional Moroccan and International cuisine. Guests can also enjoy a drink at the bar and have a night out at the private night club. The hotel also offers a tennis court, a beauty salon and a well being center. Also available is a kid's club and free WiFi access in the 24-hour reception. Free private parking is provided. This resort is located 18 km from the Marrakesh Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing